We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, cozy and well equipped...”
other travelers have booked this property
Holmedale from the hillside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmedale from the hillside
Bedroom 2 The outside kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Holmedale from the hillside
Bedroom 2
The outside kitchen
Woodburning stove  in the living room
The other side of the front door
Master bedroom
The Bolts snickelway
Exterior
Bedroom 2
Patio in the sun
The bunks - full singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chas P
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location, cozy and well equipped holiday cottage”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Holmedale, two of us have visited the bay many times over the years and this time brought some of our family with us. All for of us enjoyed this nice, cozy and peaceful little cottage.

Looking back at some of the previous reviews I feel a little redressing of the balance is needed. We read all the reviews before going and thought we'd see for ourselves and we were not disappointed.

It is small in places, especially for those over 6ft (as are 2 in our party) But this is to be expected when you visit old places and provided you keep your wits about you are there is no real issue.

It is tastefully decorated, very clean and has lots of character. The wood burner is great, although we didn't use it too much as we had brilliant weather for the time of year and the central heating heats up very quickly.

The beds are very comfy, slept like a log! The bedding was spotless. I was so impressed with the comfort of the mattress that I was going to check the make, but I forgot!

We didn't notice any marks on the paint or cracks in the walls, there was evidence of some repair but it was all fine.

There is a large, varied collection of books to read (we read quite a few) and whilst they may not be 'hot off the press' they are no worse than what you may find in a charity shop.
The games are neatly stored in a footstool and despite a thorough search we didn't find any 'tat'. The cottage is not cluttered.

Another bonus is that the owner of the property provides a quality wifi connection at no extra charge. There is wifi in the bay, but you have to pay to use it.

The outside space compliments the cottage nicely, and on a few mornings we had our breakfast out there.(Yes, even in November!) The fence is securely cemented into the patio, so unless you physically jump over it there, is no danger.

On the patio there is a vine that runs the length of the fence separating you from next door, there were even some grapes left on it. (Not a bramble)

We got to know the neighbours (A lovely couple with a young baby) quite well, as initially we couldn't find the bins. The lady next door showed us where to put the rubbish, and is evidently a resident of the bay as she told us she has lived there for many years. They are very friendly and helpful. They did play music occasionally, but it was at an acceptable level. They baby did cry on occasion, but that's what babies do.

The kitchen is very well equipped given the size, with quality goods throughout. The little breakfast bar area in the house has a second kettle, toaster, a microwave and even a mini fridge so on a morning if the weather is poor you can easily fix breakfast without having to go across to the main kitchen, which is on a couple of feet away anyway.

The cottage is perfectly located and should you have forgotten anything the little shop around the corner probably has it and the people that run it are helpful and friendly.

In summary, the cottage really enhanced our stay in the bay, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to go home...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot C
2 reviews
“Classic Seaside Holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a perfect place for a classic seaside holiday with small kids, which is exactly what I was looking for. If you are wanting a holiday when you spend all your time cooking exquisite gourmet meals, this is probably not the right place for you. The kitchen annexe is a bit quirky, but it is clear in the property details, Anyway, one expects, indeed hopes for character when renting an old house in the heart of an ancient fishing village perched in a steep seaside valley.
It was well-equipped, supremely comfortable beds, lovely comfy duvets and pillows and extremely clean. There is a steep drop from the patio but it is well-fenced. I pulled the chairs well away from the fence so that children not tempted to climb on them. Shop so close I could send a small child to learn independance and buy a pint of milk, RHB itself well-served with cafes, pubs and fish and chips, what more could we ask? The beach is brilliant, the sand tide-washed twice daily and lots of rock-pooling to be done. We had a wonderful holiday, so don't be put off by negative reviews!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to beach and village facilities
Liked least: Kitchen a little bit cramped for eating in, but no big deal.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott s
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very homely and cosy cottage. Beds are very comfy. A quirky layout with the kitchen over the path but it's so quiet and no one walks past so it's not an issue. Needs some TLC in a few areas but it is an old cottage and adds to the charm. The real fire is fantastic. The shop is open until about six and sells everything you need. The Laurel is a good pub and the Flyingdales serves good food as does the Grovesnor hotel. Remember to the cash as there's no cash machine in the bay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryVance...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect week in a smashing little cottage.”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Holmedale at the end of May with my family and feel, after reading the latest review, that I need to redress the balance some what.

First of all please let me point out that Robin Hoods Bay is a working village, people do live there and the least we can do as visitors, is be respectful.

Yes, the neighbours do have a young baby and a dog, so what, they LIVE there, they can do whatever they please. We certainly didn't experience any of the apparent noise or rudeness suggested, in fact we have only ever felt welcomed by the permanent residents of Bay.

Now on to the cottage itself, we have stayed in many cottages in Bay over the years and this is certainly one of our favourites, put it this way, within a couple of weeks of returning home, we'd rebooked for next year. It is NOT grubby, or badly decorated, it's just OLD (as one might expect in a 400+ year old fishing village), I do wonder sometimes what people expect when they stay in Bay!

The beds are lovely and comfy (and clean), the patio is great for morning coffee or a cheeky afternoon cider and having any outdoor space in Bay is a bonus. The bathroom is clean and spacious and the broadband is pretty speedy for Robin Hoods Bay, a great bonus if, like me, you have teenagers who can't possibly be away from technology for more than a day.

Julian, the owner is super friendly and helpful and is constantly trying to do things to improve his wonderful little cottage, but in all honesty I think it's lovely just the way it is.

If you're looking for 5* luxury or seclusion, then maybe Robin Hoods Bay isn't the place for you, but if you're looking for a genuine, cosy fisherman's cottage then you can't go far wrong with Holmedale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the patio area on a sunny afternoon.
Liked least: It rained one morning (very happy with the cottage, didn't dislike anything)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50andfabu...
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, some good points but.....”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the cottage. We went as a couple and were met by 2 friends part way through the week. We also has our cocker spaniel with us as this cottage is one of the very few in the bay to accept dogs. We booked direct with Julian ( the owner) on www.holmedalecottage.co.uk

The cottage does have some outside space in the way of a south facing patio. However it is not huge as suggested on the owners website. It is just big enough for a small table and 4 chairs. It is quite untidy with cracked paving and lots of weeds but it is usable. The patio is directly opposite the cottage with a access way to the row of cottages between. All the other patios seemed to be gated off but this was not, so it was difficult to contain our dog if we were on the patio. The patio overlooks the Fisherhead car park and common land opposite. There is a 20ft drop over the fence on the patio. As the fence is less than waist high this might be an issue if you have small children.

There is a fence between you and next door with a pretty grape vine. However this does not afford much privacy. The neighbours are a couple in their late thirties with a small baby and a very territorial staffie that live in the cottage on a permanent basis. They also have the kitchen in an outhouse on their patio. It did not make for a peaceful setup. Lots of comings and goings back and forth, a very snarly dog trying to get through the fence, a small child left outside in its pram crying, and the LOUD music played from the kitchen. We had brought lots of food and drink, planning to cook, read and generally enjoy the good weather sitting on the patio. We did long walks each day but when we returned to the cottage found that very soon loud music would be playing from next door. On some occasions it lasted half an hour but on others went on for hours. We were unable to hear each other speak. The cottage gets sun until 7pmish on the patio so it was lovely on the one occasion we were alone to enjoy this. On most evenings we ended up retiring to the pub or to the common ground opposite with a bottle of wine and a rug to escape the noise. It was my partners 50th birthday whilst away and a BBQ was planned and friends invited ,but 2 hours before there was earsplitting music playing again as we returned to the cottage with supplies. My partner politely had a word and requested it to be turned down in time for the BBQ. Luckily when we returned all was quiet. The female of the couple then took it upon herself to loudly complain to another neighbour as she left that we had asked her to leave (which we hadn't) , and that she had tried to play loud music to get rid of us but we wouldn't go!! I am sorry that she found us sitting on the patio such a bother but this did feel rather unfair as we were only talking quietly and reading. The weather was glorious and it would have been a shame to not sit outside. Perhaps you will have better luck with them! There are a few permanent residents (3,4) on the row and whilst not overly friendly, were at least not as inconsiderate as those at number 7.

The kitchen is located in a small outhouse across from the cottage. It is quite well equipped with a normal size electric hob and oven. There is a table and 4 chairs but not really room to sit in the kitchen. There is no storage space for anything and it does feel very cramped if there is more than one of you in there. There is also limited head space which may be a problem if you are over 5ft8. My 6ft partner whacked his head a few times on the beam! It was ok as the weather was so lovely to have the front door and kitchen door open and keep popping back and forth. But I imagine in winter this is decidedly less fun. There is also the potential to lock yourself out or the keys in as both parts have the house are yale locked.

Both of the larger bedrooms are a good size and both have very comfortable kingsize mattresses. The smaller bedroom has 2 full size single mattresses as bunk beds. The mattresses and mattress toppers seem great but the rest of the bedding is horrid. Cheap lumpy pillows with no pillow protectors, and no mattress protectors. Synthetic mix well worn and stained bedding. It had obviously been washed and ironed but was not inviting. A strange mix with the expensive mattresses. We went straight out and bought new bedding so I suggest you bring a spare set. No black out blinds or linings to the pale fabric curtains meant we were wide awake at 5am. There is no wardrobe to the first floor bedroom, just some hooks on the wall. There is a chest of drawers but the were full of dust and hairs so I didn't use them.

The shower and heating system work fine. The shower is quite powerful in fact. However the bathroom was grubby and needing attention. Black sealant round the bath, stained tile grout and a sink coming away from the wall did not make it seem looked after.

The cottage is badly decorated with cheap magnolia paint which is very marked throughout. Lots of large cracks to the walls and tile floors in the lounge and kitchen that desperately need a good steam clean. Previous reviews have stated that the cottage really needs a good clean and unfortunately this is all true. It is also hugely cluttered with hundreds of yellowing novels, battered board games and random bits of tat. They do not give it character as the owner believes. They collect dust and take up any available storage in a what is a small cottage. It's a shame because with a better cleaner and some tlc, it could be so much better. But I would not recommend or return. There is much better in the bay if you book ahead.

For example, the cottage at number 5 The Bolts which is called Abbotsbury, looks lovely. It is twice the size as Holmedale cottage, has a very large gated patio area over several levels that is much more private. It is also slightly cheaper in price to rent and much better maintained from what we saw. It doesn't allow dogs but if you don't need that, it is easily the nicest cottage I saw.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nasty Neighbours!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Oh dear, when your boyfriend said you had OCD I rather hoped you'd be one of the nice ones that they have on the Channel 4 programmes. Never mind.
Of course we didn't hear a peep of complaint from you during your week, but that might have ruined your fun.
The patio "just big enough for a table and 4 small chairs" would be pretty easy to fit 24 chairs and several tables! Anyway future guests can check the photographs and see what they think.
Seems as though you did upset the neighbours though... why can't we all just get along?

And yes, I do supply books and games. You don't have to read them. You don't have to play them.
Inside, there are two dining tables and ten dining chairs altogether (plus the outside garden chairs).
There are brand-new luxury mattress protectors that I delivered myself a month ago and a spare in the ottoman because I brought too many, as well as memory foam mattress toppers, as well as new mattresses.
Only the first floor bedroom doesn't have a wardrobe, it has a very large chest of drawers and separate hanging space.
The heating system is state-of-the-art NEST thermostat wi-fi controlled.
The cottage was decorated in February 2015. The "cheap magnolia paint" is not cheap magnolia paint. It is the highest quality scratch resistant "Tuff" paint that money can buy. And I think the decorator did a great job. He is a lovely chap who takes great pride in his work. You may not like the colour magnolia but it keeps it bright and fresh.
And really now... there's just no need to be quite so unkind, is there?
Julian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location good but feeling tired and neglected”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location of this cottage is great and bedrooms and bathroom are fine. However the lounge / kitchen areas are in need of a deep clean and some tlc as they are in showing lots of signs of wear and age. Unable to use the patio due to over flowing bins and bramble bushes in need of chopping back. It's a shame as with a bit more effort this place would be lovely but currently it does feel neglected and in need of a refresh and given this I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it until this is done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Feels tired. Unable to use patio due to overflowing bins / garden over grown.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelina...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good however needs a wee bit TLC”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is very well equipped and a wee bit quirky given the Kitchen is in a separate out building, but that just added to its character. The beds and seating were quite comfy, however the cottage itself needs a bit of tender loving care as in a lick of paint, and maybe a stair gate on top floor as kids would probably use the bunk beds. We had to buy 3 mugs as some of the mugs and dishes were cracked or chipped. There was chair pads and a door mat in the kitchen and these could definitely do with a good wash or replacing as they are badly stained and dirty. These small issues could be easily addressed as it really is a fab location and a really nice cottage.We had a really nice time there and Robin Hoods Bay is just lovely. The beach is about 5min walk down hill, and there are many other interesting walks. There is a few nice shops and a few hotels which are very traditional. The locals are very friendly and proud of their bay and its history. I would have no hesitation recommending this cottage if issues mentioned are addressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cottage needs a lick of paint and some new crockery.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing