We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual but comfortable and quiet with all(or nearly all) we needed”
Review of Rowleth End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Low Row
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowleth End
Ranked #4 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unusual but comfortable and quiet with all(or nearly all) we needed”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were travelling across the Dales in all it's beauty looking for somewhere to stay the night and came across this tucked back house. The interesting owner, in bare feet, gave us a tour of the house and we decided to stay. Art deco rooms, a bar, gorgeous views, sheep and hens and bunnies in the garden and a chance to walk along the beautifully serene river. We could have borrowed fishing rods or all manner of things to help our stay. Only drawback was they weren't serving dinner that night so we had to go out, but good pubs nearby. Breakfast was excellent with crisp croissant, home made jams, local sausage etc. Very relaxed atmosphere but clean and comfortable rooms with nice toiletries and good cotton sheets. Will try and get back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

my wife and I stayed for weekend recently totally enjoyed ourselves. Views from our room was fantastic , Rodger was a good host and his cooking skills we're very good. He was very welcoming
and attentive. His dog loves it if you should wish to take him on your walk with you .He never walks far from you. His house is clean and tidy and very art deco. We would not hesitate to return in the near future . Thanks Rodger

Room Tip: Pubs are about 1 mile away in both directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked this for me and my partner as we wanted to get away for the weekend, somewhere peaceful and relaxing and to take in the Yorkshire Dales scenery.
We wasnt dis-appointed at all with our choice of accommodation as it was clean, quiet, nice food, beautiful location and scenery and most of all good company.
Roger who owns the hotel shares all his facilities with his guests and is quite the character. He cooks, cleans, serves you beer, entertains, and fills you in on every meal you have as to where the food has been sourced and made.
We booked the biggest room in the place on the top floor overlooking the most beautiful hills in the Dales. Our room had a massive jacuzzi whirlpool bath, light up shower with 5 different settings for power etc, also a built in radio with 5 different colour schemes depending on your mood!! Our bedroom had a large bed, large wardrobes, sitting area and the usual tea and coffee making facilities. Fantastic views looking over the Dales and the river flowing by, truly fantastic.
Food was served in a dining room where you would mingle in with the other guest, depending how many are staying there you could be on a table with 4 or 6 people. I think this is a great idea as it gets you talking to other people and mixing in rather than just sitting there on your own (each to there own I guess). Food was simply delicious and all cooked by Roger, first night it was Lamb then beef on the next night along with veg and potatoes etc... Breakfast again was cooked and ready for when you came downstairs, again simply spot on having a full breakfast before walking by the river...
All in all a fantastic stay, we even took Rogers dog for a walk down by the river.
Things to remember, you are miles away from anywhere here, no shops, no phone signal, no 3G, plenty of pubs about a mile or 2 away though.

Would return again if we was in that area, so give it a try!!

Room Tip: Ask for the best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights early may at Rowleth End. We enjoy our breaks away and do so at every opportunity but its rare that I would be able to recall a particular place in detail and the stay as a whole. Rowleth End will stay in my memory forever with its charm and 'mad uncle Roger' as I call him. As soon as you walk into Rowleth End you feel like a member of the household. His priority is your complete comfort and he really enjoys looking after you. He is an amazing cook, we were very well fed giving us a choice of options but whatever was put in front of us was delicious ! The lounge / bar is cosy and you cant help but become included in a gathering of guests from all over the UK and beyond not to forget the resident pets who love the attention. The dining area again, cosy and sociable. Rowleth End is not spotlessly clean but it certainly isnt dirty either and it is a very old property. Remembering it is in the Dales, ideal for walkers and typical british weather it would be difficult to keep sparkly clean. Our room was a comfortable mix of old and modern with plenty of room. The walking around the area is incredible and I did a total of 22 miles of exploring and wandering. We will certainly visit again, you cant help but adore Roger and the quirks of Rowleth End. Especially when he potters in with your breakfast in his socks. The house and the owner fit perfectly together.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The owner is a pleasant fellow but we don't see that he provides what most people require first and foremost in a b&b, i.e. cleanliness and comfort. The house has lots of potential but its being utilised fairly poorly. The so called luxury room is not really luxurious, its acceptable at best, and disappointing for the premium price. Fitments are of good quality but badly fitted, partitions not finished off properly, dirty cups in the bathroom, scratches on the table, stains on the curtains, mould around the window, etc. The worst thing was the cold draught at night in the bed. Felt like sleeping under an a/c unit. Also lots of noise from central heating and suchlike makes it altogether an unpleasant experience. Of course the location in Low Row is lovely, and Swaledale is fabulous. There is tea always available and hearty breakfasts, but you can get this anywhere. Right now, its not luxurious and its not good value. I can see how it would appeal to some, but i would caution that it is not as it seems from the website, and in comparison to some other Dales b&b's it lags somewhat behind.

Room Tip: These comments are based on the luxury room in the photo, don't have experience of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at Rowleth End 2 nights last spring, excellent in every way,(we picked some wild Garlic from the woods nearby which is very nice) We have been to lots of places, this is one of the best.
Rodger the host very helpful,sorry for not commenting sooner.Don & Roya

Room Tip: Lovely view from our room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmslow-don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is not a run-of-the-mill B&B... and one should enter with no preconceptions of what a B&B should be...The setting is beautiful, with stunning scenery all around, but the truly unique element comes from the Owner (Roger).
From the moment you arrive Roger makes it his business to see that you have a good time. He may be an acquired taste for some, but myself and my wife found him to be a charming and attentive host. We stayed for two nights in March and we found the hospitality to be first class. Roger clearly loves his food (his real ale and whisky too) this is reflected in his offer. Accomodation is modern and very comfortable and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent using all local ingredients. Roger even allowed us to take his lovely, well-behaved labrador Buster for a walk by the river which was great fun, another real character!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Low Row
4.3 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Punch Bowl Inn
The Punch Bowl Inn
#1 of 4 in Low Row
303 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowleth End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleth End

Property: Rowleth End
Address: | Gunnerside, Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you weary of stress and hectic living, and need to breathe new energy into body and soul? Then Rowleth End is for you. Hospitality at its best; on weekends, more a house party than a hotel or guest house. Its five guest bedrooms are individually styled with quality beds and period furniture. The evening menus feature the very best of local produce. Log fires; local real ales at the bar. Relax in style and comfort, yet with plenty of informality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleth End UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing