We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Royd Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Called here on spec just going off the look of the place. Excellent stay, very clean, very comfortable, excellent good quality breakfast (sausage are always the give away) . A warm welcome without being over attentive. There are several good restaurants/ pubs nearby for an evening meal and it’s in a good location for a walk into the old village. We will defiantly stay there again on our next visit to this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchestertrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a beautiful Victorian Style Guest house with a character of its own.
Situated at the top of the steep hill, its only 1/4 ml to the beach with free parking.
Great effort has gone into creating a Victorian atmosphere with regard to decoration, music at breakfast time, set in one of Yorkshires best, unspoiled coastal resorts.
The owner is very caring and considerate and all led to a a brilliant 2 night May bank holiday stay.
The food is excellent and would recommend this place to anyone wanting something different from the main stream guest houses.
Thanks for a great stay Gaynor and George,
Chris and Jill

Room Tip: All excellent for an affordable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have had a lovely stay at West Royd, Gaynor was friendly and welcoming and the room was comfortable and clean. One negative was no biscuits or hot chocolate drink which most places provide, but other than that it was fine. The breakfast was excellent, well cooked using quality ingredients, I liked the fresh fruit, it was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lilliYorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed with Gaynor & George a few times now and each time been as enjoyable as the first!!! We take our well behaved dog too who is made most welcome. The rooms are comfortable and an excellent breakfast. Run by a lovely and friendly couple.

Tracey & Martin Clifton (Derbyshire)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

West Royd Guest House is a lovely, welcoming Bed and Breakfast in Robin Hood's Bay. The welcome was very warm, and Gaynor (the owner) and her husband couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were very good, as was the choice. The rooms were warm and comfortable, and the whole house is kept spotlessly clean. We were so impressed we are planning when we can go back, and would recommend West Royd to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived in Robin Hoods Bay without booking ahead, we found West Royd guest house and landed on our feet.

Oh Man!!!!!!! Gaynor and George are brilliant, the room was clean.. I mean spotless, the breakfast was to die for, yum yum. Fanastic power shower in room, thick loverly towles, The decor was inline with style of building, which to us was a refreshing change and we loved it loved love it. Gaynor & George ROCK xxx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sistermoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lovely place to stay owners very welcoming, very helpful, room was gorgeous, lots of space, breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice, parking permit made it an easier to stay.
Good situation.
We arrived late but they just waited for us and we found the whole weekend enjoyable,
We would definitely recommend this establishment.
It made our first stay in Robin hood bay enjoyable

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryken_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
North Ings Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rounton House
Rounton House
#18 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Clarence Dene B&B
#22 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Birtley House
Birtley House
#6 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
Northcliff Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Royd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Royd Bed and Breakfast

Address: West Royd Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Royd is an elegant period property in Robin Hood's Bay North Yorkshire. Originally built in 1897 West Royd has been sympathetically renovated to provide modern day facilities whilst still retaining its Victorian charm. All our rooms are en-suite with Hospitality Tray, hairdryer, most rooms have full length mirror, flat screen TV/DVD and freesat, and free wifi. Towels changed daily on request. It is situated in a prime position in the village. After exploring this wonderful village, a jewel on the North Yorkshire coast enjoy a comfy bed and a Good hearty Breakfast in the morning starting with Fresh fruit, juice, cereal, coffee, fruit teas or traditional Yorkshire tea followed by Gaynor's Hearty Breakfast or something lighter if you prefer and ending with toast and preserves. All this is served in our beautifully decorated dining room with an array of Gaynor's teapots. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Royd Bed And Breakfast Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing