We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect....”
Review of Fern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have never reviewed anything before but just had to review Sue's home in Robin Hood's Bay. It is without doubt the most perfect place to stay. Sue's friendly welcome, the clean bright and airy room, the comfy bed, the powerful shower....and the balcony, which has a view to die for, make this the most perfect place. The food and atmosphere at The Smugglers, down by the slipway, were fabulous. Eat in at Mr Chips (Sarah's) in Whitby for lovely fish and chips and the most amazing Cheesecake! Ask Sue about the walk along the costal path to Coast. A fab cafe with sofas outside and again the tastiest cakes ever. Then walk back along the cinder track to Fern Lodge and sit on the balcony with a glass of wine! Thank you Sue xx PS Breakfast...........YUMMY

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome during our stay at Fern Lodge. Despite the awful weather, the room was very cosy and nicely decorated. Comfy bed and it was lovely to be able to sit out in the balcony and take in the views of the bay. An excellent choice of food for breakfast, with fruit cereal and yoghurt as well as the traditional full English breakfast. Will definitely be visiting again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Fern Lodge is in an easy to find location and in perfect walking distance of all shops and restaurants. Fern Lodge is spotlessly clean, so comfortable and like a home from home! A very warm welcome was received from Sue on our arrival. The private parking space was so helpful. The room was light and airy with amazing views across and right down into the Bay. The king size bed was so comfy, we haven't slept that well in a long time. The power shower was amazing and we literally can't fault a thing. Breakfast was brilliant and we got to choose what we wanted the night before. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and a great selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals were available. The cooked breakfast was very yummy :) Sue really is an amazing lady who works so hard, nothing is ever too much and she made us feel so welcome. And lovely Son and Daughter too who we met briefly :) we highly recommend staying at Fern Lodge B&B, we can't wait to come back!! See you soon Sue xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our first trip to Fern Lodge in the large En Suite Room with king size bed and balcony with views to the bay. Great spacious room - slippers with towels was a nice touch! lovely power shower and private balcony with fantastic views to the bay. Very short walk to the beach and amenities and a warm welcome from Sue - will definately be back and will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 402JennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

WOW! Our First time stay at Fern Lodge B&B (It defiantly won’t be our last)! A very warm welcome was received from Sue on our arrival. She showed us to our Large En Suite Room (balcony and king size bed) with stunning sea views over Robin Hood’s Bay. We had a relaxing night’s sleep and woke up to a wonderful cooked breakfast (also option of cereals, yoghurts etc), served in the Conservatory overlooking the nice garden. There was another couple at breakfast that were staying in the Self Contained Apartment, also with fab views. It was so quiet during our stay we didn’t realise anyone else was staying until brekky. Excellent location! Excellent views! Five Star service! Thank you and see u soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripper1967186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed at Fern Lodge three times now and love it! The flat is modern, clean & peaceful and Sue makes us feel welcome and ensures we have everything we need. The beach is only a short walk away and the village offers lots of lovely walks, shops, bars & restaurants. The view from the sun room is fabulous! I would highly recommend this self catering studio flat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Fern Lodge Studio for two nights in Feb. The studio is absolutely lovely and perfect for relaxing in. It has a great little conservatory which was nice to sit and have a cuppa in while the sun was out. Neutral decor and immaculately clean. The studio has facilities for basic self catering including microwave, kettle and toaster. Nice views from the windows.

The owner Sue kindly made us breakfast each morning. We had a great fruit salad with yoghurts and a yummy cooked breakfast each. Sue is extremely helpful and kind (and generous with her biscuits!)

Will definitely stay again! Thanks Sue!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tealily29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Boggle Hole
YHA Boggle Hole
#1 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
Middlewood Farm Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Fylingthorpe
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lodge

Address: Fern Lodge Laburnum Avenue, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fern Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Lodge Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing