We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming break at Rounton House”
Review of Rounton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rounton House
Ranked #19 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We,ve been back to Rounton House for our April break.
Its always a pleasure to be there, we plan what we,re having for breakfast on the way!
There,s always a good choice, menu in your room the night before.
Our rooms are always spotless, comfortable beds for a good nights sleep after exploring the Bay, Whitby, Staithes etc. Rountons in a great spot to see them all.
Its always a pleasure to return, we,ll be back in August.
Thank you Claire and Kate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Rounton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is our second visit to Rounton House and again we had a great time. We are a family of four and stayed in room 2 which has a lovely view of the sea (when not shrouded in mist!!!). The room is lovely, light and clean, and the breakfast fantastic, with the best veggie sausages we have ever had (and thank you for telling me where you got them from!!)
We will definitely be back- and you never know, we might bring the sun next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suec_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at Rounton House with work mates whilst on a coastal walking weekend. Perfectly located at the top of Robin Hood's Bay and yards away from the Cleveland Way footpath. We were welcomed by Claire and shown to our rooms. Room three is a lovely spacious room complete with sink and the original feature fireplace. The bathroom/wc is just across the landing but is only for room 3 use. There are ample towels, dressing gowns, liquid soap and even bubble bath provided. (It's been years since I've had a bubble bath!!!) :-)
The breakfast is served in the lovely bright dining room. A very nice Full English, or should I say "Full Yorkshire" Breakfast, comes complete with ample cereal, orange juice,coffee/tea and toast. Just what you need to set you up for a full days walking.
It was a pleasure to stay in such nice surroundings and to be served by nice friendly people who obviously enjoy looking after and meeting their guests.
FULLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We,ve just had another long weekend at Rounton House, just what we needed for a November break. The rooms are always comfortable, and after a good nights sleep and great breakfast we had a day in Whitby.
A walk down to the Bay from Rounton is lovely, its streets are really quaint, lots of exploring to do. Good fish and chips down there, nice pubs, great walk along the beach.
There,s always a great welcome at Rounton, standards are excellent, we recommend staying to anyone. It has a special meaning for us, and we,ll be back in April next year.
Thanks to Claire, Kate and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNORuncornCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt like we were at home. Everything was very relaxed and the hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and gave good advice on where to eat out locally. The room was immaculate with a fantastic view over Robin Hoods Bay - and the full cooked breakfast was 'spot on' to start your day! We would definitely recommend Rounton House to anyone wanting to visit Whitby and the Yorkshire Moors. Thank you. Keith and Linda.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

rounton house in robinhoods bay is a very clean and pleasant b&b, spacious rooms and very friendly people , their breakfast is exceptional and keeps you going all day,we had a really enjoyable stay.
thanks from glyn and joy.

Room Tip: room 1 and 2 with sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poto2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a great B&B. The room was decorated nicely and was very homely with a really comfortable mattress and a spare blanket. Breakfast was delicious and providing soya milk was no problem,
As a solo traveller, I felt at ease and the whole house had a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robin Hoods Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Streonshalh B&B
Streonshalh B&B
#5 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rounton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rounton House

Address: Rounton House Mount Pleasant South | Robin Hoods Bay, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range: $95 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rounton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rounton House Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing