We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Evening!”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Weaverthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
york
1 review
“A lovely Evening!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

great food, excellent service with very friendly and welcoming staffin a beautiful village. we popped in after visiting an old family cottage in the village with the intention of just having a quick drink, after looking at the menu we couldnt not order something! the pizza was fantastic with a very generous portion! also a good beer selection! would very much like to return and recommend highly!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    30
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spofforth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great home cooked food, very large portions so beware, lovely evening meal & perfect cooked breakfast.

Very warm welcome and excellent service

Bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfy, bathroom perhaps a little aged but clean, however the power shower was fantastic and plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: We were in room number 1 which had been refurbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Arrived here after a meal at the pub next door and joined in with the locals to the entertainment of the night, a live singer. Brilliant. He sang, played the electric guitar and took requests which got us all up dancing. What a brilliant night. The landlord and landlady were loving the fact that us townies were having fun. Fantastic hosts and well worth a visit to a welcoming friendly community. Will be back to shock them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

had a lunch here with three lady friends, we all thoroughly enjoyed it , no complaints at all,,,,,,,,will and ali are working extremely hard to make a success of it, they are prepared to do anything and will serve late into the evening with no problem at all,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkieScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Simply great hospitality, all meals even the children's were excellently prepared, presented and promptly delivered.

Children's requests accommodated and even provided with entertainment. Having eaten out every day at least once this holiday this was clearly the best and would go back!

Great pub and great food.

Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

checked other reviews before reserving a table for a special birthday Sunday lunch for a friend. Meal was poor, veggie option a disgrace, and particular request for a small surprise cake entirely forgotten, and it's not as if they were busy, we were almost the only ones there. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ali m, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello
firstly i would like to say that we are hugely apologetic for forgetting your cake this was an oversight on our behalf and we are very sorry.
With regards to the complaint about the food. we do only have one vegetarian option on the sunday lunch menu ( ratatouille and chunky granary bread) but i believe that you were also offered our normal menu which runs along side this and this had another 4 vegetarian choices including goats cheese and broccoli fritatta and garlic mushrooms with a rocket salad plus our thin base Italian pizza menu which you can choose a whole variety of vegetarian topping. However you requested a vegan option, of which we are a little more limited and it is true that the ratatouille or garlic mushrooms would have been the only real options for a vegan diet.
I personally came over to the table 3 times and asked if everything we ok for you and nothing was mentioned but we are sorry if you found the experience disappointing.
I would just like to add that the two gentlemen that had the traditional Sunday lunch finished everything and seemed happy when the plates were taken away.
However thank you for your comments and we will look at extending our vegan menu in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely couple who make every visitor feel like a friend. A great little pub for the Wolds Valley.

Pizzas are second to none with a well balanced menu for those who don't fancy pizza. Strong focus on local provenance including puddings made in the village!

A great value spot for midweek teas or a more boozy weekend.

A much needed and gratefully received addition to eating options in and around the valley - we love the Star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison3br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverthorpe
0.0 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#2 of 2 in Weaverthorpe
212 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
176 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: Main Street, Weaverthorpe YO17 8EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Weaverthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Weaverthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run country Pub/Restaurant/B&B with traditional values and service. We have recently (End of 2016) completed a major renovation of the entire business and we are delighted to now be offering a very high level of rooms across our B&B..... Our restaurant is very busy and we have a well stocked bar offering many choices of lagers and local beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Inn - Weaverthorpe Hotel Weaverthorpe
The Star Inn Weaverthorpe, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing