We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay in robin hoods bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent stay in robin hoods bay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

just returned from a lovely break .we could not fault anything lovely staff clean rooms with a 42" tv .nothing seemed too much trouble.Excellent home cooked food and great service this is our 3rd visit .next time we visit it will be for a monday to friday offer excellent value.Fabulous home made brownies i hope there on my next visit

Room Tip: room 2 four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline222_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    22
    4
    9
See reviews for
34
99
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is fab I would recommend it, its not far from the beach, the people were very friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the bed was very comfy. The food from the pub was great and well worth what you pay. Me and my family fully enjoyed our stay - Big thumbs up!! (Where going again this year - just booked).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Such a brilliant stay at the Grosvenor. The bar meals we would highly recommend as they are lovely homely and excellent value for money. Rooms appear to have just been refurbished to a high standard, bed was very comfy and too the bath perfect for a long soak after a busy day. The staff are so friendly and very informative, breakfast was just what we needed and very nice too. Cannot wait to visit again!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Although we have stayed in Robin Hoods Bay many times this was the first time at The Grosvenor we decided to try the 4 night special offer so didn't know what to expect. We were really surprised we had a lovely room with a 4 poster bed and settee and a nice bathroom . the breakfasts were the best we have had in any B and B and the bar meals in the evening were enormous in fact one evening we had one between us and were still full. We were made to feel very welcome and all staff were very friendly. We shall certainly be returning

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGarf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been prompted to write this review after reading the previous review by Jason.

Like Jason, a room is just somewhere to sleep, so it doesn't take much to keep me happy. We actually stayed in the same room as Jason, but this was last August. The mirror was broken then, therefore to dry my hair I had to prop the mirror on the bed. I cannot believe that 4 months after my visit this hasn't been replaced. Also the shower was next to useless and obviously was not working properly, it was so bad I went to our usual campsite one night as I wanted a proper shower. The dribble of water coming from the shower head was so weak that if you turned the shower head upside down no water came out at all. There were no towels in the room on the first day.In addition the shelf that is bolted to the desk to hold the kettle was not screwed on properly. Electric kettle on a wonky shelf isn't very safe! As this hasn't been mentioned in Jason's review I presume it has been fixed.

To be fair, I didn't see any pet hairs and the TV was okay. There are the cons. A few really small things that spoiled our stay and are mostly so easy to fix.

Like Jason everything else I loved here. The breakfasts are good, setting us up for our long coastal walks that we come here for. We ate in the bar on the third night and it was some the nicest food I have eaten in the bay. There was some kind of Jazz band playing on the Tuesday, on the Wednesday, we ate in and watched a local singer/band who was really good, there was a very casual and relaxed atmosphere where some of the locals also got up and sang. We had a great evening, got very pleasantly sloshed and talked about how much we want to move to fylingthorpe (our annual lets move here conversation). The locals who use the bar are so friendly as are the staff. Slept like a log every night.

So after years of camping on middlewood farm, I think we might have now officially converted to a hotel when we come here. But please replace that mirror and if the shower can't be put right then don't advertise the room as having a shower, its that bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a properly working shower and a useable mirror!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited Robin Hoods Bay for many many years. Like the Grosvenor as it is the 1st pub from the camp site and the last pub before the climb back upto the camp site!! Like the refurb. Always friendly. Visited this year on New Years Day Eve to watch a local band. Very good, friendly locals - had lots of fun. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed in Robin Hoods Bay on any number of occasions and our decision to stay at The Grosvener was made purely by circumstance.
While there is nothing wrong with the place ( which is a pub with rooms ) We were shocked when shown to what they pass off as a "double" bedroom. It was absolutely tiny!
One of us had to get onto the bed for the other to get past and the shower room was about the size of what you might expect on a Northsea Ferry.
The breakfast was pleasant, but our stay was tainted by being charged for a double room that would barely pass for a single.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeyboy1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
10 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,995 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing