We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When we first walked in, we were thrilled. But then the disappointments began. Beds are lumpy, light flashed outside the window all night, hostess was unwilling to provide some of the breakfast items we had enjoyed at other bed and breakfasts. Also, there was no place to go other than your room. It would have been nice for to go to a sitting area while my partner rested. Another reviewer mentioned the dining room, but there was a private dinner going on in there. The Villa was nice, but just could have been nicer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topdogYorkshire, Owner at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of TheVilla Bed and Breakfast, I feel disappointed that on your departure that you could not say thank you or good bye which is common courtesy but now I understand why, to find a review expressing you dissatisfaction of your stay which is most dissapointing and that you felt you could not tell me in person.
The dining room is for breakfast use only,however if you had asked there is a newly refurbished residents lounge which you could have utilised, which other guests staying that evening enjoyed, which is advertised on my website.
Not all bed and breakfasts provide the same choice at breakfast, I provide a choice of 20 different cereals,6 different flavoured yogurts and a selection of seasonal fruits, along with 10 different main courses which most guests find more than enough choice.
The light that you refer to is a light outside the house which is there for the safety and security of guests entering and leaving the house.
You must be the only guest in my 13 years of running The Villa who has ever found the bed 'lumpy' .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our second stay in the Villa and it was even better than the first time.
For Karen Jane it's a challenge to please everyone, and she is successful.
The comfortable beds are royal. Shower is like a waterfall. Tv in a mirror......
During our last visit there was no sitting lounge, the old small diningroom is rebuilt to cosy lounge and there is also a new royal diningroom.
We have a delicious breakfastsorbet: muesli, yogurt and fruits served in a nice glas. Don't forget to choose this delicasy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided upon a trip to the seaside for our first wedding anniversary and picked Robin Hoods Bay for its tranquility and proximity to Scarborough and Whitby. We booked quite late but were glad we found the villa.
A lovely stay, and a lovely hostess :) we found a card and bottle of prosecco in our room on arrival which was a nice touch. Room was lovely, bed comfy, yes bathroom is a bit small but was absolutely fine and well equipped.
Yes one big table for breakfast but we've experienced that at many a b&b and not unusual? And quite nice to make conversation and find out why others are in the area, walkers, c2c, and goth weekend!

All in all can't really ask for more from a b&b.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy_wak_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Coast to Coast Walk and found it a perfect place to relax. It looks like a film set and the attention to period detail is amazing, but this is combined with modern comfort (fantastic shower, good internet access etc) and very friendly service and advice on local facilities so that even a pair of rather grubby walkers felt at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

First impressions of the place was excellent, as soon as I walked onto the doorstep I was met with great hospitality. We was kindly showed to our rooms and the whole place was immaculate, with great decor, comfy bed and a first-rate ensuite. Owners of The Villa were very kind, pleasure to talk to. In the morning, the breakfast was of excellent quality with lots of options to choose from. Cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On arrival, we were greeted by Jane, the owner of The Villa, she made us feel very welcome.Our room was lovely, & very clean. Jane was very helpful, & nothing was to much trouble. The full English breakfast was a real treat, & was served with a smile. Would book again. Excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackiemoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having completed The Coast to Coast walk at Robin Hoods Bay, The Villa was our overnight stay to refresh and revive after an arduous walk across the moors. . A very welcoming stay in delightful surroundings,The beds are very comfortable and the full English breakfasts made it home from home. The Villa's hostess Jane made our stay very welcome and always has a big friendly smile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
832 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: The Villa Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range: $98 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing