We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Class food”
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High Class food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had an excellent meal here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were attentive and friendly and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. We enjoyed a lovely chat with the chef who, although being self taught, was able to produce some unusual dishes of superb food worthy of any good restaurant. Our twice baked goat's cheese souffle with a pear and walnut salad was to die for. The loin of lamb stuffed with chicken mousse was delicious.
There was a friendly warm atmosphere in this old inn and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    77
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
193
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch on they way from Cambridge to Glasgow - what a gem. The beer was great ( even given some tasters ) Chose homemade Scotch Egg and beef salad - absolutely lovely. Tempted with desert and this lived up to expectations. Even had small portion of Swaledale Blue cheese - a must. Great fire and really friendly service - worth the detour and route to M6 was stunning!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtga6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunsfold
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We ate at this Inn and the food was really good. Recommend the mese plate - a bit of everything, for lunch. The staff were very welcoming, and the views superb. Would like to stay sometime but were staying at a cottage this time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

These guys have service down to an art. The staff were genuine, polite, attentive and most of all seemed happy to be there and to be of help. The food is excellent, and the chef looks like he really enjoys his walks through the restaurant to check that everyone is not only satisfied with their food, but also happy. Generous cooked breakfasts start the day off with enough energy to fuel some of the fabulous walks in the area. The evening meals menu has a lovely selection of delicious meals using local produce and a good wine list. The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside, but is also on this year's Tour de France route, so we might go back for the hog roast they have planned on that day. The rooms, are comfortable and clean, the food is great, the location is idyllic, but the real gem of this place is the staff and their service.

Room Tip: Any room with a view over the dale is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently stayed on a 2 night Groupon offer. The standard rooms had sold out - so book quickly. We paid an extra £20 per night for room 11 in the annexe which was wonderful. Spacious, four poster, lovely décor and magnificent views.Would not have been such good value at full price.
Breakfast was excellent, staff could have not been more helpful and location is superb. Heard slightly mixed comments about evening meals, which were a touch expensive and we found an excellent small hote/coffee shop/restaurant l just down the road in Thwaite where the food was divine.

Room Tip: Room 11 and other from facing rooms have magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from a truly lovely stay at the Punch Bowl Inn.  The Inn is located in between Reeth and Hawes and is surrounded by some of the most magnificent scenery in the dales. On arrival  we received a warm welcome and were quickly shown to our room (No 11), which is located in the annex. The room itself commands breathtaking views across the dale, is extremely quiet, spotlessly clean, heaps of piping hot water, comfy bed, fluffy white towels and even a mini fridge with 'real' milk.

Evening meal was well presented and extremely tasty as was breakfast, with Chef periodically popping our to share some merry banter and ensure all was well with the diners.

How could our stay have been improved on?.......  We  should have booked 2 nights instead of 1!

Room Tip: Room 11, is an upstairs annex room about 40paces from the Inn. It is very quiet with outstanding vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna12England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this on a Groupon voucher for my birthday. Not always sure but this was an absolute corker of a place.
Looking at the outside it doesnt look much but then it is in keeping with the brickwork of the locality and it was built in 1638!. You enter through a front door that has seen better days but then the tranformation takes place. Thebar area is simple but effective with old rustic dining tables. The bar has been built by the "mouseman".The young lady who looked after us was lovely and on taking us to our room we were delighted to find that the room was simple, but tastefully furnished - no pictures on the wall - a nice touch! and a bathroom that was warm exceedingly clean and a marvellous power shower. Our complimentary bottle of wine was awaiting
As it was steak night we booked dinner and were not disappointed as the steak and chips were delightful served by pleasant staff. A pleasant touch was a half price drink if you had the steak.
Breakfast in the morning was a good old fashioned cooked breakfast. Nice to enjoy it overlooking the lovely Swadale Valley.
When we got back we had a pleasnt e-mail awaiting hoping we had a pleasant stay
Did we ever? This is a real gem of a place and just lovely people
My only complaint? We only stayed one night instead of two?

Room Tip: Get the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Row
8.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
389 reviews
16.4 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
23.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#44 of 192 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn
Address: Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century inn, located in Low Row, Swaledale. Ideal base for walking and touring the northern dales. The coast to coast walk is on our doorstep. Re-opened in 2006, we offer 11 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Stripped pine furnish the bar and restaurant. Our mirror menu changes daily reflecting the seasonal local produce from dales suppliers. A relaxed and informal environment in which to enjoy good food served along with local beers such as Black Sheep and Theakstons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Richmond
The Punch Bowl Inn UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing