We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday inn so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Best holiday inn so far”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay in a hotel once a week and in this chain often. Easy to say best Holiday Inn so far for me. Staff were friendly, efficient and always went the extra mile. Rooms were clean, large, plenty of plugs and light and everything worked.
The food I ate in the hotel was also the best I have had so far in a Holiday Inn. Staff attentive without the constant checking that can be found elsewhere. It was very busy but the duty manager was everywhere - keeping a close eye on things.
This hotel will be my first choice from now on for any business I do in this part of the country as it was also good value and well positioned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review on our hotel; it is a delight to read that your stay was enjoyable throughout. We are pleased that you would definitely stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    275
    88
    38
    28
See reviews for
130
302
27
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel , recently renovated reflecting its art deco heritage. Large rooms are extremely comfortable. location is ideal being at a Crossroads of major routes, but its well sound- proofed. Restauraunt is uninspiring , but the italian food is good and inexpensive. a great stop off if going north or south

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We Stayed here on the 30th November 2012 for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding nearby it was amazing. We had a great time the reception staff Donna and Steph were so friendly and helpful and always had a smile for everyone. The rooms were lovely and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The food was fantastic and the service was great. We would definitely stay here again and could not fault it in any way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review on our hotel; it is a delight to read that your stay was enjoyable throughout. We are pleased that you would definitely stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here to attend the Black Tie Dinner on NYE. Although the room was extremely hot when we arrived it didn't take long for the air con to get the temperature to a managable level. This was our only small gripe. The rest of the stay was a joy - we had a drink in the bar then were called into the main room being greeted by a Scottish Piper who set the scene for an excellent evening. My wife and I were keen not to be stuck on a table with a large party of people who all knew each other - I made this point to the receptionist when we made the booking and she assured us that the majority of people attending were in couples or parties of four and we would be sitting alongside them. The hotel was as good as its word as we were sat on the same table as a couple and a party of four. We soon got chatting to them and got on very well. This made for a really good atmosphere. Although there were over 100 people in the room and you did have to order your food at the time of the booking, the meal did not have the feel of being part of a mass catering exercise. The food was very good and the serving staff were well organised. The caberet singer was very good and he and the disco made for a great evening's entertainment. At midnight we had a glass of bubbly and the party went on well into the night. We later retreated into the bar for a nightcap and chatted with other guests. Everyone had the same view that the evening had been excellent. Breakfast was available until 13:00 on New Years Day to cater for those of us who needed a long lie in! We went down at 12:00 and there was still plenty of freshly cooked breakfast items available. The staff were a credit to the hotel - it was clear that they all enjoyed working there. A nice touch from the hotel management was they closed the bar briefly just before midnight so the bar staff could get a drink and join in the celebrations. The evening cost £200 which we felt was vey good value for money. The bar prices were reasonabe and had not been inflated as some places do on NYE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Super service and good location on the A1 island at Scotch Corner, the whole stay was excellentgood service very pleasant staff, nice Italian restaurant. The bar is very modern and comfortable. The only slight downside is the room was little small but very comfortable and quiet we had a great nights sleep.
I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19571964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed on New Year's Eve on a Dbb deal in an executive room. The room was spacious and attractive with a large well appointed bathroom. The public areas and the restaurant are also very stylish. We had dinner in Fratello's, which was a special 4 course menu for the occasion complete with a glass of wine. The food was superb and the service excellent. We were then invited to join the function in the ballroom for the remainder of the evening - a totally unexpected delight - and were given another glass of bubbly at midnight. Breakfast was very good and was available all morning on New Year's Day. The staff of the hotel were extremely helpful and responsive and are to be commended. Our only concern came from the fact that our room was situated close to the corridor entrance from the grand staircase and the floor at that point is tiled. We heard footsteps and luggage movement during the afternoon, but slept well so were not disturbed overnight. This certainly didn't detract from our stay and we're planning to return very soon

Room Tip: Executive room perhaps a little further away from the corridor entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have driven past this hotel many times both in its previous life and in its new guise as a Holiday Inn and have always judged the book by the cover, take my advice, don't! The renovation has been done to a high standard from the reception to the reception and the bedrooms. I was upgraded to an executive room and although it was a bit cold (the reception warned me before I accepted the upgrade), it was a very nice room. I was also pleased that the Wi Fi was free, which was unusual for a Holiday Inn. The staff were attentive and the breakfast was good as well. Very handy for the A1, but that does mean that there is not much else anywhere close. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
753 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing