We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a great place after walking up that hill to have a snack and a drink. Excellent food and in fact the snack we were going to have turned into a meal. A lovely environment and it will always be on our list for food on our next visit. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    217
    50
    20
    2
See reviews for
134
501
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vire-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

First went for a drink in this place many years ago under the old management. It was a souless place. No atmosphere what so ever. Was imformed by Val at Bay Taxis that they had new owners and was much improved. Sooo gave it another go. Advice proved correct. It is a now welcolming place. Staff courteous and friendly. Drink prices acceptable.(Down the Bay they are ridiculous). Have no experience of food/rooms but talking to a couple of residents who said both were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a spot if lunch here on the final day of our holiday! Shared 3 sandwiches between 4 of us, which was enough. Very fresh, soft bread and plenty of filling. Came served on a board with salad garnish, crisps and coleslaw. Followed with cakes which were also lovely. Too cool to sit out, but on a warm day to sit and take in the views while enjoying a spot of lunch would be lovely. Staff polite and obliging. Recommended.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover12456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in a B and B so booked into the Victoria Hotel restaurant one evening for dinner. The service was very good, the food excellent and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere. On our next visit to RHB we shall book to stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shortbreakers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We had drinks and dinner at the hotel tonight and it was great.
The bar staff were very pleasant.
The view from the pub is exceptional.
We chatted with some of the locals in the bar and learned a lot about the area.
We went into the restaurant for dinner and the food was exquisite.
Especially the Mulligatawny soup.
Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for sandwiches and. coffee.
Sat outside in the garden, with its fantastic views over the bay.
Sandwiches were of a decent quality, nicely presented on wooden boards.
Good coffee.

Service rather slow ( although they were quite busy).
Why use such horrible cheap sauce sachets though?
I had some English mustard with my ham sandwich and it was vile - cheap vinegar taste, really spoiled the sandwich.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juancoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the Victoria Hotel. The staff were amazing, the room was perfect, the view and the area are breathtakingly beautiful, never been anywhere so welcoming and relaxing. The staff especially are a credit to the area and the hotel itself, so friendly and accomodating.

The restaurant is neither cheap nor expensive, but it's underpriced for the quality of ingredients and the skill in cooking. The steak dinner and smoked mackerel at breakfast in particular are worth a visit alone.

Whitby is just 6 miles down the road, but if you get a room with a balcony you could easilly just sit and watch the sea all day and be completely contented.

We're definitely returning next spring, places and hotels like this make foreign holidays seem pointless.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BearMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,187 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing