We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing the simple things right...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for the first time the other day. Recently refurbished, staff friendly, breakfast good and also has an efficient check in /out.

It has a gym (not checked but sounds OK), is close to main roads and has plenty of parking (also easily accessed from Darlington train station).

While the setting is not the best (near the A1) it is not noisy and gets points for convenience. If you want beautiful countryside then the area is stunning and immediately accessible (Richmond is very picturesque).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VennDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Amelia Woolway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed nearly every week last year and now first visit this year July 13, still spotless and the best staff I've ever come across (never seen one of them glued to their mobile) its all about you which is nice! Well done guys

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are delighted that once again you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn - Darlington and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What an excellent hotel the staff were very helpful the room was spotless.
Nothing was to much trouble for the staff
The building is lovely very old but in excellent condition
reception staff are very welcoming
The food is excellent and good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The building has been beautifully refurbished as was our bedroom so full marks on these counts. Staff we encountered were pleasant and tried their best to be helpful but most gave the impression that training was still a work in progress.

Information is hard to find such as meal times and pool opening hours and we could find nothing about these in the room. Phoning reception proved to be a bit of a marathon before they picked up.
We eventually discovered meal times outside the restaurant but you had to have arrived there before you knew what time to come!!
We eventually found the pool times outside the pool which is in its own building some way from the hotel on a rainy day. Even then the times vary but no days of the week are mentioned....confused....well we were!
Free Wi-Fi in the rooms is a great plus but it is soooo slow that I considered getting out the old carrier pigeon.

The food In Fratello's was excellent but service was a bit of a joke, very slow and let's face it "It ain't rocket science "to get the right meal to the right table. Still most customers were highly amused by this chaos but not very professional.

We arrived at 9.30am for breakfast finishes at (10.00am) to be confronted by a hot buffet of very little but fairly dried up choices. 3 rashers of cold bacon, tepid beans, dried out hash browns...... you get my drift. Staff, although pleasant, gave the distinct impression that they had pressing engagements elsewhere and we felt very rushed.
The training point here is very simple: Chef and staff must be aware that the last customer deserves the same breakfast experience as the first. That is the skill of hospitality. For the record we were not the last customer.
On a personal note, we would have like to have seen more fresh fruit on offer.

They have a great building in a great location but it is all the small things, done well ,that make a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are terrible sorry that your stay was not all it should have been.

We pride ourselves on our high levels of customer service and satisfaction, at present the hotel does have a lot of new employees and we would like to thank you for your patience whilst they are training.

I will be having a word with all of the team involved in this to ensure it does not happen in the future and I really hope this has not deterred you and we would love to welcome you again to show you how we can make your stay perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've driven past this hotel many times but never stopped over preferring to get closer to Newcastle. However a visit to Darlington meant I could try it out.
From the outside it looks a bit dated but inside is completely different - a mix between modern hotel fit out and the 1930's Art Deco backdrop
It shouldn't but it does work well.
The rooms were just as good although they had lost some character - once inside you could be at any corporate hotel but perfectly suitable for the business traveller.
That said there were some minor faults like the TV not working & the clock not reset to summer time, a loud fan in the bathroom and a dirty sheet. Maybe more attention to detail is needed to get the 5 start rating

Room Tip: Maybe an inside room - mine faced the road but location wasn't an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to constantly provide excellent service and with that we are terrible sorry about the maintenance and housekeeping issues you encountered.

I have forwarded these issues onto the relevant departments and I really hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked in to this hotel to break our first journey from Southampton to the Scottish highlands.and also for the return journey . Very nice hotel spotlessly clean . Comfortable room.nice to have the use of the swimming pool sauna steam room and jacuzzi, to un wind after the journey.
The swimming pool area did look very tired and a bit grubby ,looked as though it needed re decorating .the showers and changing area were clean .
The restaurant on our outward journey was a bit of a let down. We were staying on a bed breakfast and dinner tariff. You can choose 3 courses from a special set menu or have a £20 allowance per head off the main menu. We chose the set menu . That evening it was very disappointing, ,a weird shoulder of lamb concoction that looked a bit
Like dog food , very dry and hardly anything with it ,I had to ask for gravey as there was only a smear on the plate! On the return it was a different story,the food was very good, so maybe just an off night . Probably would do this again .

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to constantly provide excellent service. I have passed on you comments regarding your meal and we are terrible sorry that this did not meet our normal high standards. I really hope that this has not deterred you from the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

would like to really put this review on here about my recent encounter with this hotel , tried to phone reception several times on the first night never had my call answered for 15 minutes, second day phoned for a general quiery about upgrading again no answer for 20 minutes? aren't there enough reception staff and arnt they supposed to be there for the guest queries? telephone and face to face!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the service received from our reception staff. Kindly be advised that your comments have been noted and will be shared with the staff involved in the processes of taking the appropriate actions to rectify this instance.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and my apologies for the shortcomings.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#4 of 8 in Richmond
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing