We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Friends live locally and recommended we visit. Great food Nice menu. Would have liked more fish Though. I had calves liver, very tasty, friends had the steak. Amazing, fantastically cooked and great value. Very attentive and friendly service. Highly recommend a visit in a cosy, friendly village. Hidden gem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    16
    11
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scarboro
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice food,shame about the owner !”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Food is always good,though not exceptional,although the owner is exceptionally rude. Its a real shame,i really cant understand how you could be in the trade with an attitude like his. I wont be giving him any more of my money

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank debmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very rude landlord”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

the food is lovely but the night was spoilt by the arrogant and very rude landlord .......he doesnt deserve any customers we were made to feel very uncomfortable an experience i will not be repeating

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank suemb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food outstanding service!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish the food was amazing!!! Couldn't decide between the fish shots and duck salad so the owner (jez) said leave it with me and brought me out the fish shots with the duck salad as an extra shot...beautiful and a really nice touch!
Lamb on the special board as main beautiful!
Chocolate fondant for desert amazing!!! Melts in your mouth!
I can't say enough about the bluebell I always get really looked after and the food is very hard to beat!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kymbomummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“best Inn for miles, many miles”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

once again the Blue Bell ticked all the boxes. out in the country, quite village, brilliant pub. Huge log fire, welcoming host, beer was blob on, Timothy Taylors at its best.. sunday lunch, thai fish cakes, roast beef n puds, followed by moreish sweets. sat for over 2 hours, no probs,no rush , do not miss out on the Bell.....

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesprinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Sledmere, Driffield
West Heslerton, Malton
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Wold Newton, Driffield
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing