We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, oh dear.”
Review of Holly Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holly Hill Inn
Ranked #15 of 51 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ainthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Oh dear, oh dear.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have eaten my way around this planet of ours for fifty plus years but can announce a bombshell. I have just had my worst dining experience.
Not given to hyperbole either way, good or bad, I am as surprised by just how bad a meal could get without special training.
Look, I have never been to the Holly Inn before today; I know nothing of its history or who owns/manages it; I have no axe to grind or scores to settle. Please understand that this is my experience on the day....a snapshot.
We, a friend and I, wer hungry. We passed a couple of Inns which due to circumstances best known to themselvers were "Closed on Tuesdays". I cannot tell you how much I wish that this was the case at the Holly Inn.
Cold, with evidence of a much used Super-cir bottled gas heater (unlit) having been hauled in to service, we approached the bar as the barman stuck another log in to the newly lit log-burner. It would get warmer, we were sure....if we stayed long enough.
The smartly turned out stoker/barman (and as we were to discover, chef) served us with that sullied suspicion of all things english (deservedly, frankly) expected of foreign staff on minimum wages. He was sufficient unto the task, served us drinks, produced phopcopied menus and we settled in to an anticipatory mode in the window seat. The menu was retro. Sandwiches held a pole position but beneath the banner heading of "Hearty Meals" we found...er very little. Lasagne, Scampi, a pie...chicken we were unreliably informed. Er...all with chips and peas. Hmmm. Two chicken pies, please.
That was an over-descriptive hope.
The plates, cold, arrived. rarely have I seen such suitable lack of aplomb. The pie was two soggy crusts, fractured and flopped on to the plate. The crusts would have contacted each other, DID contact each other, but for a few granular pieces of something not entirely identifiable as chicken, or anything else for that matter using the normal senses of taste, sight and smell. It was, frankly, a disgraceful excuse for food.
The five chips were the colour of burned (black at the edges) mahogany yet by some trick of alchemy remained cold in the middle. These were yesterdays chips...I know the signs...who doesn't? What an INSULT to be served such inedible offerings.
The peas. A goodly desertspoonful. I ate them with relish even though they were as fresh as the frozen moment when the pod went pop...and just as hard....and just as cold. I began to feel very sorry for the stoker/chef/barman who must have been overcome with shame that the England he had tried so hard to emigrate to should have placed him in such a position. I told him that the food was dire and he muttered a heartfely but candid "Sorry".
So am I. I could not be more sorry...unless I tell you about the gravy; but no. Enough.
As I said, this is a snapshot of the day.
I can only suggest that the photograph is torn up and the negatives destroyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tectak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Oh Dear Oh Dear How Rude !!!

Smart English man eaten the world over pops in to the Holly Hill as all other pubs closed on a Tuesday ! Orders 2 pie Hand cut fresh chips and peas for total £10. This massive spend does not give you the right to insult foreign staff who by the way is on much more than min wage.
Enough said on this matter as we do not wish to be rude but our customers and locals will tell another story, just read some of our other trip reviews. With aged old gentlemen foreign staff have been brought up to show respect, deserved or not !! But thanks anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    26
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
41
56
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went to visit relatives in Richmond for a couple of days and stayed here at the Holly Hill Inn. The inn is lovely and the staff and management cannot do enough for you. We enjoyed an evening meal on our first night with family and everyone enjoyed and spoke highly of the meal. It was so good we decided to try the Sunday lunch and it was lovely. Excellent sized portions, variety of fresh veg all tasty and cooked to perfection. Well worth the money and the sweets are to die for.
We were surprised when Cam asked us what time we would like breakfast in the morning (this is the first time we have ever been asked this - always had set time). On our first day we had a late breakfast around 10.30 and on our second day we had an early one around 8.30. Again a good hearty, tasty breakfast which set one up for the day. We were made to feel that nothing was or would be a problem all they wanted was us to have a great time. Even the locals who used the bar made us feel welcome and chatted the night away with us. We were in room 4 and this is a good sized room with a large bathroom. It was lovely and clean and the view looked onto the fields.
We enjoyed our stay so much we are hoping to do another weekend away later in the year, as there are lots of places to visit. Well done Cam and staff, thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks for a great review, look forward to seeing you again, .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself, husband, daughter and son in-law went for a valentine meal and it was great, the service was friendly and the meal very tasty, we enjoyed this experience so much we returned on the Sunday for our lunch and again both service and meals were of a high standard, I would defiantly recommend this Inn to anyone who wants to go for good home cooking with excellent service.
I

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
You can be our guest any time , come back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited on lunch time with friends orders some food it was delicious and the landlord was extremely helpful and charming. All in all it was really enjoyable experience.

Having been on the lunchtime we then booked for Saturday evening when it was just as good. Thanks to all.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fini1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Friends of Holly Hill always welcome, see you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Twenty or so members of a local rambling club had lunch here today (14th January 2014) after a vigorous morning walk. We were impressed by the quality of the food served with a friendly smile. We could not fault the service. We have no hesitation in recommending this country inn and would be very happy to come here again any day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thanks we try to keep our quality and price just right, ramble back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited on Friday lunch time when visiting from York and had seen good reviews on trip advisor. It was the worst pub food I have ever had. There were 6 of us and 2 dogs...good that it was dog friendly. The barman said there was a new chef and new menu. We ordered 3 burgers, 2 tuna sandwiches and 1 toastie and cheesy chips. It took around 30 mins to come and was terrible. The sandwiches were made on supermarket value bread...thin and horrible. It was all presented awfully with literally just the sandwiches on the plates with tuna and onions spilling out the edges. No salad or crisps on the plate. The burgers were clearly frozen. Bill came to £60 which was a complete joke considering it would have cost the pub no more than £5 to provide. Avoid at all costs!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Sorry we were very busy that day not long taken over but rest assured you negative comments have been very positively taken on board and the cheap supermarket bread has long gone.
When passing do call in and let us know who you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Went for a birthday meal in a party of around 30. The food was ok but the service was appaling, chicken delivered to the table by a very rude Eastern European chap then the beef meals arrived 5 minutes later therefore cold chicken!! Roast potatoes arrived 20 minutes after everyone had finished and the vegetables were rubbish, large serving dish with them dumped in. The time from the first person being given their meal to the last was about 50 minutes, very poor across only 30 of us! Upon payment we left a substantial tip which the E E chap put straight in his pocket, I bet it didn't go to the other waitress!!! Bar service was particularly rubbish, one person between both bars simply not good enough. First and last time here for us. I rate as poor but that's mainly for the service as the food was ok-just

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tinycok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamran o, Manager at Holly Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Comments noted but the party organizer had a great time and thus left a large tip which was in fact later shared with the kitchen staff . The party leader has been back since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#17 of 51 in Richmond
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#18 of 51 in Richmond
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Property: Holly Hill Inn
Address: Holly Hill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at The Holly Hill Inn, a traditional English country pub, comfortably laid out with open fires, local ales and lagers including the local, very Yorkshire Black Sheep bitter from The Black Sheep Brewery in nearby Masham and the elegant Peroni to name but two. Superb British and continental fayre, coupled with great wines, four luxury en-suite bedrooms and a function suite complement the venue. Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, and within easy reach of the historic Georgian town of Richmond, The Holly Hill Inn is a popular retreat for locals and visitors alike. We're also just a stone's throw away from the well travelled coast to coast cycle route from Whitley Bay in the North East to Whitehaven in Cumbria. Why not make a day of your visit and stroll down the hill into town to see the largest cobbled market place in Britain and the adjacent Richmond Castle? We have four luxury, en-suite rooms where you can relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or business. Stay in one of our well-appointed, en-suite bedrooms, with views of Richmond and the castle and awake to a great Holly Hill breakfast ensuring you start the day on a high. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holly Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing