We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place & people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robin Hoods Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 29 Robin Hoods Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place & people”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent a very comfortable night here, along with good food & excellent staff. Well worth a visit. Really enjoyed the breakfast...Next time will remember to book a table for dinner although the owner managed to squeeze us in at 8.45.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatonhangover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    31
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
230
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are returning guests and once again enjoyed our stay immensely during the Gothic Weekend of November. We stayed in the larger backrooms this time, and were both very impressed with the facilities and the nice view from our window. Super clean as usual, with a very comfy bed. As for the meals in the restaurant, the meal we had on Friday night was just superb. From the specials board I went for the Monkfish and Chorizo with the cheesy sauce and have to say it was absolutely superb, whilst my partner loved her steak, cooked exactly as requested. Breakfast too I'm pleased to say is still top notch, not only very tasty but also well presented with very generous portions. To top it all for me, we didn't manage to make it down for breakfast on second morning of our stay, but as we were leaving Chris offered us bacon and sausage butties for our journey, packed up in a goodie bag with sauces and napkins. Just brilliant. We wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else when the service is this good. Thank you both.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ordered the Monkfish with Chorizo and rarebit just before they removed it from the specials board. Great tasting dish, no wonder it was proving to be so popular. Specials board is great, standard menu a bit boring but food, whatever you have, is very, very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 452himagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We are returning customers and we enjoyed our recent stay as much as we did the first time round. The food is simply excellent and the owners are so welcoming. We'll certainly be going back again and again, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the wayfarer guesthouse for one night on the 25th october the rest of the weekend was full the guesthouse rooms are excellent with everything you need nothing was to much trouble we stayed here for the Bistro we where not disapointed it's FAB fresh local produce cooked to order you need to book for the bistro if your staying in the b&b book the bistro when you book the room then you will not be disapointed next morning we went for breakfast again your not disapointed excellent in fact the wayfarer is excellent great value for money also a good base in robin hoods bay it's close to whitby and scarbrough we shall be going back

Room Tip: ask for the rooms at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I went here on Saturday night with a large crowd and were all well catered for, great selection of food and huge portions. The staff were friendly and attentive. Great place and will be back, next time I am in Robin hoods bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went for a weekend birthday trip with a friend and loved it. We both had rooms with balconies with a view down to the sea. The owners are really helpful and friendly and the rooms are of a high quality. Lovely location - just a short ten minute walk down to the beach.
It's worth booking in to the restaurant for an evening meal as well - the food is delicious. Great breakfast too!
Would definitely recommend this b&b. It's also a great base for exploring the nearby coast.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with balcony are worth requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 80s_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.3 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
12 reviews
6.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
2.8 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse

Property: The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse
Address: The Wayfarer Station Road, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the 'Top Shop' in Robin Hood's Bay, the Wayfarer has been lovingly restored as a bistro to a very high standard. Owners Chris and Lucy Hutchinson have created the perfect atmosphere in their Bistro with original wood floors and antique pine tables mixed with a contemporary decor. The menu changes every month and the specials board is changed daily. The Wayfarer also provides cozy accommodation. Newly completed, it offers en-suite bedrooms, with a high standard of service, delicious meals and exceptional value for money in a relaxed candle lit setting, it's perfect for a romantic get away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
The Wayfarer Bistro And Guesthouse
The Wayfarer Bistro & Guesthouse Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing