We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleveland Tontine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Its not cheap!”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Just back from our anniversary dinner at the Tontine. Two starter3 were disappointing, lobster tube was missing a lot of lobster, I had the equivalent of a large prawn and a lot of orange foam! Seafood pancake was a large piece of salmon with a few scattered pieces of fish and 2 queenie scallops, although the redeeming feature was the sauce it was lovely. The main dish was luke warm, we had the duck. The side dishes were fine, The cheese and biscuits were, we think, made out of the biscuit box, not nice at all, cardboardy and tasteless. I had strawberries 2 ways and it tasted of strawberry esscence. The staff were attentive and smiling and could not be faulted. Overall..... for over a hundred quid, we wont be going back anytime soon. Seems they are living on their past reputation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    62
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
71
193
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
167 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at the Tontine during the August Bank Holiday weekend to celebrate a birthday and thoroughly enjoyed it. We made our booking having called for lunch one day and were invited to take a look round the rooms and chose which one we would like to stay in as all rooms are differently designed. This typifies the friendly and relaxed attitude of the owner. The bedrooms had been refurbished since our previous two visits to a very high standard with very stylish fittings, lovely bathrooms and overall a high standard of interior design.

The main reason for visiting the Tontine for us is the food. We have eaten in the Bistro on several occasions including on a Saturday lunchtime when they do an excellent fixed price menu. We have found that the food is consistently delicious and imaginative and our recent visit fully lived up to expectations with the most succulent fillet steak and tasty pork dish for our main courses. The service in the restaurant is unobtrusive but efficient and friendly.

We would certainly recommend the Tontine, it’s a great place to go to enjoy fantastic food!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Have just returned home from another great weekend at McCoys and, having read the other reviews on Trip Advisor, have to conclude that this is one of those hotel/bistros that you either ‘get’ or you don’t. To me, it’s heaven. The décor is quirky, colourful and bold. The staff, including former Master Chef Eugene McCoy, are warm, welcoming and always willing to stop for a joke or a chat. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first visit or 5 years since your last, if you’re willing to relax, unwind and ease into the pace of McCoys, you’ll leave feeling refreshed, rejuvenated and like you’ve just spent time in your very own country house retreat.

We live in North Wales but have travelled to McCoys for 40th Birthdays, 50th Birthdays, Anniversaries, Holiday Planning parties, Retirements, weekends away….basically, any excuse. We often meet with family and friends who are happy to travel even further (Scotland, West Sussex, Salisbury) for dinner and a night at the Tontine. Why? Because the food is delicious, the rooms are beautiful, the people are friendly and sincere, and McCoys is one of a kind.

On the detail front, the place has had a complete refurbishment (rooms and main areas) in the last 2 years and looks superb. The Bistro, complete with conservatory, retains all the charm of an authentic French eatery, with a ‘Snug’ that can be hired for private parties (seating up to 12). The lounge, bar and restaurant are littered with mirrors, parlour palms, comfy sofas, ornaments, vases of fresh flowers, ornate lampshades, hand-made carpets and rugs etc, which make you feel like you’ve wandered on to the set of ‘Gosford Park’ (in a good way).

McCoys does a dinner, bed and breakfast rate of £220/couple, which we thought was great value for the quality of the meal and accommodation, and has also just started serving Afternoon Tea which, at £15/head, is a complete bargain and comes highly recommended (see photo). In short, can’t praise the place highly enough, and have just made a pact with my better half to treat ourselves to a visit at least twice a year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariGirlNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is our third visit in 13 years and as always it turned out to be one of the high spots of the year. We were a party of ten, a mix of family and friends and had travelled from all over the country to meet.

We arrived early afternoon and had a fantastic 'high tea' at 2pm. I can really recommend this as a way to start your stay. This was served in the lovely dining room on a selection of mismatched fine bone china and consisted of dainty sandwiches which belied the generous fillings, a lovely selection of home made cakes, scones with cream and jam and real tea, complete with tea strainer! What an indulgent way to catch up on the news.

I seriously wondered if I'd be able to do dinner justice, I needn't have, the menu was so tempting, we sat down to a fabulous dinner at 8pm and went up to bed around midnight. The food is so good, I notice someone complained about the service, everyone is different, I'm aware of this, I think if you appreciate really fine food, freshly cooked to order than you'll be used to savouring each course rather than expecting a fast production line style service which you won't receive at the Tontine. The whole evening was so perfect, food, wine, company and ambience.
The decor is brilliant and the rooms are boutique hotel, I love them; again, it's horse for courses, all I can say is if you appreciate the really fine things in life, you'll love it here. It's something everyone should treat themselves to at least once in a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumamiaHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I have been reading restaurant reviews about the Tontine Inn for well over 20 years and finally got there on the Mayday bank holiday. The location is somewhat strange, an old coaching inn beside the A19 dual carriageway. I was told that the restaurant was fully booked for 1-o-clock but we could come at 2. I looked in at 1-o-clock and found 5 empty tables and was given one immediately by a charming young barman who had no note of our reservation. The bistro is in the basement of the hotel, quite dark but characterful with an interesting ceiling with moulds of vines and grapes and a huge blackstone chimneypiece. Tables were well spaced and the linen, glasses and cutlery were all sparlingly clean. There was a cheerful party of young people having a drinks party in a conservatory attached to the bistro. The atmosphere in the bistro itself was equally cheerful, mainly casually dressed couples and some families, one with a boy of about 4 having his first asparagus with hollandaise. I had the same for my starter: delicious. My wife had a seafood pancake containing mainly salmon but served in a crab flavoured bisque which she enjoyed. My main was a Ribeye Monte Carlo which turned out to be a fried egg on top, The steak was excellent, well done on the surface, pink inside. Her's was a lamb rump and again she was pleased with it. With a couple of soft drinks, coffees and biscuits the total bill (without a service charge) was £53. This was typical bistro food, not challenging for the chef, but enjoyed by us. We will go back, but not in a hurry. It would be an interesting and memorable place to take visitors to North Yorks to.

Room Tip: The set lunch is very good value at about £18
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loch lomond
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Originally we had only booked in for Sunday lunch. But the weather was great and the meal was so good that we decided at the last minute to stay over. The reception staff were fantastic and showed me what rooms were available. We opted for No 3. The bed was very comfy the standard of linens & towels and furnishings was top draw. Even the noise of the A19 couldn't be heard. Air conditioning was execlent in the room also. After a great Sunday lunch we sat in the gardens enjoying the sun a a very good pint of Theakstons until early evening when we were joined by Tatty the cat. We didn't have the evening meal instead they rustled up some cheese on toast! The service is very good. In my view the 2 most important things for a B&B are the bed and the breakfast. The tittle gives it away. The breakfast was first rate fantastic local bacon sausage and eggs from there own chickens washed down with Taylors of Harrogate tea. All in a great place and I would recumbent it to anyone who's passing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bustasdits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I expected great things from all I had read about this hotel on the internet before we arrived. However on arriving at the hotel it looks tired; the sign outside is weathered and illegible; there is a pond in the car park with a what looks to be plastic champagne bottle in the middle, out of which water is spurting. Then when you look there is a yellow plastic hose connected to the champagne botle which then trails across the car park to the hotel...As you enter the hotel, it seems dark and dingy and as you stand at the bar - there are no places to sit and have a drink you see that the clip art frames holding various wine labels/art/whatever are broken, the walls are grubby and the place needs a real uplift. We were taken to our table which was nicely set out and ordered our meals; the risotto of the day (asparagus, pea and mint) was very good albeit slightly salty and my "blue" £31.00 8oz fillet steak was rare not blue and had very little taste for such an expensive piece of meat, it was served with a lovely poivre sauce (extra) and a small garnish and the vegetables were a dish of american fries, cooked carrots and new potatoes, not the most inspiring selection of vegetables. Wine was opened and not served and left to our host to do that and the staff seemed to be somewhat disorganised although trying their best. We all chose not to have desserts but instead had coffees, served unusually with nice shortbread biscuits. On a postive note the toilets were delightful, clean, bright and obviously well looked after; such a pity that the same couldn't be said of the rest of the hotel. There was an offer of an overnight stay for two, dinner, bed & breakfast for £220; would it be worth it to stay in a tired hotel, next to a noisy dual carriageway away from any well known locations? You make your mind up. I certainly have.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CheekyMonkey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staddlebridge
8.4 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
697 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
284 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
281 reviews
14.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
18.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland Tontine

Property: The Cleveland Tontine
Address: Nr Northallerton, Staddlebridge, Northallerton DL6 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Staddlebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staddlebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cleveland Tontine 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic Yorkshire Hotel and Restaurant. Fine food and wine,sumptuous overnight accommodation and flawless service in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Cleveland Tontine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Tontine Hotel Staddlebridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing