We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Smugglers

Smugglers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Smugglers Bistro and Bar is a candle-lit Bistro and bar. Situated just meters from the dock the smuggling history of the bay is brought to life in our wonderfully romantic restaurant. Specialising in fresh seafood and locally sourced meats we offer a range of dishes. Our cosy Bistro and wine bar offers a range on Gins and fine wines in an adult only area.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a lovely meal while on a weekend away with a friend. We both had salmon; mine with a sweet chilli flavouring and couldn't find any criticism at all! Would recommend highly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    85
    32
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and service slightly let down by the food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really nice atmosphere and friendly helpful service, but food a bit mediocre to be honest. They say they specialise in seafood, but we had 2 fish dishes which were both overcooked and not that well treated. The chips were a bit soggy too. There was a decent amount of choice though and the staff were very pleasant and enthusiastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but terrible steak”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for 4 people early afternoon for the Sat evening. This place really gets booked up quick! The restaurant has a really nice feel about it. It's tiny & quirky. I'm not a big lover of seafood personally so I opted for a steak (sirloin if I remember rightly). I was rather dissapointed, it was extremely undercooked. Tough as old boots & mainly fat. Looking back i wish i'd complained as it was rather pricey. I cannot however fault anything else we ate that evening, it was lovely especially the lemon sponge desert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex_luvbug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent fish !”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were visiting Robin Hoods Bay on a Saturday eve so rang on a Wednesday and just managed to book a table on the For the Saturday.
It's not that large inside but is exactly as you would imagine a small fish (speciality) restaurant to look like in a small English fishing cove famous for smuggling in the 17th century. Even the bottles on the bar have inches of solid candle wax drips gluing them to the bar as they haven't been moved in years. It's quite dark inside, but this adds to the ambience . I personally felt it could have been a little warmer inside, and sat with my jacket on for quite some time. I ordered smoked make real pâté , which I enjoyed followed by Cajun salmon and Gallic mashed potato. It's was so enjoyable I can remember the taste now ! ( a week later).
My wife had Ardennes pâté which she said was "just ok" - followed by fish pie and crevettes on the side. She enjoyed the pie and the crevettes were lovely . I think of such a venue in such a popular tourist location , draught beer / lager should be available .
If you order a coffee at the end of your meal - check the price first! We ordered one, and the bill appeared to show £3 fora single coffee !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevep3919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Meal”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited Smugglers for a second year and was equally impressed, very welcoming staff and the cosiest of places. Starters were served and were beautiful, the fresh crevett prawns were to die for. Just enough time was allowed before the mains were served.Sirloin steak and pork fillet were cooked to perfection. Another visited planned for next year. Highly recommended, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah2965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hoods Bay
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing