We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and have always been impressed with the standard of the room. All times our room has been too hot even with no heating on, the bathrooms have been well decorated and clean in each of the rooms we've stayed in. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and help yourself, staff were friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Each time we have stayed here there has been a function on, and thats when the bar runs slow, due to people attending the function using the hotel bar. The lounge is decorated to suit the building and makes a very pleasant area to sit and "lounge".
We used the pool, sauna and steam room, these have just been refurbished and are excellent and very clean.
The only gripe i have is check in is extremely slow - other holiday inn's dont seem to have this problem, but each time we stayed check-in took a good 5-10 minutes and the staff seem a bit flustered with lots of paperwork to sort for each person ?
Definitely stay here again, one of the nicer holiday inns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angef477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review from your recent visit to the Holiday Inn. I'm pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. I have taken on board your comments in regards to the slow check out procedure, we are currently training new front of house staff, this may have been the reason for the delay.

Again thank you for your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

what can I say? we booked this hotel as its half way between Scotland and our destination. im very glad I did! not great looking from exterior but as soon as the door opens...wow! Deco style but with modern touches, staff excellent, friendly and welcoming. room spotless with aircon included! I was actually looking for a fault so mark it down!! Italian restaurant on site which is incredible!! again staff amazing. breakfast ok self service. I would definitely stay here again! we looked on the way back but car park was full!

Room Tip: book early to get a better room. huge car park so no parking issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,121,874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your stay with us. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.
We hope to see you again when your next on your travels.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I remember staying here before the Holiday Inn took it over and it was a bit grubby and lacking investment. Now it's spotless, well run and an ideal place to stay if you're working in the area. The restaurant is fine for my tastes and there's an amazing pub/restaurant across the roundabout in Middleton Tyas called the Shoulder of Mutton.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvorD1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. I’m pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

To clarify, from the off, i'm a platinum priority club member so i stay in a lot of Holiday Inns.
I'll be brief....
I don't like this Holiday Inn.
The rooms, although superficially nice, are freezing cold, even in the middle of summer. I turned the 'aircon' up to 30 deg C to try and get a bit of warm air into the room but he fan still just blew cold air around. There is no heating in the bathroom - not even a heated towel rail. This will be DREADFUL in the winter.
The wifi was NON- EXISTENT in the room - slow to connect and continual drop outs.
The service in the bar was very slow.
The staff, particularly at breakfast, were quite frankly rude and unhelpful .How difficult is it to offer someone a cup of coffee without being asked!?
Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. Firstly I would like to apologise that your stay with us at the Holiday Inn was not up to the normal standard you would expect.
I have taken on board on your comments in regards to the air conditioning unit in your room and that is being looked at by our maintenance team. I am sorry to hear that you did experience issues in regards to the complimentary Wi-Fi we offer our hotel guests, this connection we offer should work sufficiently with your basic internet needs. I would also like to offer my sincere apologises for your experience at breakfast, this is being looked into.
I do hope sometime in the future you will choose to stay with us again and we can offer you the full Holiday Inn experience you would expect.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a one night stay at the Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner, took the online option for Upgraded Room and were given a corner Executive Room, very nice size with ensuite bathroom. As this Hotel is right on the A1 the traffic noise can be intrusive but the Hotel and its facilities were very good. Bar prices very reasonable for a Hotel too. Lovely breakfast with all you can eat and more. Very pleasant receptionist and staff, would definitely stay there again when travelling.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy due to A1 traffic, not sure what rear rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngusDanielFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I did not even see the inside of the bedroom. I made the reservation around 17.00 and then drove the 1 1/2 hours to the hotel, at the reception I was told that they had overbooked and that there was no room at the inn for me, and that they had outsourced my booking to another hotel (which was not acceptable to me)

I therefore drove back to Nottingham tired and disappointed with this hotel

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Davidnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia S, Front of House Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Firstly I would like to apologise for the issue you encountered with us at the hotel. I can understand what a big inconvenience it was for you to have booked a room at the hotel only to find there wasn’t a room available, finding ourselves overbooked is not something we are very familiar with. We are currently investigating what went wrong with the system to allow rooms to be sold when they were not available.
Again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused.
Kind Regards
Amelia Sopp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with first class amenities. The hotel is quite well run but we found that it is understaffed at peak times. The bar staff are pushed very hard and this means quite long waits for drinks at times, on our recent visit there was a long wait to get served although the barmaid was run off her feet, how she kept pleasant with everyone is a miracle. I have waited quite a long time before at this hotel. The food menu is quite good but the Italian restaurant is not to my liking. For one night I would recommend this hotel but it is a bit remote from nearby facilities. Compared to some places it is good value.

Room Tip: a good HOLIDAY INN. No recommendations about room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear patrick2012_12,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel excellent with first class amenities. However, I apologize for the level of service received and if you didn't find our Italian restaurant to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by our hotel management, and your review is no exception.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing