We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Restaurant”
Review of Smugglers

Smugglers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Smugglers Bistro and Bar is a candle-lit Bistro and bar. Situated just meters from the dock the smuggling history of the bay is brought to life in our wonderfully romantic restaurant. Specialising in fresh seafood and locally sourced meats we offer a range of dishes. Our cosy Bistro and wine bar offers a range on Gins and fine wines in an adult only area.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely romantic candle lit setting, staff made you very welcome. Food was very good had the Mussels in Garlic and Cream sauce to start with and a good chunk of bread .For mains i had the Cajun Salmon on a bed of salad with Sweet Chilli sauce and i had new potatoes my husband had the Rib Eye steak with Diane sauce with sides of chunky chips and dressed salad. Had the Vanilla nuts and honey sundae for dessert. Great menu because you can pick your side orders to go with your mains. Will return when in the area, Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    85
    32
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bury manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“very nice meal and romantic place”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

lovely meal nice staff if a little cosy would go again. Robin hoods bay is on our favourites list and we will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank michellecardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely lovely evening!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great food. Fish so fresh you could taste the sea!! And the mussels were HUGE!!!
Great service. Lovely hostess. Good drinks at reasonable price. Enjoyed every minute of our evening there. We got in because of a late cancellation. So book ahead to be sure to get a table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a dinner at Smugglers and found the atmosphere of the restaurant very nice and the food, that was just great. One of the best meals we had during the 10 day visit to England. Just a very, very good restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary Delight”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife had Linguini, Prawns, Mussels,Salmon plus Cod. I had strips of chicken, fries and a garlic butter sauce, we both thoroughly enjoyed our meal and at no time was there any sense of being rushed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dafox2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hoods Bay
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing