We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swell Cafe Bar

Swell Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Swell Cafe Bar has a prominent position in the old village of Robin Hood's Bay, with seating terraces overlooking the village and beck to one side and sea to the other. Forget the "high street coffee chains" Swell is a little independent trying to provide the best coffee together with fresh simple food! Open daily from 10am to 4.00pm (seasonal).
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Jane the owner very helpful and friendly. were getting married their next June, I cant wait. The views are amazing from the cafe gardens and the coffee lovely! food looks great and they cater for gluten free which is good to see!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    86
    34
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best coffee in North Yorkshire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have not eaten a meal here, but the coffee is consistently excellent and the cakes are pretty good too.Pleasant staff and setting. Worth traveling to if you like good coffee. Recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank algorrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Lovely bacon butty and coffee
interesting gift shop cafe a lot bigger than it looks from the outside
with outside seating overlooking the interesting roof lines of the higgledy piggledy buildings

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely paninis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I were staying in Robin Hood's Bay, and gave this place a try for lunch. We weren't disappointed. We both had panini, and there was a good choice. I had chicken and red onion with sweet chilli sauce, my wife had tuna and cheese. Both were nicely presented, with a side salad and dressing. I had latte, my wife had tea. It was reasonable value at £14. There is a terrace at the front, and one at the back with a sea view.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great pit stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lovely little place that sells light snacks and delicious cakes. It's a great place to stop when you need a break from climbing back up the hill. Coffee was rich and smooth and the cakes were lovely. Service was with a smile and the place was nice and clean. Might have been nice to have a sign showing where the toilets were but other than that everything was nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell Cafe Bar also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Swell Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing