We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxury in Stunning Surroundings”
Review of Rowleth End

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Low Row
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rowleth End
Ranked #4 of 4 Low Row B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We've stayed twice at Rowleth End and had a wonderful experience both times. Our second visit was for our anniversary, and a complementary bottle of champagne awaited us. Roger's thoughtfulness and attention to detail is impeccable; he has really thought of everything that could add to your comfort and convenience.

Real tea and coffee are served on request, with a plate of biscuits, in the drawing room at any time (for free). The room includes posh soft drinks, and high quality bath products, as well as bath robes, teddy bears, and even binoculars for admiring the spectacular view over the valley. Roger is completely accommodating over things such as arrival time, using his phone, and making use of the downstairs facilities after checking out. He has laminated cards with local walks available to borrow.

Dinner is optional, and very much recommended. Good use is made of local produce. The atmosphere is of a dinner party. We enjoyed three delicious courses, plus local cheeses. Breakfast is also a magnificent spread, and filled us up for the day.

We couldn't recommend staying here highly enough. Treat yourself. With everything that's included, and it all being of such high quality, it's very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnazzyOwlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Rowleth End
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 93 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just got back from a wonderfully relaxing break at Rowleth End struggling to find anything negative to stay. From start to finish everything was just right, Roger and his team of helpers have the exact balance of relaxed, friendly and welcoming hospitality without being overpowering. The food was delicious, all served in the wonderful dining room complete with crisp white linen, a roaring fire and candles, we had the dining room to ourselves and it felt like our very own Downton Abbey! If you think evening meals in a B&B aren't your thing you really should give this a try, we had 3 courses followed by cheese and coffee for £23 per head and it was such a lovely experience i cant fault it. The property is immaculate and beautifully furnished, there is a dining room, drawing room and bar with a TV all for guests to use. The attention to detail in every aspect is remarkable from the way the tables are laid to the fresh flowers in our room. Roger provides maps of local walks all listed out with directions then laminated to make it really easy to plan your route. The house itself has no TV's (other than one in the bar) which makes for a truly relaxing stay. There is such a feeling of peace in the house and it has a quiet that i don't think i have ever experienced before. We took our dog who was made to feel really welcome and enjoyed playing in the garden with Buster the resident Labrador. There are some really good pubs in the villages nearby serving home cooked food and some wonderful scenery. A wonderful, unique place that you can't fail to enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 5 is lovely
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at Rowleth end over 2 nights in October half term. Roger, our host, couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing. He cultivates a 'house party' atmosphere where the guest are encouraged to make themselves at home in the art deco surroundings. The bedroom we had (number 5) was warm and beautifully appointed with wonderful views across the dale. Dinner was excellent (leave room for the local cheeses at the end) and we repaired into Roger's snug bar to round off the evening with our fellow guests. Breakfast was great to! Roger deserves to do well with Rowleth End; he made us feel so comfortable and spoilt.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Roger and his team run a truly wonderful B&B/Guest house.
Rooms and room amenities above expectation and Roger's cooking a delight. In a lovely spot by the river in Swaledale and after fifty miles in the saddle we couldn't have asked for a better home from home. This is my first posting on TA but I felt I had to write because this place was a delightful find and I recommend it strongly. Thanks to all at Rowleth End.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at Rowleth end with my girlfriend for a nice quiet weekend away at the start of october. we felt instantly at home and roger was a great host. the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. dinner on the second night was the highlight of our stay. the dinner party atmosphere meant we got to know our fellow guests and the food prepared by roger was of a very high quality. the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is very tranquil. if you are looking for a peaceful stay in the country, look no further than rowleth end.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I have travelled the world and stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels money can buy,yet this little known gem, set in the most idyllic surroundings offers a unique experience that words cannot describe. we both sat, undisturbed, at the edge of the nearby stream sipping champagne and eating fresh strawberries wondering how we happened upon such a wonderful place. This is a place that can only be justified with a stay. The owner, chef, entertainment, cleaner, tour guide, barman, gardener, and friend to all, Roger is a man that all men aspire to be. FANTASTIC!!!!! X Manie & Jill

Room Tip: you MUST dine here whenever you stay. Will add pics at later date
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

from arriving to departing we had a fabulous stay, Roger(owner) was welcoming and very accomadating, nothing was too much trouble. We felt like we had been invited and were welcomed as guests to his home. the views and grounds were spectacular. we were woken by the lovely sounds of a happy hen. we normally holiday in cottages and larger hotels but Rowleth end has converted us to the smaller more personal establishment. we have never stayed anywhere with more thought to detail and comfort. Roger had all tolietires in the room, he had bottled water, and other drinks all free of charge. it was value for money. I would reccomend this to anyone. he also makes the best summer fruit Creme Brullee i have ever tasted!!!!! mmmmm delicious. No Tv in your room but for me this was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rowleth End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowleth End

Address: | Gunnerside, Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Low Row
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Low Row
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you weary of stress and hectic living, and need to breathe new energy into body and soul? Then Rowleth End is for you. Hospitality at its best; on weekends, more a house party than a hotel or guest house. Its five guest bedrooms are individually styled with quality beds and period furniture. The evening menus feature the very best of local produce. Log fires; local real ales at the bar. Relax in style and comfort, yet with plenty of informality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowleth End UK/Low Row, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing