We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Punch Bowl Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yorebridge House(Bainbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
204
83
23
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
83
23
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak nightkippersbar stoolsgreat roommain buildinglovely foodbreakfast was excellentevening meallarge bathroomyorkshire dalesthe pubmain courseshort stayresidents loungestunning viewsstayed for one nightlamb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 320 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2009

A gem with real character - excellent food, great welcome and stylish rooms. Nice touches like mouton & brown toiletries, quality furniture and a relaxed atmosphere - highly recomended, as is sister hotel the CB Inn, where we used to stay just up the road.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights, along with another couple who were friends of ours. We were very impressed with the decor. Food was generally good depending on what you chose. Breakfast was lovely. Our only problem was when we arrived, a very pleasant young lady attended to us at the bar and everything was fine until the phone rang . She was on her own and it was obviously another booking, but we were kept waiting for nearly ten minutes. I understand them not wanting to lose a booking , but there should be other staff on hand to take over should the need arise. Finally I thought the outside could do with a lick of paint, the interior was fab, but I always think first impressions are important and some of the window frames were in a bad state of repair. Maybe thats the next job on the list. All in all a lovely place and would definately go again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxerNorthTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We have just stayed on a 2 night Christmas special dinner b&b at £120 for a last minute booking for my birthday. The location and views are spectacular and we were in room 7 on the 2nd floor which had a bath (as we requested) with a shower attachment but no shower curtain but good for hair washing and the bathroom was a really good size and all new fittings a nice flooring which was better than a cold tiled floor.The room was only just big enough for the 4ft 6 double bed and a bedside table on either side and the "wardrobe" was a metal shelf with 5 hooks, 4 wooden coat hangers and a metal shoe/luggage shelf.There was a fstv over the dressing table and the hospitality tray was on the window ledge and jug of fresh milk was available from a fridge in the next door residents sitting/tv room. Everything we needed for our short stay. The food was very good £20 allowance to the evening meal and we had a starter and main course for about £21 and the breakfast was excellent. It was a very cold period it had snowed on the fell opposite and the heating was only just warm enough. Needed to come on earlier in the morning for me it came on at 7am so the most popular tables were the ones next to radiators! We would stay there again as it is rare to find such an old place refurbished so sympathetically and yet still be functional.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Just had the most fab weekend with friends at the Punch Bowl. A delightful country inn, extremely welcoming and friendly. Lovely to have all the character of a country pub but also the luxury of a more upmarket hotel. The bedrooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and spacious with very high quality towels and toiletries.The food in the restaurant both nights was of the highest standard, very tasty indeed. Breakfast was excellent. As previously mentioned, noise can be heard from the bar, but it is, after all, an Inn, so you would expect and accept that, It really didn't bother us at all. All in all a great weekend and value for money. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We stayed at the Punch Bowl for three nights with the kids. Rooms are fine, clean, comfortable and with great views. Breakfasts are very good, serve yourself fruit, juice, flakes etc. Cooked breakfast is made to order so fresh and hot. We ate there one night and it was well above average for a pub/inn. The only problem was the noise from the bar. Don't book room 1 if you want to get any sleep before about 12.30. Wednesday is darts club night and they are NOISY. Some buiding work still being carried out so outside not as tidy as it will be when finished.
Fabulous place to stay if you like walking, dozens of walks within minutes of the hotel. Short drive to Reeth for more pubs, few basic shops, craft workshops.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegetarianoption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews