We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The post house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passenger...
1 review
“The post house”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We recently stayed at the post house
Lovely comfortable place ideal to explore robin hoods bay.
...........................................................................................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelters8
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best properties we have stayed in”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Great location for Robin Hood's Bay, the coast and the moors. Spacious, well equipped and finished to a high standard. Bedrooms all a good size and the ability to choose how the beds were configured in two rooms was a real bonus when travelling with three generations. Warm and cosy, despite high ceilings. Stairs up to the flat and then up to the top floor for 3 of the 4 bedrooms should be considered if anyone is not so mobile. We didn't use the garden as it was October, but it had table, chairs and privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: Having to leave after a week.....
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the-ladie...
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great house at the top of the bay”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great flat on the top two floors of the former sea captains house. Well converted, retaining original fireplaces and tiles throughout and well equipped. Has its own entrance at the side of the house, leading to hall on the ground floor and space to leave sandy walking boots! Good living space - living room with two 3 seater sofas, coffee table and TV with cable channels. Through kitchen dining room, with very well equipped kitchen, including dishwasher and washing machine. Two bedrooms face the front of the house, one on top floor at the back has views towards the bay over the rooftops of other houses.
Two full bathrooms, both with showed and separate bath. All well maintained and clean. Free on street parking - limited number of spaces - but close to main car park, reasonable charges 9-6 each day.
Only a couple of minor downsides. No lamp in living room and tall people are likely to bang heads on the low ceilings on the top floor.

Great walking from RHB on the Cleveland Way path and old railway cinder track. Great walks to Ravenscar and Whitby. We ate at the Wayfarer (excellent) one night. Pub has great bay views. Sainsbury's in Whitby isn't far to stock up on food. Would stay again and recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A warm and well equipped holiday home”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The house is very warm and comfortable, nicely decorated and you can walk down into Robin Hood's Bay. We were here in winter and the house was excellent. Would definitely go again.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of furnishings and warmth
Liked least: Our bedroom had sloping roof so my partner had to duck to get to window.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna H
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Great House!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Sterling House is the perfect choice for a family vacation. The location, at the top of Robin Hood's Bay, has wonderful views and is five minutes walk to the beach. The facilities are excellent, with lovely, comfy beds, covered in soft, good quality linens being a notable point. There were lots of towels and everything was very clean and well looked after. The kitchen was very nicely stocked with all you could need and the sofas were comfy and met our needs. It suited us to have the bedrooms on different floors as the older family member could retire to bed, without being disturbed. The garden was lovely, but I would suggest some garden furniture - although I suspect that this comes out during the warmer summer months.
Parking might be a problem during the busier months but as we walked everywhere, once we had a space it ceased to be an issue.
I would suggest that, for those rainy east coast days, more Sky channels might be useful and we took our PS3 - which was invaluable when the weather changed for the worse.
I paid locally for Bay WiFi (£5 for 3 days/£10 for full week) but was almost completely unable to get on to use it. I could, however, use my phone to get on the internet so use that instead!
All in all, we had a memorable time, have recommended the house to other family members and would definitely return.
It was fabulous to wake up in a cosy bed, in the eaves of the house, listening to seagulls and the sea. Just lovely.

As an addition - The Wayfarer bistro/restaurant is amazing!!! Reasonable prices for stunning food. Book a table as soon as you arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location.
Liked least: The lack of Sky Channels.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewed December 8, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mealsonwh...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 6, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Just returned from Sterlng House eight of us stayed and we all found it to be absolutly brilliant.Could not fault this place apart from one teeny weeny thing,could you please change the tin opener cos the one thats in there came out of the arc.We would all like to thank you for a great stay and will definitley be back.THANKS!!!!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing