We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea views”

The Bay Hotel and Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great sea views”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely and lively pub serving classic pub food. They only take bookings if you plan to eat there at 18:30 in the evening. Otherwise, arrive later and wait for a table.

The pub overlooks the sea and when we booked a table - we asked for a sea view table and were duly reward with fines views of the bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shinkansen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    196
    97
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Ok first things first. Great location next to the slip-way to the sea. At high tide the waves crash against the walls and come up the slip-way. Staff very friendly and attentive and the live-in Phil does a fabulous full-English breakfast. Good range of beers (but no Old Peculiar for some reason, despite 3 other Theakston's in evidence!). You can drop off your bags but then need to park at the top of the hill in the Council Car-Parks. Get a ticket from the Post Office just past the Victoria Hotel for £5 a day (choose as many days as you want) which also entitles you to park at Scarborough and Whitby and a couple of other places.
We had Room 3 which is very 'compact' but does have on-suite...the big guys will struggle though as it is very cramped. Go for Room 1 as it has the best views and I think is bigger than the others. Now brace yourselves. The window doesn't open in room 3 and is shut fast with tissue paper, presumably to stop the drafts...but means that you can't enjoy the views like you can in room 1 and 2? The room was not serviced for our three-night stay, so we had to raid the laundry room for clean towels and shower and shampoo top-ups and had to wash the coffee cups out daily in the sink...I don't understand that aspect of the hotel service which was not forthcoming even when we asked for fresh towels?
The meals are good sized portions and average pub food and the views are wonderful from the main bar and 'dining room'. Overall the experience of staying at the seafront in 'the Bay' was charming and we were on a 3 nights for 2...but I hope the house-keeping is improved in high-season at presumably full-price.
Best pub is The Laurel Inn which has a wonderful atmosphere and traditional ambience...no music, dim-lighting and fantastic beer. 'Ye Dolphin' has a scruffy charm and serves huge meals which are very reasonable prices and we really enjoyed the Sunday Night Pub Quiz and were made very welcome by the two hairy-bikers on duty.
Robin Hoods Bay is a fascinating and lovely seaside village - I will definitely go back but probably to one of the many self-catering cottages on offer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 967Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming venue”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Superbly located overlooking the sea which proved to be a very welcoming pub - and importantly dog friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No nonsense pub food”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The location of this pub is clearly the biggest selling point, but after a long walk we were looking for pub grub and a decent pint. There was a good selection of vegetarian food and a good selection of real ale.
Unfortunately the food wasn't great but it was served up with excellent homemade chips. Two empty plates and two satisfied diners.

Helpful?
Thank Plawsworth_DH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hmmm. Ok but could be amazing”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We walked from Whitby along the coast so needed a long lunch (7 miles at least). Not impressed to see a throwback to the 1980's with a sign saying kitchens close at 2pm!! It was 1.45 and so we had to rush. The place has seen better days and beer was average. Given the stunning location this could be world class but it was average. Never mind. We had fun.

Helpful?
Thank statelyhomemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 
Fylingthorpe, Robin Hoods Bay
Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to The Bay Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing