We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Low Row
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,230)
Filter reviews
1,230 results
Traveler rating
632
254
113
94
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
632
254
113
94
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highest pub the pub pennine way live music the barn great atmosphere mash yorkshire pudding open fire great night bucket list warm welcome worth a visit long walk sunday lunch new owners full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,230 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great weekend for birthday celebrations, 2 nights of being made welcome. We had the 8 bed bunk room,with shower room just to the side. clean, warm, with tea/coffee facilities, which were topped up. Room was cozy, but you're not in it for more than changing and sleeping. Staff couldn't have done any more than they did for us. Good choice of food on an evening, served with a smile every time, bar staff are brilliant. I forgot to have my picture taken behind the bar though, was too busy enjoying the atmosphere. Breakfast I think cooked to perfection and served By Darren, set us up for the rest of the day. I am sure there's more I could thank you all for. Memorable time, thank you so much.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came up here from Cumbria on Sunday after seeing it on Vera the week before. We stayed for lunch, in our case Haddock and Chips, really beautiful food, the Sunday Roasts looked amazing too. ( We'll be back to try that very soon). It was busy but we got a table and comfy sofa, so snug and warming on a cold day in January. The Landlord even very kindly took our picture behind the bar. Brilliant spot with a terrific atmosphere. Can't wait to return soon.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a lovely pub with coal fire nice warm atmosphere I recommend there food was really nice.tan hill own brewed lager was nice to a bit pricey but come with a cool pint glass looked more like a stein than a pint glass and tasted good too.we stayed in our campervan over night with 5 pound per person witch goes to charity . Entertainment was good too .overall a mint nite away and would deffo recommend this pub it's a hidden gem see you soon tan hill keep up the good work and thank your chef and hard working staff .ps haven't tried the rooms out yet but they look really nice but will do soon

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank andrewbZ7560MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited in our campervan for an overnight stay at this remote country pub set in the stunning countrysude of the high Pennines, friendly staff, good food, (loved our breakfast) very dog friendly and a great atmosphere. We will be visiting again soon for one of their live music nights. Impressed with how they are catering for camper vans with a new toilet and shower facility.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ukdivision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed a weekend birthday celebration, stayed in the dorm, clean, warm, comfortable and fun. Excellent food, friendly and helpful staff. With great evening entertainment thrown in. Walks from the doorstep......a fantastic weekend !

Room tip: Can recommend the dorm if travelling with a group
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janeb571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews