We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely welcoming clean inn, with great staff”
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived on a Very cold saturday night in December 2012, we where welcomed by a fantastic guy that seemed to multi task around all areas of the inn. agareat beer, lovely wine, the food was out of this world, we managed a deal on the room with evening meal, still expensive but worth every penny. Rooms where clean tidy, very big, we only had a bath but knew this when booking. Breakfast was lovely too, Would deffenatly return & would recomend.

Room Tip: we had great views room 5, was at the front and side of the building, very quite. but no shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tAgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 316 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have visited the Punch Bowl now on about 6 (maybe more) occasions and the experience has always been wonderful. The rooms are lovely, beautifully decorated, always immaculately clean. The staff are impeccable, friendly and can't do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble! On every visit, meals have been delicious. We didn't think they could get any better until we visited just before Christmas as a family to celebrate my twin daughters' 20th birthday. We arrived in beautiful Swaledale to freshly falling snow, enjoyed a lovely cup of tea by the wood burner in the bar, rooms were lovely as always, and to top it all our celebration meal, which was part of the special Christmas deal, was magical! The Christmas deal had a sumptuous menu with lots of choice, and it was great value for money. Our overnight stay, although only a short one, left us all feeling wonderfully relaxed and very well cared for!
Can't wait to visit again very soon!
Mick and Debbie Pullen

Room Tip: All of the rooms are really nice, but if you like a bit of privacy the annexe is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rygyloppo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Punch Bowl for a post New Year trip to Swaledale. Second time in 12 months. The room was very nice, spacious and excellent view (Room 4). Very powerful shower which I love - certainly wakes you up!

Food was excellent all three nights. 4 excellent local real ales on tap (Theakstons, Black Sheep & Rudgate) but no Black Sheep Riggwelter - disaster! But I was assured it would return in the Spring!

There's a nice atmosphere about the pub - big roaring wood burning stove at one end of the bar and comfy chairs. Plenty of locals seem to frequent the place.

The walking in Swaledale nearby was lovely, despite the soggy conditions underfoot - we stuck to the old mine tracks and they were fine.

Staff are excellent and very friendly - nothing is too much trouble.

All in all - 10 out of 10! Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front of the pub for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Punch Bowl in November, just before the severe weather set in to Swaledale. We really enjoyed the accommodation and the food.
The room looked over the river valley, and was well decorated, clean and quiet, with nice 'vintage style' furniture. The bathroom was good, but I would note to the owners that the shower design might make it hard to clean in the future (door on roller mechanism; getting 'pink mildew-y').
There is a guest lounge (which we didn't use).
The food was good. Excellent menu variety, though I think some of the meats were a bit over cooked and the sauces rich, but we had lovely venison and beef. The menu reflects new English tastes for local and re-vamped traditional menus. Local cheeses were excellent.
The breakfast menu was great- and we had lots of time to sit and read the papers over coffee.
The bar is designed with local Yorkshire 'mouseman' oak, and has a great real fire. My only criticism is that the comfy seating area could have more chairs, as everyone wanted to sit close to the hearth!
The staff provided us with a walking route along the river- which we did and had a really good, frosty day out. This is an excellent base for Reeth, Richmond and the area. As we are from Yorkshire we were not interested in York or Whitby this time - but I think that this location is a really good mid-point for anyone wanting to get around the region.
The architecture of the building is typical Yorkshire stone, 'long barn' style - and the hills, sheep and river give you a real sense of place. Any over seas visitor will get a genuine taste of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilliandyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent location, great views across the valley.
Warm welcome on arrival and lovely warm fire burning.
The pub was very quiet with only 6 guests booked in that evening.
The menu had a really varied choice, the food was good and portions adequate.
We chose to eat in the bar as the dining rm very cold, not too bad the first morning for breakfast but the second morning was cold in the dining room during breakfast.
Immaculate bedroom, very clean, bathroom was cold at times.
For the price I would expect some extras in the room such as bathrobes, chocolates, maybe a small bottle of wine etc. we stayed in rm 10 and it does not have a bath, which we knew when booked but on reflection it would have been preferable after a days walk.

Would definitely return when a special offer is available as full price is overpriced.

service good but does depend who is on duty, Ashley was brilliant and his attention to detail was exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have used the Punchbowl almost every night, for either a pint or two of Blacksheep, or for meals, during a week long stay in a nearby cottage.
Excellent welcome from staff,great service with good food and beer.
The only problem is that we were only on holiday for a week.
Although a quiet time of year the atmosphere and the warmth from the log burner kept calling us back.
The menu was varied and updated by its display on the large mirrors above the log burner, a great idea and certainly not off putting to other diners.
We are already planning a return trip to this area next year and the Punchbowl Inn will certainly be in those plans.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bazcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I remember visiting the Punchbowl (PB) ten years ago, sitting in the sun, enjoying the perfect view and a lunchtime drink. The place was deserted. The only other sign of life was the then landlord lamenting to a brewery rep that you just couldn't get people out to Swaledale.

These days, under different ownership, the Punchbowl and it's sister CB Inn across the moor in Arkengarthdale, are thriving busy places all year round. There's a reason for this - they set the standard for quality modern accommodation in the area.

This year we stayed for one night and meal in late October. Everything was fine, but I can't help thinking the PB isn't quite run with the same TLC as the CB and recently, I think they have been trying to squeeze a bit too much profit out of dinner. The food is always good - but portion size and quality/attention to detail seem to have slipped and don't always justify the price.

Nevertheless, it still pitches at a level clearly above the other pubs and inns in Swaledale and while the pubs in Reeth continue to compete for the middle ground, the PB will always appeal to those willing to spend a bit more.

I've been visiting Swaledale for almost thirty years and it never disappoints. There's no better location in England for a country inn. This is reason alone to visit the Punchbowl, but if they want five stars, they need to charge a little less and try a little harder.

Room Tip: It's never noisy in the PB, but rooms on the second floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Row
3.2 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#54 of 192 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
387 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#3 of 9 in Aysgarth
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Address: Yorkshire Dales National Park, Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range: $115 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century inn, located in Low Row, Swaledale. Ideal base for walking and touring the northern dales. The coast to coast walk is on our doorstep. Re-opened in 2006, we offer 11 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Stripped pine furnish the bar and restaurant. Our mirror menu changes daily reflecting the seasonal local produce from dales suppliers. A relaxed and informal environment in which to enjoy good food served along with local beers such as Black Sheep and Theakstons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Richmond
The Punch Bowl Inn UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing