We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed on New Year's Eve on a Dbb deal in an executive room. The room was spacious and attractive with a large well appointed bathroom. The public areas and the restaurant are also very stylish. We had dinner in Fratello's, which was a special 4 course menu for the occasion complete with a glass of wine. The food was superb and the service excellent. We were then invited to join the function in the ballroom for the remainder of the evening - a totally unexpected delight - and were given another glass of bubbly at midnight. Breakfast was very good and was available all morning on New Year's Day. The staff of the hotel were extremely helpful and responsive and are to be commended. Our only concern came from the fact that our room was situated close to the corridor entrance from the grand staircase and the floor at that point is tiled. We heard footsteps and luggage movement during the afternoon, but slept well so were not disturbed overnight. This certainly didn't detract from our stay and we're planning to return very soon

Room Tip: Executive room perhaps a little further away from the corridor entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    256
    78
    31
    26
See reviews for
120
283
24
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have driven past this hotel many times both in its previous life and in its new guise as a Holiday Inn and have always judged the book by the cover, take my advice, don't! The renovation has been done to a high standard from the reception to the reception and the bedrooms. I was upgraded to an executive room and although it was a bit cold (the reception warned me before I accepted the upgrade), it was a very nice room. I was also pleased that the Wi Fi was free, which was unusual for a Holiday Inn. The staff were attentive and the breakfast was good as well. Very handy for the A1, but that does mean that there is not much else anywhere close. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you were impressed by the hotel and you had an enjoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed and the newly renovated Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner in January 2013. We were able to walk in without a reservation and get an excellent room for £70. The dinner was good value as well as the breakfast.
The ambiance is incredible when one considers that the A1/A66 junction is just outside the hotel. The evening set us up nicely to ride the other Route 66!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KernowMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having never stayed at a Holiday Inn before I was expecting the hotel to be a basic no frills hotel along the lines of travel lodge, etc but I have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is stylish, modern and has everything you would find in a more upmarket hotel.
We stayed in an executive room and it was lovely; big, bright and comfy. We also got to see one of the standard rooms as we had family staying in one and their room seemed really nice too especially for the price they paid.
Some reviews on here slate the food but we ate in the hotel restaurant and found the food to be really tasty. The best part of the hotel has to be the bar which is really stylish and has a great selection of drinks.
The only down side is the location as there is NOTHING of interest on the immediate area.
If you are looking to do business in the area or meet up with family as we were I would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxurybackpacker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here on new years eve having passed by for years en route to visit family near Glasgow.This was a recent take over by the holiday Inn chain and they had refurbished the entire hotel to a very high standard( though we didn't have time to try the pool etc).
The modern finish was first class and we will be visiting again on our next trip northwards after this experience. There is free wi_fi here too which isn't always the case with holiday inn unless it's an express version. The only point to be aware of is the exit off the roundabout and entrance to the hotel car park whichwas under water when we arrived due to a recent heavy downpour.Make sure you aim for the entrance immediately after the traffic lights or you will be down the A66 and have to return to the huge roundabout and go all the way round once again.Oops

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halltours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed over 3 different weeks leading up to Christmas, the staff were fantastic as is the accomodation, food and gym facilities. Food menu was varied enough, even over 3 weeks, and bar prices are very competative!

Room Tip: Middle or top floor to the rear of the building, the ground floor feels less grand, and more traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a lovely hotel with first class service. We went as a family group (adult) to celebrate the new year together and had a fabulous evening, good food, entertainment and dancing. The rooms were very good and spotlessly clean and no problems with traffic noise, the staff were very friendly and very helpful. Every consideration was made for guests at this event including brunch for guests which was served fro 8am -1pm, wonderful after partying until the early hours. The location was great as we travelled in from South and North and it was easily accessible.
We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica_A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.8 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
672 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
142 reviews
11.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing