We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great pretender” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorpe Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe Hall
Ranked #11 of 31 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Berlin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great pretender”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

After spending a lot of summer time in the northern UK over the last years and being familiar with more then a few '4-5 stars' B&Bs we were still able to walk into a trap:
...damp, cold, narrow, spartan, poor breakfast...a real 16th Century feeling in all respects. A great pretender, overrated and not even close to a reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelersfanberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    19
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

A fantastic weekend break. Great part of the world made even better by possibly the best 'b&b' (its more like a small boutique hotel) we have been too. Fantastic bed, shower and breakfast ....what more can you want....oh hang on, i didnt mention the beautifull garden...i could go on!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessandp0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend visited Thorpe Hall at the beginning of August and fell in love with the place. The building oozed with character and charm and the rooms were spacious, clean and homely. We booked a week prior so were given the last room left (as there are only 7) so I was worried we would be left with the "rubbish room" as we also had no private bathroom. When we arrived my fears were put to rest as our room was gorgeous with a huge white bed and period features. Using a shared bathroom seemed no problem in the end as it was clean and fresh.
In the evening we walked into Robin Hoods bay for a meal, the walk was lovely and it felt so peaceful. The grounds of Thorpe Hall have a very special feel about them, beautifully green. The only trouble we had was in Robin Hoods Bay as there is only one taxi company so we had to wait to be picked up instead of walking back in the dark!
On our return we visited the shared lounge room to enjoy a bottle of red wine, which was empty. We listened to the selection of music in the cd player and relaxed in the grand but cosy setting.
I couldn't recommend this place more, we both really enjoyed our time here and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vic_bond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

A fantastically comfortable bed in quiet room with garden views. Historic character and antiquity not spoilt by modern conveniences supplied. Choice of Reading and TV rooms. Good breakfast. Lovely to walk through the garden into countryside down to Robin Hoods Bay or aroung Fylingthorpe village. Hosts quietly attentive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almcf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

we stayed here after doing the lyke wake walk so were really exhausted and what a grat place to stay, feels more like a hotel, none of the rooms have numbers on them, and we didn't have any on suite facilities, although this really didn't matter as it was excellent in every other respect, lots of space in the rooms with oak beams in ours. The breakfast wasn't quite as good as the standards elsewhere though. We walked the short distance out of the back gate to Robin Hoods Bay on the sunday moring to walk on the beach....fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Kirsten and Andrew.
I chose Thorpe Hall as I wanted a break in Yorkshire and have fond memories of the area.
The room although a little small as we had a big dog, was to the highest standard, cleanliness 100%. Service also value excellent and sleep wonderfull.
The date entered is not the date we stayed as there was no way of changing it, yes going back. In fact told all my friends and posted it on Facebook.
they dont need me to sell how good they are or how beautifull the house and service is.
Not their fault we had a massive cage, hope to go back next month.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

The location is stunning, the historic house is elegant and unfussy, the hosts warm, funny and thoughful. Of all the places I've stayed, I can't think of a more laidback, unpretentious vibe as the one created here. If you want boutique hotel blandness, this place isn't for you. If you want an interesting, charming and unique bolthole to completely relax in, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
6.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 31 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Hall

Property: Thorpe Hall
Address: Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay Middlewood Lane | Fylingthorpe, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine seventeenth century Elizabethan manor house offering bed and breakfast, Thorpe Hall is situated in the stunning North York Moors National Park, in the village of Fylingthorpe. The Hall is a short walk from Robin Hood's Bay and five miles from Whitby. The whole area is known for its outstanding natural beauty making Thorpe Hall an ideal setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorpe Hall Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Thorpe Hall Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing