We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem !!”
Review of Thorpe Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem !!”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Thorpe Hall last Friday and Saturday for the first time, and what a wonderful place it is - truly a hidden gem in the Robin Hood's Bay area.
Angelique and David are very friendly and accomodating hosts, and the hall, at 431 years of age, is a wonder to behold.
Yes, the windows are not double glazed (they are mullion windows) and yes, the water pipes do "sing" and yes, the floorboards do creak - but then so would I, if I was 431 years old. For a truly enchanting stay in this part of North Yorkshire, we cannot recommend it highly enough. Everyone should spend at least 1 night here in their lifetime.
We will definitely be returning for another stay later in the year.
Christopher and Lesley.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    20
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The house itself and setting were beautiful and charming. Our room was spacious and attractive and our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served very hot at a time of our choosing (within their set hours) and was pretty good - you're asked to choose what you want the night beforehand (from their set choices). Our dog was made welcome and she loved the freedom to run about in the amazing garden. There was easy access to several really great walks from the house, which we really appreciated. However, as nothing is ever perfect, there were a few downsides. The most significant disappointment was that we did not find our memory foam mattress very comfortable and sleep was also not helped by a red light that flashed on the smoke detector and the noise from occasional passing cars. (We are used to living somewhere that's very quiet and perhaps the noise would be insignificant to others - there were very few cars during the night) The en-suite bathroom was a good size with lots of hot water, but the toilet seat was not entirely stable and the shower head fixture was broken so you had to hold it to be able to get your head wet. Overall, the downsides did not seem significant enough to stop us considering returning.

Room Tip: If traffic noise might bother you try requesting a room towards the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drsharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Thorpe Hall is truely beautiful place to stay. We had such a great time despite the rainy weather!! Beautiful gardens in which our little girls enjoyed exploring (with a hidden swing ball set and some curious hens!!). Gorgeous room with very comfortable beds and a definate 10/10 for the breakfasts.

We'll be making a return trip next year. Thankyou for such a lovely stay! We all have a fabulous time in your amazing home.

Sarah, Adam & the girls :o)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This is a classic example of an expensive place where accommodation is provided because the working owners have decided to do so rather than because they really want to. This is reflected in the ambiguity of the entrance room and the practice of locking the outer door - are you really welcome? Altough well located - but hopelessly signposted - the Hall itself is rather lugubrious and the rooms contain a mish mash of furniture and fittings. There's plenty of space but little 'warmth' and, despite its build up, the cooked breakfast is made up of cheap and low quality ingredients. Looks great, but looks aren't everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrAbernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngeliqueMarie, Owner at Thorpe Hall, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Clearly we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have tried to mix the old with the new in terms of decor, and admittedly, being 400 years old plus Thorpe Hall is not without her idiosyncrasies. I can assure you that our breakfast products are not "cheap" as you claim being sourced from our own hens and the local village butcher. Secondly, we offer a key as a matter of security as we like to know who is in our house and to offer our guests the autonomy to come and go as they please. We are also very perplexed by the personal comments you have made and cannot help but be offended by the assumption made.

We welcome the opportunity to discuss any and all concerns with our guests before and during their stay - and less ideally, after - fully appreciating that some matter may be a matter of personal taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

What alovely place to stay arrived early and Angelique and her dogs came to welcome us ,gave us a lovely tour of the rooms we could go in all very historic , still have oil paintings above fire place of former owners, not many get the opportunity to stay in a property like this, we had the squires room which was lovely even though we had to share a bathroom this was no problem.
Owners have a very good eye for detail and everything spotlessly clean, a quick mention to if you come straight out of the hall up the road and turn left a smashing little butcher who does piazza in an evening which were lovely he even gave our dog a goody bag of ham, all in all a lovely stay, forgot to mention the lovely gardens would certainly reccommend this b&b .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carynNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We wanted to stay in something which was more intimate than a hotel but not as intimate as a b&b....this was the perfect choice. Such an old beautiful building with a stunning garden you will not found. We only stayed 2 nights but wish we could have stayed more...so much to do in the area. Angelique made us feel very welcome, as did the lambs, hens, dogs and rabbits!!!!...Food was great, beds were superb....will be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed onpy one night and wished we had been there for longer. Angelique was very welcoming and the rooms were excellent. The availablility of three sitting roome for guest use was exceptional. The building is alll you would hope for in such a historic place and the area is easy to get around. Breakfast excellent. Loved the baby lambs as well.
This was a great start to a special weekend. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petermac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
799 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Hall

Property: Thorpe Hall
Address: Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay Middlewood Lane | Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine seventeenth century Elizabethan manor house offering bed and breakfast, Thorpe Hall is situated in the stunning North York Moors National Park, in the village of Fylingthorpe. The Hall is a short walk from Robin Hood's Bay and five miles from Whitby. The whole area is known for its outstanding natural beauty making Thorpe Hall an ideal setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorpe Hall Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing