We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The entertainment crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The entertainment crew”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Villa, food was very good and the bed room was lovely NO lumpy bed.Very freindly staff just meet them this week seems like we have known them for ever. Looking forward to doing it all again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    67
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
309
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I felt truly spoiled at this B&B! The room was lovely, quiet and had all the little things that make life easier for travellers down to the mini sewing kit. I had written ahead and asked if they could accommodate a GF/ DF diet for breakfast and they did! Not only had Jane gotten GF bread but also rice milk, granola bars and yogurt. Lovely house, great hostess and wonderful breakfast , thanks Jane!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Robin Hoods Bay, N.Yorks, is a really beautiful old coastal village, easy to park at the old station at the top of the Hill and our B+B "The Villa" was very easy to find on the main road going down to the village. Coming from Holland, we delighted in the really authentic English style of the house, big old keys, low ceilings, wonderful pleated curtains, books on the windowsill. But the bathroom was totally modern and wonderfully comfortable, as well as the bed and the modern TV. Beautifully quiet through the night, and very friendly and accomodating staff. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh, and fully English. We had a wonderful laugh with the other guests from New Zealand and Australia that were doing the Coastal-walk. Spent the day in nearby Whitby, delicious fishand chiops. Fantastic romantic holiday, easy for Dutch people to drive up from the boot from Hull, of fly to Leeds. Book now!! A really GET-AWAY FROM IT ALL trip !!!!

Room Tip: If you want more space ask when you ring up, our room was at the top of the house and quite small, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in, we were thrilled. But then the disappointments began. Beds are lumpy, light flashed outside the window all night, hostess was unwilling to provide some of the breakfast items we had enjoyed at other bed and breakfasts. Also, there was no place to go other than your room. It would have been nice for to go to a sitting area while my partner rested. Another reviewer mentioned the dining room, but there was a private dinner going on in there. The Villa was nice, but just could have been nicer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdogYorkshire, Owner at The Villa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of TheVilla Bed and Breakfast, I feel disappointed that on your departure that you could not say thank you or good bye which is common courtesy but now I understand why, to find a review expressing you dissatisfaction of your stay which is most dissapointing and that you felt you could not tell me in person.
The dining room is for breakfast use only,however if you had asked there is a newly refurbished residents lounge which you could have utilised, which other guests staying that evening enjoyed, which is advertised on my website.
Not all bed and breakfasts provide the same choice at breakfast, I provide a choice of 20 different cereals,6 different flavoured yogurts and a selection of seasonal fruits, along with 10 different main courses which most guests find more than enough choice.
The light that you refer to is a light outside the house which is there for the safety and security of guests entering and leaving the house.
You must be the only guest in my 13 years of running The Villa who has ever found the bed 'lumpy' .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our second stay in the Villa and it was even better than the first time.
For Karen Jane it's a challenge to please everyone, and she is successful.
The comfortable beds are royal. Shower is like a waterfall. Tv in a mirror......
During our last visit there was no sitting lounge, the old small diningroom is rebuilt to cosy lounge and there is also a new royal diningroom.
We have a delicious breakfastsorbet: muesli, yogurt and fruits served in a nice glas. Don't forget to choose this delicasy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided upon a trip to the seaside for our first wedding anniversary and picked Robin Hoods Bay for its tranquility and proximity to Scarborough and Whitby. We booked quite late but were glad we found the villa.
A lovely stay, and a lovely hostess :) we found a card and bottle of prosecco in our room on arrival which was a nice touch. Room was lovely, bed comfy, yes bathroom is a bit small but was absolutely fine and well equipped.
Yes one big table for breakfast but we've experienced that at many a b&b and not unusual? And quite nice to make conversation and find out why others are in the area, walkers, c2c, and goth weekend!

All in all can't really ask for more from a b&b.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy_wak_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Coast to Coast Walk and found it a perfect place to relax. It looks like a film set and the attention to period detail is amazing, but this is combined with modern comfort (fantastic shower, good internet access etc) and very friendly service and advice on local facilities so that even a pair of rather grubby walkers felt at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birtley House
Birtley House
#7 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Property: The Villa
Address: The Villa Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing