We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holly Hill Inn
Ranked #13 of 49 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Welcome Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Visited this week 19th October, brilliant welcome from staff, fantastic food , best chips in yorkshire, dogs were welcome in bar area even supplied with dog chews for them would recomend a visit if you are in the area, thanks to Joanne ,you were brill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaktr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    24
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
36
56
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were staying in Richmond overnight and decided to opt for the Holly Hill Inn, which was recommended by where we were staying. The pub was welcoming and offered a varied choice of food. The duck starter was very tender and came with a Chinese-influenced dressing which complimented it perfectly. For the main course we opted for pie, which was very tasty with excellent home-cooked chips. Bar also offered a choice of real ale and a fine selection of single malts, which we had to sample, of course! Also had wine with the meal, which was reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly. Located slightly out of Richmond itself but definitely worth the walk. An uphill climb but great views of Richmond Castle on the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

A few of us have just stayed for several nights at the Holly Hill Inn whilst attending a wedding in a neighbouring village. We were made to feel welcome by staff and regulars as soon as we stepped into the pub - we went through the usual "signing in" formalities and were then shown to a very spacious, clean and modern bedroom with a huge bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the views over Richmond town and castle were beautiful. We ate in the pub on the night of arrival - excellent food, and I never heard any complaint of any sort by any of the party. The breakfast was also great, and cheerfully served by Alison at whatever time each couple had chosen. The Inn is situated on a hill (as the name implies) just on the outskirts of Richmond - you could walk into the town but there are one or two daunting hills to negotiate! We found it easier to drive in - parking was never a problem and we just displayed the usual disc which gives 2 hours free parking. We would certainly stay there again and can heartily recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 2 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Holly for one night ,the day of the Royal Wedding.We got there early and had an enjoyable afternoon Pimms Party and watched the Wedding.The meal in the restaurant was also top notch. In fact the whole experience was excellent, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to friends ,and family.To Joanne, Emma and all staff, thank you.

Room Tip: Everything you could possibly want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITHB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We went to the Holly Hill Inn for a family party and decided to get there in time for lunch and to settle in in good time. We were met by two brilliant members of the staff both of whom made us feel really welcome. We were shown to our room which was spacious and very clean, uncluttered and bright, having dual aspect views, one view being across to the nearby Richmond Castle. We had a light lunch of a delicious sandwich and had dinner later in the restaurant. There was a really good choice on the menu and we were both delighted with both our selection and the service. We (eventually) had a really good nights sleep - nothing to do with the alcohol! - followed by a good breakfast the next morning. I would not hesitate to recommend the Holly Hill Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have revently returned from a 1 nights stay at the Holly Hill Inn.
The location is lovely. High on a hill with wonderful views.
We arrived and were asked to complete the usual forms and also asked what we would like for breakfast and what time.
We were taken to the two rooms we had booked and was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. Very nice and welcoming neutral decor and looked as though it may have been decorated recently. Carpet and bedding was clean and plenty of pillows.
We ate dinner in the resaurant. The menu was varied and food very good.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful especially when one member of the party changed her mind over breakfast.
The only down side we could say is that the shower head in one of the bedrooms had not been cleaned for a long time however we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed overnight on return trip from Scotland. Booked on the offchance the night before as bed and breakfast and were pleased that we had made a good choice. Friendly, clean, restaurant for a very generous evening meal, reasonably priced and the breakfast was excellant. Will be coming here again if we drive up to Scotland in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybunchWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 8 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Castle Tavern
The Castle Tavern
#17 of 49 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Black Lion Hotel
The Black Lion Hotel
#15 of 49 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle House
The Castle House
#2 of 49 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brewery Guest House
Old Brewery Guest House
#7 of 49 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Property: Holly Hill Inn
Address: Holly Hill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at The Holly Hill Inn, a traditional English country pub, comfortably laid out with open fires, local ales and lagers including the local, very Yorkshire Black Sheep bitter from The Black Sheep Brewery in nearby Masham and the elegant Peroni to name but two. Superb British and continental fayre, coupled with great wines, four luxury en-suite bedrooms and a function suite complement the venue. Situated on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park, and within easy reach of the historic Georgian town of Richmond, The Holly Hill Inn is a popular retreat for locals and visitors alike. We're also just a stone's throw away from the well travelled coast to coast cycle route from Whitley Bay in the North East to Whitehaven in Cumbria. Why not make a day of your visit and stroll down the hill into town to see the largest cobbled market place in Britain and the adjacent Richmond Castle? We have four luxury, en-suite rooms where you can relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or business. Stay in one of our well-appointed, en-suite bedrooms, with views of Richmond and the castle and awake to a great Holly Hill breakfast ensuring you start the day on a high. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holly Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing