We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in all respects”
Review of Blue Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Bell Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Weaverthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Felton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect place in all respects”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A family run quality place for anyone to stay.We were a shooting party made welcome from arrival to departure.Room was excellent,decor in bar full of character,food and service faultless.One of the best places anywhere.Deserve recognition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    35
    14
    8
    17
See reviews for
46
86
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I booked Sunday lunch here on the recommendation of a friend, also seeing otger reviews. However I found our visit disappointing, the food generally was average, and the tomato soup I had lacked any depth of flavour and was too acidic for my palate. The service although pleasant enough was so brisk too much so for what should be a relaxed occasion. I found the landlord's manner somewhat brusque and lacked the warmth which might have made me want to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Complete & sophisticated evening for New Year with friends. Staff are amongst the best trained & helpful in the region. Food (as ever) was A1!!! Landlord is a pussycat & a great "chap" & all round knowledgable host!!! If you don't go you're missing out!!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndyT290961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the bar staff were not over welcoming... Which can be forgiven, we we served drinks with complementary nibbles at the bar! We ordered with a lovely waiter who couldn't have been more accommodating to me and my partner! I had the pate followed by belly pork! Which were both to die for! The bread to start was the best bread I have tasted! A sorbet in between courses! What a great touch! The guy who said bye to us (known as the owner) kindly opened the door for us and said a very kind bye with a warm and welcoming back again!

I suggest to everyone to take a chance on this place! I read the reviews which had put me off, but as it was our anniversary we wanted somewhere special! Couldn't have picked better if we tried!

We will be back soon!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A gourmet treat for a birthday. We were upgraded to a champagne room which was swish and tasteful in dark reds and creams, spotless bathroom and we had extras like an ipod dock and dvd player. The extras weren't advertised anywhere so we weren't prepared /couldn't use them but a great plus.Too many cushions everywhere for my husband, but lovely!
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and that was delicious and the young staff anxious to please and well-trained. Inventive dishes on all courses and my husband is still talking about his duck with two sauces. Extensive wine list with a range of prices.
The only blight on the day for us was overhearing the owner talking to friends about the pinot grigio which he said was like tap water though he didn't mind selling it to anyone @ £X per bottle. His friends laughed but we thought the remark a bit crass and disrespectful to punters - we could have been sitting there in the shadows with a bottle of it !
We would recommend the inn to anyone looking for something a bit special overnight or for a weekend - but think twice about the pinot grigio apparently....

Room Tip: we were upgraded so can't talk about standard rooms - the champagne rooms are lovely if you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent a weekend here with family, staying in the Champagne rooms. They are excellent quality, clean, warm and unique. If you get the downstairs room on the right you also get use of a lounge. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food and service were excellent, cannot fault them at all. Much more gourmet than your average pub but still generous portions and fantastic quality. Breakfast is also excellent, and you can have more than one item off the menu!

The manager is as grumpy as everyone says, so if you're reading this you know that before you book. Our strategy was to be as nice to him as possible and refute every complaint with charm. In the end it didn't really impact our stay, we just ignored him!

Room Tip: choose a champagne room, the downstairs two are the largest and best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch and we were seated in the bar area. Lovely table. We have previously eaten in the dining room but the bar area has much more atmosphere and the fire was roaring.

We really enjoyed our meal, we had the 2 course lunch. The food was lovely and the staff really friendly. The place was packed out, every table reserved.

We will visit again, lovely drive through the country to get there.

Room Tip: Best to book and eat in the bar it has a lovely atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverthorpe
11.1 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
11.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
537 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.0 mi away
The Star Inn
The Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
132 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ganton Greyhound Inn
Ganton Greyhound Inn
#1 of 1 in Ganton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Inn

Property: Blue Bell Inn
Address: Main Street, Weaverthorpe YO17 8EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Weaverthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Weaverthorpe
Blue Bell Inn Weaverthorpe, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing