We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent but a sterile environment”
Review of The Punch Bowl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Punch Bowl Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Food excellent but a sterile environment”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, the food is awesome, the rooms very well presented and the location lovely. On the other, the environment is sterile, which I should justify.

Despite it calling itself an inn, the whole of the ground floor is given over to the eating experience. Whilst there are 2 rooms for restaurant diners, all the tables in the bar were also laid for dinner. If you simply wanted a drink (perhaps before or after your meal), you had to claim one of the few bar stools. (Of course, if the weather was warm enough, you could sit outside and enjoy the stunning view over Swaledale in this charming tiny village). All the staff were efficient and the service perfectly adequate, but they operated in a very business-like fashion - as though they were working in a large chain hotel.

On the positive side, the room was very well presented with coffee/tea facilities, Molton & Brown toiletries, power shower, though curiously one very small inadequate chair to sit in - or not! The cooked breakfast was very good, though the cold selection a little lacking.

In conclusion, this is a superb restaurant but an expensive and rather sterile place to stay - which is a shame as with a few small changes, it could be magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask to sleep away from the bar/restaurant below. This is an old building and noise can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    81
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
201
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

stayed for my May birthday.really good food. great desolate locaion. great room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

i cant praise this pub/hotel highly enough. Everything was just as a country pub ought to be: glorious setting, attractive, unfussy exterior, and very welcoming and friendly greeting from the staff on our arrival.
The pub is just lovely inside. Its light, airy, uncluttered, very tastefully decorated -im afraid i have an aversion to horse brasses and toby jugs as decor, so this place was the complete antithesis- and to add to this it was spotlessly immaculate throughout. Im not sure how many cleaners this establishment employs (we saw 2 at breakfast) but whoever they are, i wish they would come and clean my home!! There truly was not a spec of dirt anywhere (obviously apart from any stray mud that came in on walkers boots!)
The bedroom we had (bedroom 1) was just beautiful- again it was immaculate and with molton brown toiletries. Ive read an earlier review where someone complained about the mauve decor....well, i guess taste is subjective, thats all i can say on that...personally i found it one of the most restful, tasteful, truly lovely rooms ive ever stayed in, and i include some 5 star establishments in that.
The food was superb, and the service was exceptional. Just cant wait to return!

Room Tip: i would imagine most rooms are good, but bedroom 1 has a 4 poster and is just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting, overlooking the Swaledale valley. Food is outstanding. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great base for walking. Look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Although w estayed on the second floor whcih was very quiet, I would imagine thta the rooms above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

arrived to be greated by and nice gentleman, shown to our food, very clean and tidy.

we had a few drinks in the bar and then ate, food amazing sat in front of the log stove fire.

walked to the sister pub over the hill the next day and back enjoyed lunch there and then back for some relaxing drinks in the spring sunshire, before eating again

food was amzing staff very friendly and will be back

Room Tip: up grade to the superior rooms just a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay with breakfast and dinner included. Our room was number 11 we were delighted, it has its own front door and a 4 poster very comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and homemade butter cookies!! We were made very welcome by Matt who was extremely helpful, he carried an ironing board over to our room and provided lots of local information about the area. Compliments to the chef the standard is excellent. The bar area is warm and cosy with a log burner and comfortable arm chairs to relax in after your meal. The Punch bowl is situated in Low Row close to Keld and Reeth and perfect for exploring the beautiful countryside of the Swaledale and Arkengarthdale valleys

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie101267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days also on the "Muddy Boots" offer. Arrived mid afternoon and had a drink in the bar with the fire warming us.

The room was of a good standard with high quality fittings and plenty of space. The bed and quilt were really comfortable and hence slept well. Not something i usually find in many places.

Food was excellent, especially the cooked breakfast with home made break. Oh and forgot to mention the home cooked biscuits that they put on the tea tray in the bedroom, along with fresh milk being available in the fridge in the lounge along the corridor.

We downloaded the walks from the links on the website and did the Muker to Keld walk. 5 1/2 miles which was just right and the pub waiting at the end - would eat there next time as the food looked excellent and they welcomed muddy boots !!

Will definitely be returning at some point

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local_resident190818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Row
8.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
406 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#47 of 192 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
376 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bridge Inn
The Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Grinton
166 reviews
5.7 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Punch Bowl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Punch Bowl Inn

Property: The Punch Bowl Inn
Address: Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Punch Bowl Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century inn, located in Low Row, Swaledale. Ideal base for walking and touring the northern dales. The coast to coast walk is on our doorstep. Re-opened in 2006, we offer 11 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Stripped pine furnish the bar and restaurant. Our mirror menu changes daily reflecting the seasonal local produce from dales suppliers. A relaxed and informal environment in which to enjoy good food served along with local beers such as Black Sheep and Theakstons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your The Punch Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Punch Bowl Hotel Richmond
The Punch Bowl Inn UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing