We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class!!!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st class!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with excellent views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Very comfortable with a luxurious feel to the rooms. Superior decoration and furnishings in the rooms. You can eat in the bar or in the lovely restaurant. The food is very good and well presented. What makes your stay so enjoyable is the staff, who are all so friendly and helpful, whether it be on the phone or during your stay. It was our first visit here and definitely won't be our last..

Room Tip: A sea view room would be an advantage as the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    214
    50
    19
    2
See reviews for
133
494
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Perfect location to access the local area. Plenty of parking, excellent food and well decorated throughout. Rooms with good views of the sea or countryside. Perhaps the evening menu could be changed more often but as the food is so good there is no reason not to choose the same meal twice in the week.

Room Tip: Just decide on a sea view or countryside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brimar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have stopped at The Victoria many times over the last 27 years because of it's location and friendly atmosphere. It has recently been given a major upgrade which has really enhanced it's character and comfort.

There are spectacular views over the bay and an interesting, steep walk to the old village

A word of warning for Southerners, the food is great and comes in Yorkshire servings! Their steaks in particular are really seriously good, as are the breakfasts.

Really friendly and attentive service.

We travelled 176 miles to get there and are going back in the Autumn, that says it all.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My dear bride and I return to England on a trip down memory lane. Living in the States now, we go home to Blighty very couple of years, but have always geared our trips to be with family. This time, May of 13, we took off to the Yorkshire hills and coast with the intent to stay at the Grand Hotel, Scarborough, where had honeymooned in 1970. We drove to the door, walked in, and immediately walked out, it smelled musty and mucky. We drove onto Robin Hoods Bay, staying two nights at the Victoria Hotel. Sea facing room, old fashioned tub, great bar food and a really quality restaurant. We will be going back, sooner the better.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but some sea facing rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

So you're looking for somewhere to stay for a few days away from the rat race and the daily routine?

Your list of 'must haves' for your hotel accommodation is for it to be smallish and personal, friendly, welcoming, first class service, lovely staff, great decor, great breakfast, quality restaurant food, nice bar, unbelievable views, great location, parking and outstanding value for money. Sounds like a big ask, but no need to compromise on any of these at the Victoria Hotel in Robin Hoods Bay, it ticks every box!

My wife and I have just spent three nights at the Hotel and we can't compliment it highly enough. Absolutely brilliant, only down side is that we had to leave!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be superb, go for a room with a sea view to put the icing on the cake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during the half term with the boss and son. First class service from the moment we arrived which was done in a very professional and friendly manner. The sea view room we had was very very,comfortable and very tastefully decorated,with two windows overlooking the bay it ticked all the boxes. The en suite had a 'stand alone bath' with a hand held shower head, but no shower. Not that that's a problem. The breakfast was excellent and we had two evening meals in the bar which were equally as good. Given it's proximity to the beach and village ( 10 mins slow walk down, 15 back up) it can only be described as 'an absolute gem', would not hesitate for a second to book again. Oh and if you're looking for a little adventure before tea, get yourself on the 'Robin Hoods Bay' ghost walk meeting on the slip path,1,2,3, wooooo!! great fun!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank patnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Arrived with family to be greeted by very welcoming lady on a dreary February afternoon.

We wanted to eat but landlord didn't want us to sit in his more comfortable and less crowded bar, instead he wanted us to sit in his much less pleasant "family room", complete with uncleared tables and blaring TV. He couldn't have been less welcoming! We left to find some real Yorkshire hospitality down the road!

He missed out on 4 meals/ drinks and an overnight stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 42ASimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing