We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked last minute and it was a great idea. On arrival we were helped with our luggage and shown to our room. The room was spotless and great facilities, even had a ipod docking station.
We ate at the bistro the food was delicious. We only had starters and mains but gutted I couldnt fit any dessert in. I had the lamb cutlets and it was the best lamb I've ever eaten. The services was also excellent.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 323 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my second visit to the Wayfarer restaurant and it was just as good the second visit. WE ate there on a Sunday night when the menu is limited but includes mainly fish and steaks with various sauces and accompanied by veg, salad etc and includes a bottle of wine for two for £38. The plates were huge and the fish dish - cod loin cooked with samphire and smoked haddock sauce was delightful. Being gluten free I am pleased to say they could advise me on the menu choices and sauces without too much problem, and the food and evening was delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank shaznayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a trip to the Wayfarer. B&b was fab- spotlessly clean. The crowning glory was certainly the food- the Bistro is amazing. We both had fish dishes and they were excellent and great value. Would go definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumba409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just home after a couple of lovely nights at the wayfarer. I must be nearly on my 20th visit, whilst Lucy and Chris have been the owners.
Excellent service, excellent food, both in the bistro at night, and at breakfast.
I've recommended this place to lots of friends over the years.
GRADE A ALL THE WAY.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I thought this B&B was good but I've had to rate it as Very Good as there is no rating for just Good - I didn't want to rate it as average as I think it is above the average B&B.

Our welcome was very warm and we were given a few pointers about the area, which was great as it was our first visit.

Our room was very clean and a good size, however the bathroom was tiny and my partner had to dry himself in the bedroom as there wasn't enough room in the bathroom. Still it was lovely, clean and modern and had everything in it we needed.

We ate in the Bistro on one evening and the food was lovely. We both had steaks, unfortunately they got them mixed up (I ordered sirloin and my partner rump) and as I had a sauce on mine we couldn't swap over. We decided not to complain as they tasted Ok. The wine we ordered was gorgeous and my dessert was lovely.

Breakfast was very nice and enjoyable.

The B&B is well situated for the long walk to Whitby (The Cleveland Trail) or for the short walk down to the bay.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the food at the Wayfarer, and would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on the final night of the c2c path. A lovely clean place with good food although a little noisey with rooms at the front from customers exiting the Bistro after 1am. Friendly hosts who run the bistro and does have a good for it's food.

Room Tip: try to avoid the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on Sunday 8th September on the recommendation of our B&B host, it was their steak and bake night, 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £38, we were not disappointed, food, wine and service all excellent! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank D33mass3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
20 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#19 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse

Address: The Wayfarer Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the 'Top Shop' in Robin Hood's Bay, the Wayfarer has been lovingly restored as a bistro to a very high standard. Owners Michelle and Neil Mosley have created the perfect atmosphere in their Bistro with original wood floors and antique pine tables mixed with a contemporary decor The specials board is changed daily. The Wayfarer also provides cozy accommodation. Newly completed, it offers en-suite bedrooms, with a high standard of service, delicious meals and exceptional value for money in a relaxed candle lit setting, it's perfect for a romantic get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
The Wayfarer Bistro And Guesthouse
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing