We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most charming restaurant, outstanding cuisine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cleveland Tontine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Family treat for Mothering Sunday. Delicious lunch, wonderful service; always our favourite place to eat.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank lwears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for The Cleveland Tontine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 405 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I first visited the Cleveland Tontine while on honeymoon 25 years ago. This was our first return visit and it did not disappoint. Both food and accommodation were of the highest standard with flashes of originality which made the stay truly memorable. Our room was spacious and very well furnished and decorated with the same eclectic choice of furniture that can be seen around the whole hotel. In all the feeling is of understated quality, as if a rich friend had given you the keys to their home for a few days. The McCoy brothers have a reputation to live up to and our experience was that they continue to do this with gusto.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Great Sunday lunch. Lovely dining room, competent service. Celeriac velouté was outstanding. Good choice of main courses. (Food is just a little too salty is my only criticism).
Next time I'll try the puds.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Have wanted to eat here for many years and for my 60th birthday at the end of June my partner booked dinner as a surprise. It was midweek so not too full. We were both delighted with the ambience of the Bistro and the quality of the food. and wine..everything was as you would expect of this well established eaterie. Will certainly return for special occasions and aim to try the Sat set lunchtime deal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeemerF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

A very special experience .Unique in every way . Tom , Eugene and Peter will do everything in their power to ensure you enjoy a memorable and wonderful experience .
From the forty 's style restaurant where you may enjoy the best food in the UK under a golden camisol to the comfortable, individually designed bedrooms this is somewhere you shouldn't miss .Maybe not all things to all don't live without visiting this establishment.
Restaurant of the year 1978 . Bistro of the year 2012 ?
Specialties include langoustine McCoy , filet de Chateaubriand, and the unique and eponymous choc o bloc Stanley.
Associated places ; Peters Place in Thirsk.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfs964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I took my family there , 6 of us, for a celebratory dinner , my daughter's choice .... the dining area was a bit 'crowded', and a table set right in front of what would have been a nice 'live' fire - was blocked to us, sat at a two tables knocked to-gether . What we could make out of the room was poor, as the only 'lights' were from stubs of two candles on our tables. It did'nt look that immpresive anyhow. We had wine , and 'starters' , and a 'main' meal that could have passed for 'starters' ! I elected for queen scallops , never have I seen such tiny pieces of same, in fact I think it may have been one scallop 'divided' in a sort of ring, beset with a sauce of some kind, either of which was tastless . It really was hard to make out my plate , and the food upon it , and I shifted the larger of the two stubs of candle nearer my dish to see ! My 'main' dish was Pheasant , as was my grandson's choice also, I think he had one breast , and I the other ! It was a bit 'chewy' , and not much of it , combined with a sort of 'rissole' of chestnut 'add on' . Neither again tasted of anything particular , even the 'smears' of arty sauce around the edge of the plate counted for nought . We were brought a slim dish of potato and carrots for ALL of us eating , I never saw the potato's after the first person to have any, got lost in the darkness I think, I did manage to grab a few carrots , no big deal in those either. We had coffee at the end, as well as the odd beer among one of us .... I took some wine from Home, as my wife only likes 'weak' stuff ( 8% ) ... and I had to drive anyway , but I did 'declare' it , and asked for 'corkage' .... duly granted, at about £4.50 . The bill came to well nigh £240 in all ! This place is TOO rich for my blood , and over inflated for what one gets for your money . I will NEVER go again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierre34th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have lived nearby for almost four years and have heard wonderful things about the Cleveland Tontine. We visited as a family party of six adults for Sunday lunch in mid November. We had booked well in advance as we knew of its reputation. On arrival we were overwhelmed at the sheer number of seemingly busy staff on duty - we were constantly having to move to accomodate their movements as we checked in at the bar. We arrived at 1.00pm, as arranged, and a few of the indoor tables were already taken, and I am sure many more were reserved, although I couldn't confirm this. We were shown to a room upstairs to join two of our party who had already arrived. This was an okay, quirky sort of drawing room area, but dark and gloomy and cold - it seemed to us as though we were 'out of their way' up there. Eventually we got someone to come up and take our orders, and we asked then if we could be seated at our table, as we were the only group up there and it felt a little odd. We were shown through to a table in the conservatory, although there still appeared to be space inside the main restaurant. The conservatory was very bright, and had no atmsophere and you could hear every word of the conversations of other diners - inhibiting! Myself and my two sisters-in- law were seated on two wooden benches with cushions scattered about on them - comfortable for about 30 minutes and after this very uncomfortable and we ended up trying to sit on the cushions which made us too high above the table. We were still looking forward to the food though, having heard so much about it. Starters were quite slow to arrive. They were okay - nothing stunning, nothing awful. I had Queen scallops, but was a bit disappointed with the size and quality, and I suspect they had been kept warm a while as they were a bit on the tough side. Mushroom veloute was had by two people, pronounced okay but not very warm. Verdict for starters okay - if it was a pub meal. Then we waited a long while (remember all those waiting staff - where were they and what were they doing???). When the mains arrived the plates were cold, and the meals were luke warm, at best. The beef was exceptionally rare - which most of our party were fine with, but rare and cold is a weird combination and not that palatable. Chicken Jo Jo was okay but average. Lamb was again exceptionally rare but my husband said the flavour was very good. The accompanying roast potatoes and veg were 'tired' - I don't know how long they had been hanging around but they were overdone, luke warn and tired looking. Desserts, when they finally arrived were mediocre. Service was so disjointed, and patchy, we did not know what would turn up next - we asked for wine, water, more horseradish, more water - and they were brought to us by different people at random times! We paid around £250 for Sunday lunch which, to be honest, was not as good as some of the carveries we have had over the years. I felt that the 'oomph' had gone from this restaurnat, as I am sure it must have had it at one time. Won't go again. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staddlebridge
8.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
726 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
306 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
17.9 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Tontine

Address: Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Staddlebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Price Range: $103 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cleveland Tontine 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Yorkshire Hotel and Restaurant. Fine food and wine,sumptuous overnight accommodation and flawless service in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland Tontine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Tontine Hotel Staddlebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing