We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for one night [Saturday] and upgraded to Exec. Room. Very nice, clean comfortable room. Hotel was very 'swish' and contemporary. Staff were very nice. Slight issue with bathroom being cold as there is no underfloor or towel heater. Had to turn up the heating and leave the door open to warm up the room. Which worked ok.
Ate in the bar thanks to the Trip Advisor recommendations - food was very nice.
Very noisy as there was a celebration going on and we were directly above the ballroom!! At 12:33am Reception staff informed me that the celebration was to end at 1am. At 1:10am I went to reception to ask how long it was going to last and was told 'about another 10-15 mins [1:15am]. The music finally went off at 1:45am. Not that I am a miserable person but it would have been better to tell me the real end time rather than 1pm and then 1:15.
So next morning a very nice breakfast. Come check out time - the duty manager [sorry can't remember the lady's name] acted with utmost professionalism and removed all charges for food and the upgrade costs. Well Done - we will stop with you again

Room Tip: Try not to get a room above the Ballroom if there is to be a celebration.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p3x701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Many thanks for leaving feedback from your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations, your comments are very important to us. I’d like to apologise for the disturbance to your stay and the lack of communication regarding the finishing time of the function. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 811 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Before Holiday Inn took over this hotel it was something to avoid. I was so impressed with my stay here. The room was modern and spacious, staff really friendly, and my meal at the little Italian bistro there was the kind of standard you'd expect in fancy and pricey London places. If you are on your way to Scotland from the south, for instance, I can recommend this hotel without a scrap of hesitation - you won't be sorry. When you are tired and weary after a long drive you won't have to go searching for it too - its right there on the A1/A66 Scotch Corner roundabout - can't miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Holiday Inn Darlington. It’s great to here you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed last night in holiday inn scotch corner as it was half way on trip to scotland.Check in easy with very pleasant young lady.Room very modern with free internet and spotlessly clean.We ate in the bar food was very nice and bar staff very obliging.Breakfast was very good with great staff and good choice of food.We don't normally break the journey with an overnight stay but would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback - I am pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had enough points for a free night away & were we glad we picked this hotel. From the greeting by the friendly counter staff we were put at ease, we were given room 108.The hotel had had a £3 million refurb & was done out to a very high standard.I brought the wrong lead for my lap top & the duty manager put himself out to find one for me to use . we used the leisure club again smily helpful staff. We had a great meal at the on site resturant where the staff were friendly and very helpful, the breakfast crew in the morning were great and got us fresh eggs to have with our very well cooked and tasty meal. checkout was simple and speedy. The only downside was that we had only booked one night as every thing was perfect.

Room Tip: 108 was looking out over the car wash across the road. It was big enough with a decent bathroom
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. All the staff are very proud of the newly refurbished hotel and take pride in providing excellent customer service to all our guests.

Kind Regards

Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked this Hotel as an emergency booking as we were let down by a previous booking elsewhere. Being wheelchair dependent disabled there are not many Hotels,B&B's or other accommodation around this area,which is a necessity as our Son &* his Family are based @ Catterick Garrison.On arrival on Friday afternoon for a 3 night stay,we checked in and went to our room. The lift was spacious and easily accommodated my wife and I + Wheelchair. The carpets are a bit difficult to self-propel on but we got there in the end. Our room was clean,warm and spacious, The Toilet/ Shower Room was excellent being roomy and with easy access to all the facilities. The handles were placed at the right heights and distances all in all after some of the so called disabled friendly places I have stayed in this Rates 10/10.The Bed was very comfortable and was amazingly at the right hieght for wheelchair transfers. The TV brilliantly placed for the two occupants to watch from their respective beds. It is clean warm and very well appointed room, with a complimentary mini-bar stock with individual mini Kit-Kats, Orange Juice + Still & Sparkling Strathmore Mineral Water, this was replenished each day free of charge. I will have no hesitation in re-booking this Hotel in the New Year for our next Family Visit. The Accommodation was a little more than I wanted to spend especially as I could have got a B&B with disabled facilities for a lot less,but that would have involved a 45 minute car journey each way. This was far nearer to our Family and in my opinion the right choice even without breakfast.

The only negative side is that ALL the Disabled Friendly Rooms are on the Top Floor,which then cause;s the problem that if there is a Fire, Wheelchair User's cannot Escape the Building as We cannot use the lifts :-(

Room Tip: If you our any of your Family are Disabled? Then this is the place to stay. The Facilities are super...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review on our hotel; it is a delight to read that your stay was perfect for your needs!

In regards to the accessible rooms being on the first and second floor we do have fire evacuation procedures which take into account the occupation of these rooms including fire evacuation chairs allocated on every floor near these rooms in case of a fire and all our staff members are fully trained in how to use them.

We are pleased that you would definitely stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Ì stayed here aat the beginning of a car rally event. They catered for over 40 people and all of us were amazed by the high quality of the food and efficient service. I had sea bass and it was as good as I would expect at a Michelin-starred restuarant.
Would be ideal for a corporate event.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Darlington. We really do take pride in making our guests experience as positive and enjoyable as possible.

And we welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here in both exec and standard rooms, both excellent. In house restaurant was good value and had an interesting, italian themed menu. Public areas are comfortable and recently refurbished. Quiet rooms with no traffic noise. Loads of parking. Helpful, friendly team. I look forward to having the opportunity to stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank virago535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

The staff and myself here at Holiday Inn Darlington are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to leave us such great feedback. We really do take pride in making our guests experience as positive and enjoyable as possible. And we welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards
Keith Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotch Corner
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner A1 Southbound
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
Travelodge Scotch Corner Skeeby
#2 of 3 in Scotch Corner
139 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
170 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner

Address: Junction A1 / A66 Richmond Scotch Corner | near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR, England (Formerly Scotch Corner Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scotch Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scotch Corner
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Darlington-A1 Scotch Corner is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller. This landmark hotel is on the junction of the A1 and the A66 near Darlington, and close to the towns of Catterick and Stockton-on-Tees with Middlesbrough just a short drive away. Whether you are visiting the area for a business or leisure stay or simply breaking your journey you can be assured a great stay. You will be staying on the doorstep to the breathtaking Yorkshire Dales and the delightful medieval market town of Richmond. If you are staying a little longer you won't be disappointed. The hotel has 91 bedrooms, an Italian Restaurant and leisure facilities adjacent to the hotel for guests which include a pool and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington a1 Scotch Corner Hotel Scotch Corner
Scotch Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel Scotch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing