We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and homely b&b in wonderful scenery of Swaledale”
Review of Rowleth End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Low Row
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowleth End
Ranked #4 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and myself spent 4 nights in this b&b. Both breakfast and evening meals were of good standard, and one of the volunteers even baked a cake for us! We felt very welcome and relaxed around the house with a good company of Roger's pets. I can't share any of the negative feedback about a standard of cleanliness- our room and the bathroom were cleaned every day by a friendly lady cleaner. Very friendly b&b in a superb location, very recommended.

Room Tip: Room 1 - quite cozy but large enough for 2
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Rowleth End
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I discovered Rowleth End by Googling 'unusual B&Bs in the Yorkshire Dales' and we weren't to be disappointed. As we arrived we were greeted by Roger, given a tour of the lovely house and asked if we fancied shearing a sheep! (That's certainly unusual!)There's also a photo of the resident Golden Labrador, Buster, in the hall and he's asking to be taken for a walk. We declined his kind offer and went off to investigate our Room 5, The Frances I'Anson Room. What a fabulous room it is! The very large bedroom is the full width of the house, with dual aspect windows, sofa and window seat - great for watching the wildlife and pets from. We also had a waiting bottle of Yorkshire 'champagne'. The bathroom is also very large with a bubbly spa bath with a view (if you're not shy!) to the river and a spa with jets here, there and everywhere! After settling in, we went down to the bar, where you serve yourself - Yorkshire cider, wine and ale - other sorts are also available! We got to meet Charlie, the resident cat who lives of the sofa, when not out hunting. Dinner was a great event. We shared our weekend with 3 other couples round the same table, enjoying the food and chatting. It was like a country house shooting party without the shooting! We took Buster for a walk the next day along the river to Reeth and Grinton and back on the bus. He is a very well-behaved dog. The day after, we were able to get a bus outside the door to Keld for a walk to Muker and Gunnerside. In the lovely weather, we were able to sit on the lovely terraced rear garden and watch the hens and sheep and look at the river and surrounding countryside. Rowleth End is certainly an unusual and special place to stay and we hope to return

Room Tip: Book Room 5 for a special occasion
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let's face it, if you want champagne, ice buckets and fancy hors d'oeuvres you shouldn't book into a Yorkshire Dales guest house!
Rowleth House is a great property, full of 1920's character with period features and furnishings that make it homely and relaxing. It is in a beautiful position with fantastic views across the valley. The gardens have been newly planted and the terrace spruced up to provide some lovely sitting areas.
The food was excellent. Whilst dinner was a set meal it was hot, fresh and used good quality local produce. The creme brulee was wonderful and a cheeseboard with 8 or 9 local cheeses was excellent. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and was plentiful.
Roger provides excellent service and goes out of his way to make guests feel at home.
There are lots of walks from the doorstep in beautiful countryside.
I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and would certainly like to visit again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Oh dear....what a mess. Does quirky mean tables not set properly? Does quirky mean the host can wear the same filthy Tshirt to clean the pet dishes; supervise kitchen duties then serve dinner (twice in a row, to boot!) Does quirky mean you have to ask for an Ice Bucket for White wine; Does quirky mean you have to turn a blind eye to things going wrong due to lack of training.......Dinner party (host take note) should encourage drinks on the terrace to take in the views, including a free glass of Champagne or at least something 'bubbly' with at least nibbes if not hor's d'ourves. The outdoor area was not prepared for summer nights unfortunately even though it was the end of June. Does quirky entitle you to offer wine lists during dinner rather than before?

Beware the camera in the Drawing Room and Dining Room: be careful to not walk through the kitchen with your eyes open en route to the 'mini' bar aaarrrggghh!

We were expecting better than average food but all we got was standard 'meat and two veg' fare followed by 'stodgy' puddings and a boring cheese board...no grapes and no offer of Liqueurs and after all, to be honest, it's not cheap to stay here.

The saving grace was the room. We booked the largest and so glad we did. This had a huge bath and shower and a 'crash out' sofa area too with great views.

We had booked three nights but had to leave a day early due to a family matter but we'd have checked out earlier anyway-never again!

Room Tip: If you do have to stay here, chose a large room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GRT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived weary after a long journey from the south, the small friendly bar was open and so we chilled with a G&T. The hotel was more like a home with the smell of home made cooking wetting the appetite, the dog wanting attention and the cat showing off.... showered and refreshed we joined our group for supper in the dining room, again, the welcoming joviality of Roger made us completely at home with a no nonsense approach to the menu. It was set, home cooked serving seasonal veg from the garden and served piping hot with time to consider the house wine which was chosen to compliment the meal. We spent the weekend walking this beautiful countryside and relaxing in the "Hotel". It was bliss. The lounge was relaxing and the setting ...well, what can I say...simply wonderful.!

Room Tip: There was only one without a bath and we had it, it didn't spoil our trip and all had good views...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just spent the weekend - great food, splendid location and well looked after by Roger. Much more of a very relaxed informal house party atmosphere and all the better for that - oh yes we will be booking again - if only to take Buster the dog for another walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callyamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Six of us stayed here for one night recently. It was a perfect, peaceful location - the house is surrounded by beautiful Swaledale countryside, just near the river.

The bedrooms were all lovely; we had two classic rooms and one superior and all were clean, comfortable and had amazing views of the surrounding countryside. The classic rooms were slightly smaller but still absolutely fine.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed relaxing in the lounge area and the "unusual" complimentary Yorkshire wine. Roger was a great host and full of useful information.

It's quite a quirky place, with interesting artwork and art deco furnishings. Dinner (served at a large table, a bit like a dinner party) was delicious, particularly the pudding which was a creme brulee type dish with chocolate brownie!

Would definitely recommend and hope to stay again sometime.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Salandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowleth End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleth End

Address: | Gunnerside, Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you weary of stress and hectic living, and need to breathe new energy into body and soul? Then Rowleth End is for you. Hospitality at its best; on weekends, more a house party than a hotel or guest house. Its five guest bedrooms are individually styled with quality beds and period furniture. The evening menus feature the very best of local produce. Log fires; local real ales at the bar. Relax in style and comfort, yet with plenty of informality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleth End UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing