We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Ranked #24 of 30 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Been meaning to write this review since August last year. The food was simply devine, I can't praise Smugglers enough, just wish I lived nearer! I had the best tasting piece of plaice ever, it was beautifully cooked, fresh and really well presented. My husband had the most delicious mussels ever. The atmosphere was buzzing, the staff were attentive. Overall, they had excellent knowledge when asked about ingredients on certain dishes from the menu. The location is wonderful, can't wait to return again. Thank you for a great evening...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed Smugglers and Boathouse Rooms look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    8
    12
    11
See reviews for
12
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an anniversary meal here on 22nd February 2013 and I would highly recommend this lovely, cosy restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the food was absolutely delightful.

Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just stayed two nights in the boathouse apartment, had a wonderful time, the location couldn't have been better. 42 steps from the best fish and chip shop in the world and about the same from the Bay Inn and beach. Early morning January sunrise over the bay was spectacular. Reluctant review as would really like to keep this as our secret however, fab times deserves fab comments. We are planning a return as soon as work allows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Been a while since we visted in September, but really wanted to acknoweldge how great this place is! Food was amazing and the atmosphere brilliant. Also really nice to return to the Bay after ten years and see that this place now forms a major part of the lower hill atmosphere after seemingly being a bit fogotten about when I visted RHB as a kid. Food was lovely and was a very special meal and a lovely ending to our stay in Whitby/Robin Hoods Bay. Even got a little bit sad staring out over the water and watching the moon knowing it would be our last visit for a couple of years. Thanks Smugglers, you made this a really special night for us that we will never ever forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for you kind words we are so happy to have made your visit a little more special.
Its people like you and all the others that enjoy Smugglers that make all the hard work me and my staff put in worth while.
We really look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A fantastic meal at the smugglers, surf and turf to die for. Fantastic fish chowder to start with. Everthing well prepared and beautifullyu presented. Try the garlic mash, yummy. Great service, friendly atmosphere. Great place will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saratonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us.

I am so please you have enjoyed Smugglers and Boathousse Rooms

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently visited Robin Hood's bay for the famous Victorian weekend and was absolutely thrilled by the hotel room, the breakfast & the incredibly friendly staff! We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time! We will be back soon! My only criticism would be that the rooms are very expensive!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We work very hard to try to make Smugglers and the Boathouse Rooms viable in the Bay.

We hope to see you soon

Thanks again

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Myself and my partner visited Robin Hood's Bay for a 2 night break last week. (Nov 2012) We received a very warm welcome, The room was small but had a lovely comfortable bed, and was very clean. Breakfast was OK, full English and the like. Huge portions. We didnt eat in the Bistro, but the village has several pubs that do food. The Bay Hotel is the best one we tried. We found the staff at the B&B excellent and very helpful. It has a great atmosphere, as it is down by The Dock in the old village at RHB. We would definately visit again (we were informed by Lisa that the refurb is happening in January) so will visit again later next year. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexingtonSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa W, Owner at Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you.

Your words are kind and very helpfull

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elm Grove B&B
Elm Grove B&B
#15 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation

Property: Smugglers Bistro and Accommodation
Address: The Dock, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Bistro and Lodgings is situated in the old village approx 20yds from the beach. Smugglers is a very popular Bistro serving homemade fresh fish and locally sourced meats in a rustic candle lit environment. The Bistro and wine bar open Wednesday to Sunday evenings, all year round. Smugglers Lodgings offers luxury accommodations ranging from apartment to suites. All sleeping maximum of two and newly refurbished. Please note the Bistro, bar and Lodgings are all adult only. Don't forget to pre-book a table at Smugglers prior to your arrival to avoid disappointment. We get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Bistro And Accommodation Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing