We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway with preschooler”
Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Divonne-les-Bains, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend getaway with preschooler”
Reviewed July 4, 2008

A great place to take small children -- the seaside, a playpark 50 m away, walks in the moors, steam trains "just like Thomas" (pickering line) , a "pirate ship" (Whitby) and a welcoming B&B! It has been a year since we visited Streonshalh but my son still talks about the steam trains.

Personally, I was more focused on the clean and child-friendly accommodation that enabled me to relax and thoroughly enjoy the long weekend. The breakfast was so varied (fruit, cereal, yogurt, full cooked breakfast) that it would meet the tastes of even the most discerning child. The bedroom was well sized with some extra space for children to play. The en suite bathroom was brand new, so convenient and perfectly clean :)

Overall this is a B&B with style but also practicalities. Debbie and Kevin clearly love their countryside and have a special touch for making their guests feel welcome. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
205
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

Very friendly owners, room clean, very good breakfast, three to four minute walk to the bay

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyYorkshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2008

My partner and I finished the Coast to Coast walk in this beautiful coastal village and couldn't have found a better B&B in which to spend our last night. Kevin and Debbie were very welcoming and helpful, Kevin booked our taxi to Scarborough for the next day and nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast was delicious, after walking for almost two weeks and staying in various accommodation, it was only the second time we had fresh fruit for breakfast, but this was a freshly prepared fruit salad with luxury muesli and then a full cooked English breakfast if required. Be warned though, the portions are on the generous side!

We stayed in room 2 which has a king sized bed and big double windows with a view onto the moors. It was immaculately clean and we slept soundly with hardly any street noise and just the occasional noisy seagull.

The value for money and service offered at this B&B is outstanding and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We wish Kevin and Debbie all the best and thanks for making our stay so special.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybird68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I stayed here with my partner recently and we had an absolutely fantastic time. As we arrived we were greeted by Debbie who was ever so friendly and showed us to our room. We were very impressed by both the cleanliness and facilities available including our own flat screen TV DVD player and recently refurbished en suite complete with power shower, we even had a view of the bay from the window!

Breakfast was delicious and included fresh fruit salad, cereal and a full English breakfast. The portions were so generous they definitely kept us full till tea time! Kevin was really friendly and helpful at breakfast time, going out of his way to help us find bus times to nearby Whitby. Overall a super stay, will definitely be returning sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie_rosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Due to bad weather conditions we arrived late on Easter Monday but Kevin and Debbie stayed up to welcome us, this hospitality set the scene for what was a superb mini break.
The first thing that you notice when you enter your room is the cleanliness and this standard was maintained throughout out stay. Our room had a flat screen TV with CD player, kettle and complimentary tea / coffee, the bathroom was en-suite (with shower) and all recently moderised and last but no least the bed was extremely comfortable - we slept like a log only hearing the occassional seagull.
Breakfast was superb and consisted of fruit, ceral and a 'full monty' the portions were very generous and the meal kept us going until early evening. Both Kevin & Debbie are only to happy have a chat at breakfast and update you with what's on locally or where the best walks are.
Streonshalh is located in a victorian residential area over looking the bay, the beach, shops and resturants are no more than 10mins walk downhill, it will take you 5mins more getting backup the hill but the exercise is just right.
Robin Hoods Bay is small victorian fishing harbour, an ideal location for a UK break, most of the facilities you require are local e.g. good food (try the local fish & chips, they are excellent), drink and good walks but be warned there is no cash point but Whiby is only 10mins drive away.
Overall I would say that the standard of accommodation and the hopitality was 5 star. I have travelled extensivley through work and would definiately rate Streonshalh's bed rooms along side more expensive branded hotels.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Everything was A1
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRShropshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My girlfriend and I had a love weekend stay, with wonderful weather and great scenery. the location of this B+B is perfect for walks on the moores, beach and is situated in a lovely quiet village with wonderful places to eat and drink.

The B+B itselfwas very clean and tidey with lovely soft beds and the hosts were extreamly inviting and couldnt do enough for you and had a great knowledge of the local area and were more than happy to give you dirction to resturants and walks.

Overall the vacation was a wonderful experience at an affordable price which we will definatly repeat again.

  • Liked — The rooms are very comfortable with nice views
  • Disliked — Can't fault it
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ackworth
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Have just returned from our second visit to Streonshalh and once again found the hospitality given by Kevin and Debbie second to none. Kevin certainly knows how to make you feel welcome and Debbies breakfasts are the best I have had anywhere and that includes five star hotels. Nothing is too much trouble if you want anything you only have to ask!!!! We stayed in room 6 and found it very comfortable and spotlessly clean - the views from there over the bay are wonderful. We have already asked about future available dates for September and will definately be returning - wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Robin Hoods Bay!!! Thank you Kevin and Debbie for making our stay perfect.

  • Liked — Kevin and Debbie's hospitality and the breakfasts!!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
14 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 29 in Robin Hoods Bay
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saxon Villa
Saxon Villa
#2 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
Middlethorpe Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Fylingthorpe
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh B&B Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing