We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old time excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cleveland Tontine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

myself and my husband have just had a meal in the restaurant for the first time, after reading reviews,. It was my husbands 65th Birthday and wanted to capture the old intimate ambience of what restaurants use to be like when we were young, and oh boy this was the place. The food was excellent, staff amazing etiquette and welcoming ambience, simply amazing. The Tontine is definitely not a place to miss. A meal for two, then you can capture of all the ambience of past tastes, quality, ambience and what pubs do not have today. There get a top five star rating, beautiful, just a dream of ambience, and planning an overnight stay because we were so impressed at the class, restaurant, the whole place was lovely so inviting, thank you to all at the tontine, compliments to the chef, simply amazing, we were soooo impressed. If we win the lottery this would be the place I would buy to savour the ambience they have truly captured, and hope they can continue to keep it alive in a fast changing fast hotel and food market. Excenllent

Room Tip: we have not stayed here, but so impressed we have decided we will have an overnight stay, it was sim...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased that you had such a great evening with us and that you are planning to come back for an overnight stay - you won't be disappointed! As for winning the lottery, everyone has to dream!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for The Cleveland Tontine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 405 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the Cleveland Tontine and couldn't fault it. The team were especially friendly and attentive. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Gertrude Bell suite which was stunning and spacious. We immediately settled down in the lounge for Champagne and Oysters and nothing was too much trouble as we rearranged the furniture a little to get ourselves comfortable for the afternoon! Dinner was superb and we were impressed by the menu variety given that we were on a special DBB rate. All in all we felt spoiled and loved it. Thank you

Room Tip: Gertrude Bell was lovely - so long as you don't mind going upstairs to the large bathroom!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHughespayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased you had a great time with us and loved our Gertrude Bell room. Everyone is welcome here at the Tontine and it is great to hear that you were made to feel at home. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I have driven past the Tontine on numerous occasions, and we recently decided it was about time we went in. We are so glad we did. We went in for their delicious 'chocolate afternoon tea', which consisted of numerous chocolate delights as well as sandwiches, scones, quiche, and a pot of tea. The view from the room in to the gardens was great and not hindered at all by the A19 nearby. There was so much food that we couldn't finish it all but the waitress kindly boxed it up for us to take home.

As it was our first time at the tontine, we asked if we could have a look around. The general manager, Adam, kindly took 20 mins out of his schedule to show us the whole site including the bistro, events room and one or two of the empty bedrooms. We were also very impressed with the future developments they had planned.

We really enjoyed our visit to the Tontine, this place is a hidden gem of North Yorkshire!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. We are all very proud of the Tontine and love nothing more than an opportunity to give a guided tour!! I hope you don't keep driving past and come again soon, even if its just for a coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and personally shown to our room by the receptionist (sorry I did not catch her name). We stayed in the Tontine room, it was a wonderful room with a super bathroom (we appreciated the subtle night lights set into the bathroom door step).

At the time of booking I stated that my wife has a severe dairy allergy, your receptionist asked if she used epi pens etc, showing that she understood the severity of my wife's allergy. (Very few hotels acknowledge this) Before dinner we had a glass of champagne whilst choosing our dinner from your menu, again your waitress knew about my wife's allergy and said that chef had said that she could choose whichever dish she liked and that he could adapt it to accommodate my wife's needs (again an absolute rarity even in the best of hotels) Dinner in the conservatory was a very pleasant experience with very attentive, but not overbearing staff. My wife particularly enjoyed her meal, knowing that she could eat it without having to worry what was in it. The smallest crumb of cheese can bring on an anaphylactic shock within 10 minutes.

We had to leave in a hurry due to a family problem so missed the breakfast, hopefully we will be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tontine room, and would happily book the same room again
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megosnaithGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for leaving such a great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our Tontine room. Our kitchen is very used to dealing with all kinds of food allergies and it is great to hear that you felt this was handled better than in other places you have visited, and that your wife was able to relax during her meal. What a shame you missed our award winning Yorkshire breakfast although it gives you a good reason to come back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was taken here for lunch by an old friend. There had been a plan to have a pub lunch in Northallerton but he suggested the Tontine .It was my first visit; the decor was striking, the staff were polite and welcoming. .My friend and I had not met for 50 years so had some catching up to do. The staff got us some drinks and then patiently came back, ever 5 minutes or so to see if were ready to order! We had an excellent, 3 choices per course, three course set lunch menu @ £20. Delicious food, beautifully presented on warm plates by discreetly attentive staff.

The Hotel is just off the A19, near Northallerton and it would make an excellent stop-off for a meal if one was in the area. Highly recommended for food and service. We had something much better than pub food for a very little extra outlay, well worth the difference!

Room Tip: I only went for a meal so cannot rate all aspects of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perkypenguin1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience here at the Tontine. We hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Easy friendly check in, room with a wow factor ........wallpaper in the Cameron room fantastic , huge bathroom , usual complimentary products and lovely robes and slippers . Comfy bed and a good nights sleep . Breakfast not extensive but okay not sure about the bread !! Very enjoyable stay . Nice lounge areas with open fires . Restaurant review separate .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank rosieWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are always pleased to receive feedback. I am delighted you approved of the décor, we have put a lot of effort into making each of our rooms unique, stylish and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We visited the Cleveland Tontine for lunch on a Saturday.
What a beautiful dining room . The menu is different and interesting. It is hard to decide what to eat as it all sounds delicious, and what we chose was just that.
The staff are delightful.
This restaurant is great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank drmarycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland T, Manager at The Cleveland Tontine, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you found our menu exciting, we try very hard to offer something a little bit different. Why not come for our delicious Afternoon Tea next time or treat yourself to an overnight stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staddlebridge
8.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
727 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
17.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Tontine

Address: Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Staddlebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Price Range: $103 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cleveland Tontine 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Yorkshire Hotel and Restaurant. Fine food and wine,sumptuous overnight accommodation and flawless service in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland Tontine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Tontine Hotel Staddlebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing