We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First rate refurbishment”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I always try and stay in Holiday Inn group hotels and although Scotch Corner was a fair distance from my ultimate destination, this hotel makes it worthwhile going slightly off route. As far as Holiday Inns go, this is excellent. The refurbishment has been carried out with great attention to detail whilst keeping the character of the original building.
My room was first rate. Great design, quality robust fittings and very clean. Complimentary water and chocolate is always appreciated and shows an added touch of consideration for regular Holiday Inn customers.
Staff are all very pleasant and attentive from reception to the bar and on-site Italian restaurant.
The restaurant offers a great selection of traditional Italian dishes.
There is free WIFI throughout the hotel although this can be a little slow but to be expected when you consider that virtually everybody I came across was either using a phone, laptop or tablet! Still, this is an added bonus as you often have to pay for WIFI in other establishments.
I did not use the leisure facilities on this stay.
All in all, highly recommended in all aspects.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is a delight to read such fantastic comments regarding the hotel, staff and service we provide!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    256
    78
    31
    26
See reviews for
120
283
24
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Used the hotel as stay over for Thirsk races - 30 minutes away - Very impressed with the make-over which gave it the feel of a Crowne Plaza for the price of a Holiday Inn. Also only hotel in the North Yorks area that had such good facilities - state of the art gym, pool sauna etc.
Only one gripe from the wife was the heating system - not normally necessary mid May which wouldn't blow out any warm air.
Shortly A1 will be upgraded to Motorway all the way up to Darlington and beyond - makes getting around in that part of the world even easier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great you hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And we welcome you here again

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic room which has obviously been recently renovated. Dinner and breakfast were great with a good selection. A special mention to the staff for their friendly service and also a HUGE thank you for returning my glasses to me so promptly after I stupidly left them in my room!! If I had one negative it would be the speed of the wifi. Hardly worked in my room and worked but was extremely slow in the bar area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - It is a delight to read such fantastic comments regarding the hotel, staff and service we provide! Thank you!

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stay in a lot of Holiday Inns, and this one suits me for work. It's had a recent re-vamp so looks good. The Italian restaurant has some super food, and the staff are always pretty attentive. The bar area is pleasant too, so if you're staying alone, you'll probably feel very comfortable eating in the bar, or just reading the newspapers they always provide.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a room in the old building - not the new one, where rooms are much sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akatthebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our restaurant.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
631 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

They've certainly spent some cash here! The hotel has been transformed into a very good hotel, close to the A1/A66.

Rooms are very good and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Despite the close location to the A1 the rooms are very quiet and very well priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were very impressed with the hotel.

We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel itself is in an odd place in that it is not in a town or village. It is just off the A1 though it is quite away from the main road. It is a building originally built in the 30s and looks rather austere from the outside, but has been completely modernised inside though retaining some very interesting art deco features. The corridors are wide and the rooms spacious with good modern bathrooms. It is a great setting off point to explore Durham, the Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors with easy access by car. Make sure that you register your car with the reception desk or you will get a parking ticket, which seems a bit weird. Staff were all pleasant and helpful and it was immaculately clean. We were there for a family party and the hotel ran everything very well. A slightly odd thing was that some of the disabled rooms were on the first floor and there is a lift so that is not a problem. There is a big sign however saying not to use the lift in case of fire, so I don't know if you are expected to wheel yourself downstairs in the wheelchair or what. I know they have some ground floor rooms with disabled facilities, so the first floor thing is just a bit weird. Overall a good place to stay and good value for money if you book in plenty of time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main road. It wasn't a problem because we used the air condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything ran smoothly for yourself and your party.

In regards to the accessible rooms being on the first and second floor we do have fire evacuation procedures which take into account the occupation of these rooms including fire evacuation chairs allocated on every floor near these rooms in case of a fire and all our staff members are fully trained in how to use them.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for family anniversary. Arrived Friday during a Prom (not an issue although very busy at reception), eat at Italian (fantastic food, prices ok). Function on Saturday was brilliant, food excellent, staff attentive and always ready to fill your glasses. No objection to some of us still being up at 3am! Breakfast great, plenty of food, and good choices. We were lucky to have an Executive Room, which was fantastic. I believe the hotel was renovated last year, they have done an excellent job, just a shame the website does it no justice. Access to internet only thing that lets them down - very intermittent.

Room Tip: We were above function suite when a Prom was on and facing the front of the hotel (ie the roundabout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

We take on board all the comments you made and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when your next visiting the area.

Kind Regards,
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
672 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
142 reviews
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing