We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, lovely people, lovely pizza!”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Weaverthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, lovely people, lovely pizza!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights, rooms were lovely and clean. Staff were very friendly, especially Ali the Landlady, couldn't do enough for us. Ate there both nights, def. recommend any of the stone baked pizzas - plenty of toppings and lots of choice. Would def stay and eat here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    30
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
58
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the first time last weekend. We both had a lovely weekend. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The owners were so helpful, giving us information about the local area. We had food there both nights, and we can honestly say it is the best pizzas we've had! We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelbox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've stayed and eaten at The Star Inn twice now and both times we've had a great experience! Food is excellent and has a great range, I really couldn't decide what I wanted!! Also the stone baked pizzas are delicious and massive!! Accommodation is tasteful and cosy and even better they are dog friendly!!
We would and have recommended to our friends and family!
Thank you Will and Analisa we'll definitely be seeing you soon

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMDGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Recently spent a great weekend at The Star and could not have been made more welcome. The landlord and landlady, Will and Ali, were really friendly and helpful and kept us well entertained at the bar! Best sirloin steak I’ve ever had and the stone baked pizzas were great too. Room was lovely... clean, nicely decorated and a really comfy bed. Lovely location and enjoyed exploring the surrounding area. Cannot understand the negative review which did not match our experience, we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie202013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Let me set the scene- you are in a beautiful North Yorkshire village, you have taken in some good Yorkshire air and have quite an appetite...where to go you think?

Think no more people- its the Star Inn- your problem solved. This gorgeous village Inn offers you a friendly warm welcome from the lovely Ali and Wayne, delicious food in cosy CLEAN surrounding and some good beers to match! Many places can offer good food and beer but this place is really excpetional and the owners really do make you feel like a valued customer, and this was outr first visit. We felt like locals and totally looked after!

You simply cannot fault it. The highlight of our trip, just wish we lived closer to make this our local but Aberdeen is just slightly too far.

Next time we are down we will try out the hotel side too :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family in the area and were thrilled with our entire stay. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and a very comfy bed, nice comfy pillows too.
We ate both nights and the food was great. There was a Mexican theme to the menu on our first night and we indulged in rather delicious fajitas and some mojitos to wash them down.
We had homemade fish and chips on our second night which were also yummy!
The owners Will and Ali were wonderful hosts and their 2 dogs were just gorgeous
I look forward to returning and will highly recommend to others

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MTomoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A great pub with a lovely atmosphere. We spent two nights at the Star Inn and would definitely return. The pub is in a great location with beautiful views. The room was great; very clean with lovely decor. Both the owners and the regulars at The Star were very friendly and welcoming and the food is AMAZING! There's a really great menu to cater for lots of different tastes and I would recommend one of the stone baked pizzas. We are looking to return in the winter as it really is a cosy village pub in a great setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverthorpe
11.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
537 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
174 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
14.4 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#1 of 14 in Malton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: Main Street, Weaverthorpe YO17 8EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Weaverthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run country Pub/Restaurant/B&B with traditional values and service. We have recently (End of 2016) completed a major renovation of the entire business and we are delighted to now be offering a very high level of rooms across our B&B..... Our restaurant is very busy and we have a well stocked bar offering many choices of lagers and local beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Inn - Weaverthorpe Hotel Weaverthorpe
The Star Inn Weaverthorpe, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing