We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Streonshalh B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Streonshalh B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a very late review as I have some catching up to do, however, Streonshalh was so good that I think it is right to review it.
The couple who own the B&B could not have been more helpful, they moved their car so my sister in law, who was ill, would not have to walk very far. The rooms were lovely, clean and had a fridge in them.
Breakfast was especially nice and not bland as with some b&bs, we had a lovely fruit salad then followed by a full English. I would certainly recommend Streonshalh to friends and visit again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    35
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
194
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Me and my wife recently spent three days at Kevin and Debbie's excellent B & B and loved every minute of our stay. Kevin and Debbie were there to meet us on arrival and throughout our stay they couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Our super-king room was really comfortable, and well equipped, with a few nice extras thrown in. Breakfasts are fantastic, and we also enjoyed Debbie's homemade bananabread. Next time we visit Robin Hoods Bay there will definitely only be one place for us to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at Streonshalh B&B on the final night of our C2C trek. We were welcomed by Kevin & Debbie who could not have been more welcoming. Our room was comfortable and clean and had great views out to the ocean. Some of us had to leave the next day and as our boots were covered in mud Kevin was more than happy to organise a bucket and brush so we could clean them. Our breakfast the next day was amazing along with cake to take with us for our next days exploration. If you are after comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation at Robin Hoods Bay, this is the place to stay. Hope to be back again one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A clean and comfortable room with a spotless, recently refurbished ensuite. The host was very friendly and attentive, explaining all the facilities etc. Breakfast offered plenty of choice, and it was possible to enjoy fruit salad as well as cereal and a full English, plus toast and a selection of marmalades. Also a freshly homemade scone to take away.

Just a short walk from the old town, and we managed to park right outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staycati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed for one night, fell in love with it, and wished it could've been for a week.
Kevin and Debbie couldn't have been more friendly and thoughtful to our every need. I think that's what really sets this place above the rest...the detail, thought, and welcoming atmosphere.
The room was lovely and had everything from chocolates, the comfiest bed (ever), a hairdryer (when I was expecting to ask), plenty of tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuits, amazing view...I guess it's the small things that really count.
Breakfast was top class. Fruit salad to start (kiwis, strawberries, blueberries, orange and melon) for everyone. Followed by a veggie full English (v generous portions and time taken to get the best veggie sausages) but with a choice of other mouth watering and home coined alternatives...
You get the idea. It was fab, in my opinion a heartwarming find that we will most definitely be returning to.
Rachael and Beth

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Rachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was my last stay after completing the C2C walk, and the hosts could not have been more welcoming.
I had a single room, which although a bit small, had a view from the skylight (positioned above the bed) across the Bay - it was beautiful. The room was very clean and the shower/toilet was spotless. The saniflo (as in most places where I have found them installed) can catch you unawares with gurgles occassionally, but the shower was hot and strong. Beverages with biscuits, mints and chocs were topped up each day (I stayed for 3 nights as I wanted to explore the area as I had not been to that part of the country before), and the room tidied.
Breakfast was excellent, certainly one of the best on the trail. A bowl of freshly prepared fruit was available for everyone, which I hadn't come across before, but just shouted healthy at you. A very nice touch. A good range of cereals were available, and a varied menu so it didn't have to be the dreaded full English every day (although I did have this on my last morning, and can recommend the veggie sausages - "Cauldron". There was also a wide range of marmalades and jams, and freshly made cake/scones to take away with you for later in the day. The service was extremely friendly and efficient - this couple know what their customers want, and they do it in a very professional way. They come across like they want to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable, which I can't say is the same everywhere that I have stayed. They will also advise you on any other aspect of what to do/eat locally, so don't be afraid to ask.
Robin Hoods Bay is a very interesting place to vist - if you get chance to go on the night Ghost Walk, then please do - it is very entertaining!
All in all - a great place to stay, whether you are a walker or having a more conventional holiday. I would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our third visit to The Streonshalh B&B and, once again, we were provided with first class, friendly service. We had the same room as on the second visit, which is spacious and well serviced with TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a mini-fridge, should you wish to keep your own drinks cool. There was also a bottle of water each on arrival. The standard of cleanliness of The Streonshalh is second-to-none and Kevin and Debbie pull out all the stops to ensure their guests have the most comfortable stay. Thank you so much for making our Spring Bank Holiday/Golden Jubilee weekend such an excellent one!

Room Tip: Book well in advance if there are two of you and one of you is over 6 feet in height. On our first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfgiva35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hoods Bay
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.9 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#4 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
Lee-side Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#17 of 30 in Robin Hoods Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Streonshalh B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Streonshalh B&B

Property: Streonshalh B&B
Address: Streonshalh Mount Pleasant South, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hoods Bay YO22 4RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hoods Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Robin Hoods Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation and can cater for parties of up to 10 people. Hikers welcome, packed lunches available on request. Free Wi-Fi connection. Streonshalh has 6 en-suite letting rooms, consisting of doubles, twins, and singles. We have 4 double rooms, 2 have King Size beds and 2 have 6' Super King size beds. All rooms have flat screen TV/DVD players. 2 of the double rooms can be twin rooms and we have 2 dedicated single rooms with 3' beds. Discount on bookings of 3 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Streonshalh B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Streonshalh Bed And Breakfast
Streonshalh Hotel Robin Hoods Bay
Streonshalh B&B Robin Hoods Bay, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing