We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The End if our Coast to Coast Walk!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The End if our Coast to Coast Walk!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The room was a pleasant surprise as the bar area is very traditional. We had a lovely view of the sea & Robin Hoods Bay. The room & ensuite had been refurbished & was very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant, the menu had a good selection of food & the service was friendly & efficient. Breakfast was served to us in a marquee which was unbearably hot, although once pointed out to the management they did roll open the doors. The service at breakfast was very, very slow.

Room Tip: A sea view is fantastic. We also had a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    220
    52
    20
    3
See reviews for
136
513
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland uk
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having visited the Victoria hotel, on a previous article in a local paper, I was expecting a lovely experience.
The coffee shop was very small & thus we were squashed in the corner. The lady serving us was very dramatic & complaining about the amount if people, our drinks & food took a while but were pleasant. The view, which is a major selling point of this hotel was obstructed by a marque so we may as well of been staring at a brick wall. Just before leaving we went to use the toilets near to the bar & the smell of stale urine was overpowering & nauseating. The toilets were extremely unclean & ruined the whole experience. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely bar meal in the family room at the back. The kids meals were a great size and looked fresh and homemade rather than the microwaved rubbish you sometimes get for kids. My twins aged 6 loved the sausages and fish bits. My steak was delicious and I'd highly recommend the Stilton sauce. My husband loved his fish and chips. Highly recommend for a family meal

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FiMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Well what can I say from the day we arrived until the day we left we felt so welcome and every day was outstanding.
On the day we arrived we were shown to our room which was beautiful and the décor was very, very nice.
The room was spotless not one spec of dust in sight :-)
From breakfast to the evening meal the service was just 100 % the owners of this hotel have employed really good and caring staff.
We had booked into the Wayfarer Bistro just up the road from the Victoria hotel on the second night of our stay when we arrived at the Wayfarer the gentlemen had booked us in on the wrong night so we could not eat there as they were fully booked so we went back to the Victoria hotel hoping they could fit us in when we arrived they were very busy but a lady called Katie said it was no problem she would fit us in it was no trouble and once again the service and the friendliness of the staff was outstanding.
To some this hotel up in a nutshell this place is AWESOME you must go and have a stay at this hotel.
We stayed in room 8 which had a beautiful view over the bay and the moors.
We will definitely be back and this time with our 2 children and have been advised room 4 would be perfect for us.
We cannot wait for our next stay at the Victoria hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very nice and has great views over the bay and the moors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Victoria was booked by the Coast to Coast walking trip organisers. At the end of 192 miles it is nice to have a warm welcome and a genuine concern as to whether all our luggage was accounted for.No delay and we were straight up to our rooms which were most comfortable and some had the most amazing views down into our final destination: Robin Hoods Bay. The showers were hot, the rooms were clean and we were booked for Dinner. After dropping the St Bees pebble in the North Sea and the customary photos had been taken, it was time to climb back up 'that' hill. The Dinner menu was varied but no surprise that there was alot of fresh fish. The starter of Sea Food Chowder was quite delicious and followed by fresh plaice on a bed of seaweed . We shared an Eton Mess. Our table by choice was in the marquee at the side of the hotel and we were able to see night drawing in over Ravenscar. The compressor in the bar overnight was a little disturbing but no real bother. Breakfast was excellent with a huge bowl of porridge and smoked mackeral with two poached eggs. Beautiful Toast and ever so friendly service from the staff. Parking at the back of the hotel was a bit of a lottery but I suspect that not all the parked cars belonged to hotel guests. As we left the gardener was sorting out a more comfortable chair for a visitor with a back problem - it said kev on his petrol can and he seemed to be caring of the garden and the clients. We had a great experience - I am sorry others appear to not have been so lucky.

Room Tip: Try not to get above the bar unless they turn off the compressor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello,

Thankyou for taking time to review us and Iam glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we fulfilled your expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

A brilliant wedding and stay in a superb hotel. Andrew and his staff created the perfect wedding for my daughter and son in law, They both said it was the best day of their lives. Nothing was too much trouble with excellent service from all Andrews staff from night porter, bar and restaurant staff, cleaners and the food was just the best thanks to a superb chef. The hotel has one of the best views in the country, best dressed bedrooms I have ever stayed in thanks to Andrews wife's attention to detail and to be honest you could not get a better hotel owner. Well done Andrew and a big big thank you to your staff. Our wedding guests who visited from all over the UK have remarked that their stay at the Victoria Hotel was excellent and would consider it a holiday destination in the future.

Room Tip: Having rented all the rooms during the wedding all the rooms were different and excellent in their d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thankyou for choosing to take time in reviewing us.I can personally say it was a pleasure working with you in creating a very special day for Emma and Lee.I am so glad that we met your expectations.Thankyou for your very complimentary comments I will share these with staff.Wishing the happy couple all the best for the future.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We walked in for a full English, were told where we could sit, we would have liked to choose ourselves but we were sat right at the door entrance. The waitress did not bring us milk for our coffee we had to ask, no napkins and no condiments. It seemed like because we were not staying at the hotel that our money was not good enough. The breakfast was average not worth the £15 (£7.50) each we paid. I would advise people to go past this hotel and find a nicer cheaper more friendlier establishment further down the bank.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TracyJamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriarhb, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello,
Sorry you couldn,t sit where you wanted but our restaurant is reserved for guests staying in the Hotel who have paid for accomodation.We offer other breakfast guests to either sit in the bar area or outside overlooking the bay if the weather is fine.Regarding the price of the breakfast I feel that the price of a nine item breakfast plus tea or coffee is very reasonable for a Hotel.
Thankyou for choosing to review your breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
12 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,045 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,872 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing