We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to remember forever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Low Row
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tan Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place to remember forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just back yesterday for a one night stay. We did try and get another night but it was all booked up, no wonder of course.
The staff are lovely and couldn't have been more helpful and great to talk to.
We had an evening meal and a full English breakfast the next morning. The food was great and you certainly get plenty.
Just want to say, can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    164
    79
    58
    97
See reviews for
121
242
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Well, there was I doing the Coast-to-Coast Walk with a friend, and, after another hard-day's slog to Keld, we were transferred to The Tan Hill Inn by car. We entered The Tan Hill Inn as 2 weary walkers, but were soon transformed into 2 delighted residents. The welcome was friendly and polite, and then the jokes started, and we were amazingly well looked-after by Mike, Jamie and Hamish. The pub is, at first sight, quite quirky. However, on entering, you can't help but be drawn in to the convivial atmosphere. It's tailor-made for Walkers, Campers and Cyclists, which indeed made up the clientele for our night there. The food was superb, and the beer even more so. Put it like this, I had a tear in my eye when we had to resume the Coast-to-Coast Walk the next day - I just didn't want to leave! Thanks guys, and rest assured - I'll be back.

Room Tip: Al rooms have a good view of the Dales, but if you snore, please stay away from the Bunk Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwilson150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here last weekend with a couple of mates partway through a section of the Pennines way and what an experience! First impressions were ok, beer was good and food was tasty even though they did make a couple of basic errors with our order but to be fair, corrected them as best they could. A decent singer entertained us for an hour or so til we decided to head for bed hoping for a good nights sleep before another 20 odd miles the following morning only to be kept awake until after 2am by a mixture of noise from the bar below then a punch up involving one of the staff in the corridor outside our room! The bunk room we were in was damp, scruffy and dirty and even had a friendly slug climbing up the wall! The beds themselves were very uncomfortable and the window was locked shut so we couldn't let any fresh air in and the shared bathroom was also dirty. Did we expect too much for £25? Last impressions were of a hot and tasty breakfast served up by friendly and helpful staff. A real Jekyll & Hyde hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for one that isn't above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Low Row hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We just don't understand the negative reviews posted on here, we stayed at this place for one night and had a great time. The staff were really lovely, food was fab and the management went the extra mile to make us feel welcome.
Yes the staff have have a "dry" sense of humour but it's funny ...... Lighten up.
Ladies toilets were fine, didn't smell .... Men's were close by but seemed not to omit a bad smell .....Hit the hole chaps!

This is a great place, a busy place and at times, so patience is required but the whole idea of somewhere like this is to chill out!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jddennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Lovely feel to pub. Great for walkers. Friendly bar staff. Huge meals be prepared to eat well. All a good standard. The sandwiches particularly good and amazing chips! The views of surrounding areas also worth a mention.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at that the Tan Hill for one night as we were attending a friends birthday party in the barn, we had a great a night due to the party, unfortunately a number of issues made the stay very unpleasant.

Firstly, the smell in the men's toilet was absolutely disgusting, all day on the Saturday and in the morning on the Sunday, I know we are in the sticks but you would expect a decent drainage system. The smell also drifted into our room.

The bar staff were great, however the manager, and a couple of his assistants were very rude. In the morning I woke up with a USED PLASTER stuck to my leg, it was not mine, it was not my girlfriends, so it must have belonged to a previous guest. When this issue was raised to the manager he said it was not his fault and that the rooms are cleaned after every use. No apology, nothing.

Half way through breakfast, a short woman demanded to have our keys, I asked why, she said the rooms need checking for "damage", and she was checking everyones room. We queried this with the manager and he said it was because we might have soiled the bed (although he used much more offensive language) He also claimed that in every hotel you stay in, the owners will go in the room without you knowing to check things over. I find that hard to believe.

About half an hour later the woman came back and was obviously delighted we managed to use the toilet in the room rather than the bed,so we were handed our keys back and allowed to check out without any additional cost.

Throughout our stay we were made to feel like we were staying in a youth hostel, and not paying guests of a hotel that is £70 per night.

The manager was very rude to my friends who were either camping or in the dorms, in the morning we were meant to eat breakfast separately from the "rif raf" (managers words for people not in a bedroom) however they managed to find a way round the baracades he had put up to stop them getting in, so at least we could have breakfast together in the morning.
Regarding the breakfast, very average, and one of the WORST sausages I have ever eaten. Tea was cold. Coffee....weak.

Also, on the night, the bar ran out of vodka pretty early on, when they know there getting a hundred people in for a party, you would think they would stock up.

I heard someone say theses new managers have been brought in to "turn the pub around" which I was flabbergasted by.

The pub will always attract people due to its outstanding views and its quirky location, however there is much they can do better, and I worry if the manager continues with his poor attitude towards all aspects of customer service then this great pub will have close its doors for good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chrissnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay somewhere with fantastic views, rude staff and tired, unclean and unkempt facilities then this place is just for you!

From the moment we stepped into the place, the staff were incredibly unwelcoming. They treated us like we were a total nuisance after asking just one question 'can you please tell us the room we're in?'
It took about 15mins for a reply.

We were staying overnight in a bunk room and were attending a party in the barn.

Luckily, I brought my sleeping bag so slept on top of the bed. The room wasn't clean and is in desperate need of a refurbishment. I would be highly surprised if the sheets had been washed from the people before.

They treated the campers outside like peasants. Not allowing them even into the same room as the people who had been bunking in the inn the next day for breakfast. I overheard a member of the bar staff referring to the campers as 'riff-raff'

If you do get a breakfast when staying here, expect the tea to be cold and served in unwashed cups.

They ran out of vodka during the night which is shocking considering they are a pub(!) and were well aware of the number of people who would be attending the party.

All in all, my evening was great because of the company I was with but the standard of the establishment leaves a lot to be desired. This place has potential but is hugely let down by the worn out facilities and very poor, impolite and ignorant staff that run it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank clouisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Row
12.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.9 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.6 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Low Row
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hill Inn

Property: Tan Hill Inn
Address: The Causeway Tan Hill | Overlooking Teesdale, Reeth, Richmond, Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tan hill inn is the UKs Highest Inn , standing 1732ft ASL, in an extremely isolated windy spot, where the fire inside welcomes the guest that visit us, Staff at Tan Hill Inn are ready to serve you perfect Ale and Homemade food. Please take the time to fill in one of our in house questionnaires as in 2015 we are actively researching customer feed back in house, or speak to Viv or Steve personally before you leave :-) We have a barn for hire for weddings, parties, and rally's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tan Hill Hotel Low Row
Tan Hill Inn UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing