We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"So Friendly ~ fantastic location"”
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
darlington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"So Friendly ~ fantastic location"”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Folk Festival weekend ~ fantastic location ~ sitting listening to the music with the sea in the background ~ wonderful. Later in the evening moving inside to the Bar ~ where you see views of Ravenscar ~ very cosy area. The staff were so friendly ~ indeed the Owner is such a character ~ joining in with everyone ~ never a dull moment. You are a Star - never change!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room was spotless, very warm and cosy and was equipt with everything we needed for a short stay. The best location for B&B in the bay.The view was wonderful and the sound of the angry sea lapping up to the hotel at night was very atmospheric. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Nothing posh or fancy just good Yorkshire hospitality. Excellent value for money. The full english was hearty and plentiful. We could hear the noise from the pub downstairs but this all went quiet after food stopped being served at about 9 or 9.30pm. Loved it so much we will be staying again but only in the winter months or out of the main season as the bay is too busy for me in the peak season.

Room Tip: Don't be put of by the room that is not ensuite, stunning view from the bedroom. Good value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really like the Bay, it's a great pub. The fire was roaring on our most recent visit and great banter around the room.
Didn't have anything to eat on this occaision, but have had some great food in the past - pie & chips sort of thing, nothing fancy, but well cooked & tasty.
Have to agree with the last reviewer, the smell of old, dirty fryers is a little too strong and the decor could do with a facelift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went for just a quick autumn trip to Bay, which we love. The Bay Hotel is a genuinely friendly pub in a location where so many landlords are just content to pocket the shekels and damn the consequences. But although the rooms are small, and do smell quite strongly of chip fat, the staff really do make an effort even if it's not apparent to them that you are staying there. The breakfast the following morning was BIG and FRIED, generous to a fault even if the ingredients were hardly "boutique". There was a lovely friendly atmosphere in the bar - which of course we could hear after we went to bed (clue - it's a pub!) And waking up to the sound of the sea literally 10 yards away was worth the modest price for the room. We kept the window open to allow us to hear the sea - and it kept the chip fat smell under manners too. This is an old building with small and modestly-appointed rooms, but for a short stay, enthusiasm and realistic expectations will repay your anticipation well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudyrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A last minute decision to visit Robin Hood Bay. Our last visit was 40years ago. I could not believe my luck to find a vacant room on a Sunday night right on the edge of the shore. The view from the bedroom was right down the beach and the view from our private bathroom(not en-suit) was even better! The evening menu was limited, so we settled for the haddock and chips...the best I've ever had. A good friendly bar with the result that I drank more than I should have done. A memorable break.

Room Tip: Book before you go. I was lucky...it's a hell of a walk back up the hill to get your luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goathland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went in for a meal with the family, was very nice food, but the tables could have been cleaned! It was however very busy so maybe this is understandable. It's a great place to go and theres some great views of the bay from the bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luk3taylor95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkhire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great! Room was fine and very clean. The view was just amazing. Everyone working there was very pleasant and accommodating and breakfast was great. I'd recommend it.

We didn't eat here but the food looked fine. It gets busy but is very much the kind of place where you all squash in, wet coats, kids, dogs, the lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
799 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
10 reviews
2.6 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: The Dock | Near Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing