We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little honey of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ingleby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ingleby House
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“little honey of a place”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Plan A
camping at hook farm and have a mooch round robin hoods bay.
best laid plans and all that ,it decided to batter it down with rain!
implement plan B
more by luck than judgement managed to get a room at this place
very clean,warm and the guy in charge ( nice bloke terry) was very amenable
cosy and quite romantic

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

wonderful experience; couldnt have asked for more. everything at hand. lovely owner, made us feel very much at home. love Robin Hoods Bay, love Ingleby House. we had everything we needed; hot drinks, lovely bathroom, tv, cosy and warm bed, very very clean and bright. S x

Room Tip: pine room is only small, other rooms much better, but if you are on a budget this is a perfect resid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at ingleby house in the pine room for 2 nights in February. A fab location in the old town but we were disappointed with the accomodation. Some poetic licence being used in the marketing. Not the romantic, idyllic interior we were led to believe. Rather tired really. Also the room was cold most of the time. On arrival it was nice and warm but thereafter we had to keep asking for the heating to be put on. Owner told us the boiler was playing up but funnily enough whenever we asked for it to be put on, the heating came through quickly. Maybe we are just sceptics...the bathroom was alright but, again, tired. Lovely hot water but came out in a trickle. I think the best feature of this accommodation is the location. For that, I would stay again. But only if there was nowhere else available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've stayed in the Annex three times since June 2010 and are going back for our fourth visit at Easter. The bedroom is great with fantastic views out across the bay and the large picture window with desk is perfect for eating breakfast at. The bed is built into the corner under the sloping roof making it very cosy. The bedroom is accessed via a spiral staircase which adds to the charm.

The living room has a large comfortable sofa great for relaxing with a book and there is a TV with DVD and VHS player (Terry keeps loads of old videos in the communal staircase for those who have long since disposed of their collections!). There is also a stereo to play music and a dining table in the corner by a window facing the bay. There is also free wireless which is very helpful as there is very little mobile signal once you get to the bottom of the hill!

The kitchen area is very small but features everything you would need for a weekend and the village has plenty of restaurants for such a small place. Our favourite is Smugglers, the Bay Hotel has nice food too and there is a very popular chippy just round the corner.

The Annex has its own side entrance so you can come and go as you please and it never feels like you're staying in a hotel. The side entrance leads onto a terrace

The price is very reasonable compared to others in the area and gets lower per night the more nights you book. The village is really well-placed placed for Whitby and Sandsend and you can do the cliff walk to the former or to Boggle Hole in the opposite direction.

If you want a break away on the coast Ingleby House is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ciaran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Managed to stay in the pine room for one night over the Victorian weekend. The other rooms look fab from the brochure too. The room was lovely and there were a lot of thoughtful touches. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pykelet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The two of us stayed in the Annex for 4 nights in mid November. The Annex has lovely views out over the sea and coastline from both living area and bedroom. Really nice to be so close to the sea and in the old lower bay area with it's quaint little alleyways and houses. The car park at the top of the bank is free in the winter, so after unloading our stuff it stayed there for 4 days. The living area is cosy, it was nice to sit and eat our meals looking out over the sea and there is a door from here out onto a paved area looking out over the sea wall and leading to the lane, so you can get in and out this way, ideal for leaving muddy boots outside. The coal fire is great and we spent a cosy night in, there is no extra charge for the fuel. The bathroom is very warm and there is plenty of hot water, Terry had the heating on twice a day, so it is nice and cosy. The décor is a bit tired and some of the equipment a bit dated and worn, so a bit of an upgrade would make this an absolutely perfect spot. The bed is a cabin style built in bed, so one does have to climb over the other to get in and out. Stairs to the Annex and up to the bedroom of the Annex are very steep and narrow, along with the built in bed, this may be difficult for those with any type of limited mobility. We enjoyed our stay and will happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the annex apartment which has unsurpassed sea views. Terry the owner is a pleasant fella who just leaves you to it but always available if you should need him for anything. The apartment is well equipped and feels very homely. We love the coal fire which was easy enough to get lit. We enjoyed eating our breakfast sitting at the table overlooking the sea. Can't fault this place, it is a fantastic little bolt hole and can't wait to come back. Parking permit can be purchased from Terry which was handy to park at the bottom of the village.
We had an amazing meal at Smugglers - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiarocks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
6 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Birtley House
Birtley House
#7 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleby House

Property: Ingleby House
Address: Ingleby House King Street, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Robin Hoods Bay
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleby House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ingleby House Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing