We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views from the tables on the balcony.”
Review of Swell Cafe Bar

Swell Cafe Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Swell Cafe Bar has a prominent position in the old village of Robin Hood's Bay, with seating terraces overlooking the village and beck to one side and sea to the other. Forget the "high street coffee chains" Swell is a little independent trying to provide the best coffee together with fresh simple food! Open daily from 10am to 4.00pm (seasonal).
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic views from the tables on the balcony.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Swell Cafe is clean and tidy and provides all you could want in the way of light meals and refreshments.

It was especially nice to be able to sit outside and admire the view over the water whilst eating freshly prepared and tasty food.

When you've finished eating, there is a gift shop attached which sells more up-market items to take back to those not lucky enough to have been visiting the Bay.

Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    97
    40
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quick visit”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Scone cream tea - lovely. Called in on a recomendation of friends. Lovely sunny day, sat outside. Coffee and scones lovely. Lovely sea view from the terrace. Recommend that anyone in the area should visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JalexYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
“Amazing wedding by the sea”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife Emily and I got married at Swell back in the heatwave in July, and it was an amazing day. We took quite a basic package – just the ceremony followed by a drinks reception overlooking the sea – but it was absolutely perfect. Jane was great with us from the moment we made our first enquiry. It was great while we were planning to know that everything was in hand at Swell and we had nothing to worry about on that side of things! She was also able to recommend a good local photographer (Gary Simpson) as well.

The ceremony itself went very smoothly and all our guests commented on what a fantastic venue and location it is. I and many of the guests ate at the café beforehand and thought the food and drink was great too.

I would recommend Swell to anyone who wants a small/medium sized stress free wedding by the sea – and hopefully you’ll be as lucky with the weather as we were!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackStaysPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must in Robin Hood's Bay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very clean and bright cafe, with nice food, and good coffee. Service was a bit slow, but understandable as everthing is prepared in the act. Beautiful pictures on the wall, and a lovely little shop to buy cards and other souvenirs, clothes, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank In_love_with_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavening, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visit Robin Hood's Bay a few times a year as it's only an hour's drive from home, so we are familiar with its cafe's, pub's and restaurants. We tend to pick Swell for lunch most of the time (or it's fish & chips on the beach). On this occasion of our wedding anniversary we (including our 13 yr old daughter) managed to snag a terrace table to get the wonderful view over the bay. Looking at the menu of mainly cold dishes we chose to have wraps each with a side order of olives. The wraps are mediterranean themed. They are large with a garnish of salad. I had an Italian beer to go with it and the others had a Fentimans lemonade and cola. It came in at £23, You order at the counter and your food is usually brought to you whilst you carry your drinks. In the afternoon we returned for afternoon tea. I had the fantastic chunky Bakewell tart with cream whilst Tiffin was favoured by my companions. Yum. The cafe inside is airy and spacious with a good seaside themed gift shop. There is also outside seating out front, without the view of the bay but is pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell Cafe Bar also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Swell Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing