We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant b&b at the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at the North Cliff for the second time,the room and en suite were very clean.Breakfast was excellant there was fresh fruit ,cereal, full English ,and eggs benedict which my wife had she said they were brilliant.We found the off road parking an extra bonus sa we used the North Cliff as a base for doing some of the many local walks Racael & Callum gave us some good advise on the routes in the area.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definately return

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2008

Even though the room we stayed in was nicely furnished and clean I wouldn't return here as it wasn't particularly welcoming and this made us feel uncomfortable. We arrived late in the afternoon after a busy day, and as we had been camping we were really keen to relax and have a shower, but the owner was out, so we had to wait for about one and a half hours before we could actually get in. When the owner returned she didn't even refer to the fact that we had been waiting. In other small B&Bs we have stayed in the owners have asked for our ETA, so this was the first time we have had this problem. My husband tried to engage the owner in conversation about good local restaurants, but the phone rang and he never got a response. We were also told before we booked that the room had a sea view - we weren't particularly bothered whether it did or not - but thought it was quite funny when we saw what the 'sea view' was (see attached picture) the only other window was a skylight, so this was the view! The breakfast was okay, but the dining room had a lot of flies in that kept landing on the food - I know it was summer, but this was still a bit grim.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamTraveldoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcliff73, owner at Northcliff Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

We think that this review is a little unfair as we do make an effort to make all our guests feel welcome. The room these guest were in is not our sea view room. However there is a partial view of the sea through a port hole. This has not been shown on the photograph pictured on the review . We always try to gain an arrival time from our guests and make every effort to be here when they arrive. We are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay at Northcliff and wish that we had been given the oppuntunity at the time to rectify their complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Nice little b&b (stopped only in hotels for a long while but this was a really nice change) wonderfull breakfast ,full english ,cereal,fruit,yoghurt and home made jams.Rachel&Callum very nice.Its at the top end of the village and yes a little walk to the bottom off village.But the bonus is its within 100yds of the Grovsner with good food and live music sometimes ,and lovely staff.A really pleasant change from abroad.And the locals are wonderfull.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Northcliff was very easy to find, clean and cheerful. We had the blue
double room, which had an en suite shower and toilet. We overlooked the quiet street outside, the bed was large and comfortable, there was a TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

The only issue we had was the B&B was not very well insulated, we could hear the proprietors in their sitting room throughout the evening and the next door room could hear us and we could hear them. We still slept pretty well, though.

The breakfast was very nice, cereal, juice, full English and toast as well as tea and coffee.

Robin Hood's Bay is a lovely area and Northcliff was a nice place from which to enjoy this fantastic area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#19 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#14 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rounton House
Rounton House
#18 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcliff Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Bed & Breakfast

Address: Northcliffe Mount Pleasant North | Robin Hood's Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range: $87 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Northcliff Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing